We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wakapunku Hotel Boutique
Ranked #70 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sensational”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had such a great stay at this hotel. Perfect location and lovely rooms. Wifi was the strongest we had in Peru. The staff were super friendly and looked after our bags before and after our stay. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drewreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Jose M, Gerente at Wakapunku Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Best service is what we constantly try to achieve. It is great to read you had a good time with us.

Recommendations for a unique experience like yours are greatly appreciated.

Warmest regards,

Juan Jose Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    101
    21
    12
    4
See reviews for
31
145
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

friendly staff, helped me arrange a driver to take me around the sacred valley. kept my luggage while i visited aguas caliantes for 2 days at no charge before checking in. very clean hotel, nice room. poor breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Azizrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

An overbooking at our original hotel meant we had to move for one night to Wakapunku Hotel. Our room was small and overnight quite stuffy as there wasn't any ventilation that we could find. Beds clean and comfortable. Small communal dining room next door with spindly stools to sit on ( bit of a worry for a buxom lass like me) No lounge area with comfortable seating that we could find and the lass on reception didn't understand our request for one. We ended up sitting on our bed to write letters which wasn't very comfortable. Kitchen adjoining dining area had a fridge but this was padlocked so although it was 24 hr availability of tea and coffee... we couldn't access the milk. Breakfast was lovely and the hotel was very close to shops, restaurants, and central plaza. OK for one night but wouldn't have wanted to stay any length of time.

Room Tip: Check out availability of lounge or outside areas as we could find neither.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annpalmer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Nice hotel, conveniently located in Cusco. They were very nice and upgraded us to a bigger room at no charge after our first night, when my husband had altitude sickness. Even gave him oxygen! We stayed 3 nights before our trek, and one night after. They held our stuff in between. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison, Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey Hills
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Having never stayed in a boutique hotel I was uncertain of the standards and was very surprised by the quality of the accommodation. The staff were native speaking Spanish but all were able to successfully, communicate with the guests. The room was spotlessly cleaned every day and the 24 hour availability of tea, coffee and coca tea was great, as also was the breakfast, included in the price. When my husband became ill and had to be taken to hospital they were very helpful, which was terrific for me. The location was convenient for walking into the city square and there was also a small 'general store' directly opposite, useful for snacks etc.

Room Tip: We had a large room overlooking the street, which provided extra interest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brangushiddensprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Wakapunku is located in a wonderful location - walking distance to Plaza de Armas, markets, restaurants, and pubs. Nearly every major tourist site is a 5-10 minute walk. The staff at Wakapunku was extremely friendly and helpful. Even helped my friend extensively when his bag was lost by calling the airline, airport, and taxi service on his behalf. The breakfast selection every morning is wonderful with bread, fruit, cereal, coffee, tea, meat, cheese, pastries, coffee, etc. The rooms were great with comfortable beds, a couch in our room, modern bathroom and more. The building is well lit with skylights strewn throughout. If taking an overnight trek elsewhere, Wakpunku will store your things in a secure area which we utilized for about a week. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: The three bed loft is a great spot for friends traveling through Peru!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights; good value for money - comfortable rooms, beds, and good service. As we were staying for one more night on our return from the Inca Trail trek, they stored our luggage for the 4 days that we were away. Self service breakfast was average, the only downside being that they didn't seem to have fresh hot coffee available.

It's conveniently located, about a 5 minute walk away from the main Plaza (town square). Also recommend the Sacred Valley tours offered at the front desk. They area about $10 more expensive than others but groups are small (10-15) and we had a very good guide.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bivlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.1 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#13 of 167 in Cusco
806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estancia San Blas
Estancia San Blas
#53 of 167 in Cusco
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Illa Hotel
Illa Hotel
#36 of 167 in Cusco
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Suenos del Inka
Hotel Suenos del Inka
#50 of 167 in Cusco
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Qosqo
Hotel Royal Qosqo
#99 of 167 in Cusco
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakapunku Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakapunku Hotel Boutique

Property: Wakapunku Hotel Boutique
Address: Choquechaca Nro. 133 | Centro Historico, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Wakapunku B&B)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wakapunku Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just two blocks from Cusco's main plaza and minutes to some of Cusco's best known bars and restaurants, lies the hideaway WakaPunku boutique hotel. Meaning "Door to the Sanctuary" in the native Quechua language, we have worked tirelessly to make the hotel warm and inviting to the weary traveller, and offer exceptional service to match the exceptional value for our hotel. Each room is unique; its layout provides an oasis of calm in Cusco. With abundant 24 hour hot water, comfortable beds and modern necessities such as an iPhone dock in every room, we hope you feel comfortable during your stay with us. At WakaPunku we go the extra mile, from our complimentary mini-bar to buffet continental breakfast with fresh natural juices, we leave no stone unturned in our quest to offer exceptional value in this exceptional city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Wakapunku Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing