We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sweet staff, clean, and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique
Ranked #13 of 398 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The staff was very sweet and helpful. The room decor was unique and everything was clean. Breakfast was good. The walk to the main plaza isn't bad at all and at night, it's cheap and easy to grab a cab to get back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here 2 nights before we went to Machu Picchu hiking tour, a day after the hiking and when we arrived from the Amazon river tour before we left Peru. The service is excellent! We had a big luggage that we carried around since we were on a business trip before going to Peru, they let us leave it for storage on their hotel, we don't even have to take it out of our room, while we were on Machu Picchu hike and Amazon river tour. Every time we come back from the tour and checked in our luggages are ready on the room that we are going stay at.

The room doesn't have a centralized heater but they have a plug in radiator heater if you need it. I love the part that they give hot water in the container to put under your blanket so it warms up the bed.

The staff are great, very helpful. Just ask them what you needed they will try to help you.

The location is very good too, a few minutes from the main plaza.

Room Tip: This hotel doesn't have an elevator so you have to carry all your luggage on the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dannie65_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Probably the only thing against this hotel is that it's a 15 min walk to the plaza but I don't think that's too much of an issue. It's a safe walk along the main road. The rooms are small but big enough for the purpose of a bed and breakfast. Well decorated and extremely clean, the beds are comfortable. The shower is incredible! On top of all of that, the staff are friendly and resourceful. They were really helpful in organising taxis and giving advice. Will be back in Cusco in a couple of weeks and will definitely book here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 1scotchegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A friend and I stayed at this hotel while we were in Cusco in February 2014. We actually had reservations at another place very close to the center of town but once we got there we found it to be cold and musty and we quickly left.

We ended up staying at Wifala based on a recommendation of a friend who stayed the week prior. The staff was great and very accommodating. Greeted us with coca tea and warm water bottles for the room every night (it gets pretty cold). The room itself was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was always fresh. They let us keep our stuff in our room for one night while we went to Macchu Pichu.

The only downside is that it is 15minutes from the "center" of town, however it was good to get some extra exercise and having better accommodations/hospitality was worth the extra time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJVactioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed at Wifala for two nights in December 2013, and were truly amazed by the hospitality provided by the hotel staffs. It was our first day at Cusco and we were suffering with altitude sickness. The staff were so kind enough to provide with coca tea, and call a doctor since my wife was down with sinus infection. They even got to our room a steaming bowl of water. They were really friendly and very accommodating. The day when we checked out, they even woke us up early and made us breakfast at 6 AM before their usual breakfast time. The rooms were comfortable, although a little small in size. They looked pretty new and well maintained. We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a wonderful service. Especially the staff who would always give you a bright smile and make your stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The staff was very helpful. They called safe taxis. They had timely wake-up calls. I slept in a blue room on the first floor. I didn't hear anything that would disrupt my sleep, except one time, a lady screamed about having to pay first. How nobody told her. Oh, the humanity! Except for that incident, everything was quiet. The rooms were clean. The beds were comfortable and even though the nights were cold, we received a heater and a hot water bottle. The staff was friendly, and the price was right. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Beds were very old, creaky and uncomfortable, everyone slept poorly. Also very thin walls, so you could hear talking of people in the next room, outside noise such as construction, roosters and dogs. On the plus side, there was always hot water, they provided portable heaters and hot water bottles at night. Breakfast ok but coffee terrible. Very little English spoken leading to a miscommunication about the bill. We stayed there 2 nights and planned to return, but sleep was so terrible that we decided to cancel. Through expedia there was not supposed to be a cancellation fee, but they tracked us down at our aguas calientes hotel and asked us to give them cash to a friend for the cancellation. I do not recommend that you book through expedia or booking.com as they do not want to honour the agreements.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Sonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto S, Gerente at Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014
Google Translation

La pasajera realizo 2 reservas Booking y Expedia al primer chek out no quiso pagar indico que pagaria al retorno, escribio un mail cancelando su reingreso y que pagaria con la reserva de Expedia.

Le indicamos que debia pagar el 15% de la reserva a booking por la cancelación tardia no conoce las politicas de cancelación booking y expedia

Molesta por esto puso un comentario con el calificativo MALO (Camas crujientes, ruido etc) que no son ciertos nos perjudican pedimos el RETIRO DEL COMENTARIO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#37 of 171 in Cusco
458 reviews
0.7 mi away
Antawasi Hotel
Antawasi Hotel
#75 of 171 in Cusco
208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#11 of 512 in Cusco
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 512 in Cusco
669 reviews
0.9 mi away
Polo Cusco Suites
Polo Cusco Suites
#45 of 398 in Cusco
170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casona les Pleiades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique

Address: Jiron Tetecaca Nro 111 | Cusco, Cusco Cusc 01, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 398 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £30 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing