We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable, but only a view on one side”

PeruRail - Expedition
Ranked #31 of 877 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For the adventure traveller who enjoys discovering every destiny at his own pace, the Expedition is the best option to Machu Picchu, in which the trip transforms into a journey that begins even before reaching its destiny with the best quality and comfort at the best price.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable, but only a view on one side”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

By far the best way to end your trek to Machu Piccu, and a great way to get there for those who can't trek. My mother took the train both ways and it is very relaxing and fast.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eptihode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Expedition, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Mrs. Eptihode,
We would like to thank you for your preference with PeruRail and also for sharing your experience aboard the Expedition train with the TripAdvisor community and us. We are glad you had a comfortable journey and we hope to see you soon aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Expedition Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    368
    139
    58
    61
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only way to go”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Relaxing. Don't miss you train as seats are assigned and there is little leeway. Buy seats well in advance.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryNBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable - Cusco to Aguas Calientes”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We started our journey from Cusco and were told via several emails that we would travel via bus for the first part of the trip because of the rainy season. The bus station was within walking distance of our hotel so we walked and were greeted by a couple gentlemen directing people through a gate to the station. It was early morning, still dark out, but the station was well lit and the employees were very friendly. They checked our tickets and passports before we boarded and again after we boarded. The buses were clean and comfortable and they handed out bottled water during the ride. The bus ride to the train station was fine, the intermediate train station was okay. We had to wait a bit to board the train but once on board and en route to Aguas Calientes (Machu Picchu) the journey went quickly. Service on the train was excellent, they serve drinks and a snack which is enough to call a meal IMO. Bathrooms in each car. Comfortable seating, and some of the best views of the region. Keep your camera out and ready! The station at our destination was very well kept, including the bathrooms. Make sure you make use of them before wandering out into the markets or going up Machu Picchu where you'll have to pay to use a clean restroom. Our journey back was just the reverse. You can purchase snacks and drinks at the station in A.C but they again served a large snack and drinks on the train. During our return, they played a folklore story on the intercom and one of the service employees came out in costume and danced. This was followed by a fashion show and an attempt to sell the merchandise. I enjoyed the dance but not the overpriced merchandise. They weren't pushy at all, I just don't think it's necessary.

I would ride the Expedition with PeruRail again with no hesitation. Comfortable, great service, great views along the way.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JCAJCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Expedition, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. JCAJcrew,
We are very happy to hear that you had a comfortable and great journey aboard the Expedition train and that you enjoyed our services. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community, and also for your patience and understanding with our bi-modal service in this rainy season. We hope to see you soon aboard our trains for a new and exciting adventure along the Peruvian Andes.
Best regards,
The Expedition Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Needs Improvement”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were in Cusco and arranged the PeruRail bio-modal transport which is a bus from Cusco to Pachar station and then train to Machu Picchu. We had heard that there was a strike pending so we visited the PeruRail office around 5pm to find out its potential effects on our travel plans for the next day and were told it would not affect us at all. At 7pm we received an email advising the bus portion of our trip was cancelled but if we could find our own way to any of the train stations (about 90 minutes normal travel) we could still avail of the train portion of our journey. Or we could just post-pone our visit by two days instead! Both PeruRail offices in Cusco were closed for the entire duration of the two-day strike. When we visited another of their offices we were just handed a leaflet and told to phone or email about our refund request. We did make it to Machu Picchu as planned, at considerable extra cost, but are still waiting for the refund.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BONITA SPRINGS
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Train to and from Machu Picchu”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Amazingly efficient and clean. We were part of a group, and I found both the train and the train stations very comfortable and reliable. Watching the landscape change into a tropical mountain paradise was worth the trip alone.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BonitaFLFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Expedition, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Mrs. BonitaFLFamily,
We would like to thank you for your preference with PeruRail and also for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community. We are glad to hear that you had the chance to admire the incredible scenery we have along the way and that you enjoyed the journey. We really hope to see you soon aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Expedition Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PeruRail - Expedition also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to PeruRail - Expedition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing