We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL IN PERFECT LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Ranked #13 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
631 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT HOTEL IN PERFECT LOCATION”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is the perfect hotel for business or leisure. The first thing that impressed me was the staff setting up an airport pickup for me at my arrival (please call with flight information 24 hours in advance). The location was perfect 2-3 blocks from the Train Station for Macchu Picchu (Wanchaq Station). There were many restaurants, cafes, and gift shops located very close. You could easily catch a taxi ($1 or 3 soles) to the central square (Plaza de Armas) outside or receive assistance from the Hotel staff to hire one to other locations including the airport. The room was perfect with two comfortable beds, well designed bathroom with tub, plenty of wardrobe space and a desk for your laptop. The WiFi was just great without interruptions. Room service was even offered at this hotel at no additional cost (tip optional). Onsite in the evenings if you wish to stay in you could enjoy the bar and restaurant in the lobby until 11pm. There is also temperature control (air or heat) in the room. I would highly recommend this hotel.
Additionally breakfast is served every morning and included in the price of your room. However, I did not find the breakfast very appealing or delicious. The bread wasn't freshly made and hot items were not well heated in hot plates after several hours. They did have eggs to order as a plus. Breakfast starts at 6:30am til 10am. Best to eat it early.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Easylivingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-SHCusco, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest;

It´s happy to know that all our services and spaces in the hotel were to his liking, fills us with satisfaction because we´re very carefully in every detail for you to enjoy and have the best of the experience in our town, and especially in our Sonesta hotel Cusco. We hope to return soon and don't hesitate that the quality of our service will always be the same.


Saludos cordiales
Ivan Perez
Gerente General
Sonesta Cusco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,923
    687
    112
    33
    16
See reviews for
708
1,126
125
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel and its staff is just awesome. It's a nice location, not far away from the center of Cusco and also right next to the Wanchaq train station. The hotel has its own restaurant and there are also some other nearby if you're looking for more local and cheaper choices.

They don't have A/C in the guest rooms which is a little bit disappointing, and you definitely have to leave the window open to get fresh air, which could also be disturbing at night since some rooms face the main avenue of Cusco and there's some traffic. Besides that everything else is great. Comfy bed and pillows. Spacious and clean bathroom.

The staff was welcoming and helpful. Our travel agency misunderstood the name of the hotel and was late for our tour. The front desk staff called them on our behalf to clarify things and get it all settled. I was also slightly late for breakfast one day (which you shouldn't miss because it's included and fantastic with all hot and cold choices) but they still made me with fresh omelet and fruit.

Overall a very wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Choose rear-facing rooms if you want less noise. They also have good views of the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-SHCusco, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We´re very pleased to know that you´ve comments so good about our hotel, and the best memories of us and our service, thank you for your comments. We will work hard to improve in all the details and to make Sonesta Cusco the best place to stay.

Sincerely

Ivan Perez
General Manager
Sonesta Cusco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a 6 day Lima, Cusco, Machu Picchu tour and loved it. Great facility in a great location with great service. You are in the middle of town and can walk to the churches, shopping, restaurants, etc. We felt safe in this area. We ate at the hotel more than once and enjoyed the meals. No matter what the situation, the service was always excellent. Cusco has a lot of character and things to see, including the local markets, cultural shows, etc. We could have spend a couple of more days here despite having a hard time with the altitude

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aatkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-SHCusco, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We´re pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our town, and especially in our Sonesta hotel Cusco. It´s true that there is a need for more days to enjoy all that the city and us we can offer you, for that reason we hope return soon, no doubt that we will be always to attend you

Honestly

Ivan Perez
General Manager
Sonesta Cusco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Hotel is close to cusco's main square (city centre) and main tourist spots. Only 5 minutes by taxi from the airport and a 5 minute walk if you are getting the bus/train to Macchu Picchu.

The room was a good size with comfortable beds and a good size bathroom.

This hotel is on a main road so you get a lot of traffic noise.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. On the day we were leaving the was a major strike in the city and all transport stopped, a friendly bellman walked us almost 10 blocks pulling our suitcases to see if he could help us find a rare taxi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, to try and minimize outside noise (a little).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-SHCusco, Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review through our Trip Advisor website.
We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful experience during your stay, mostly due to the service you received from our bell boy.

I hope we can host you again in the near future.

Cordially,

Iván Pérez
General Manager
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The room we had was lovely, except... not air-conditioned. This time of year was fairly warm, and we had a room that faced the internal atrium, and there was absolutely no fresh air even with the windows left wide open. We had to ask for a fan. The breakfast was excellent. On second day our keys had to be reprogramed to get into our rooms. Complementary warm tea at entrance a nice touch. Would definitely return to this hotel for it's location and convenience.

Room Tip: Avoid inner atrium rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-SHCusco, Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us though the Trip Advisor website.

Hereby we would like to extend our appreciation for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco, as your hotel during your stay in this magical place.

We would like to thank you for your reviews and for your gentle and constructive comments, absolutely we will take care of that and will be looking forward to receiving you ones again.

If we can be of any other assistance within the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. It will be a pleasure to assist you.


Warm regards,

Ivan Pérez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Check in Friendly staff was very helpful, room clean and warm, very good pillows.
We needed an earlier breakfast and they had arranged It easily.
I really recomend to stay there. Good price and good location.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silmara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-SHCusco, Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review through our Trip Advisor website.
We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful experience during your stay, mostly due to the service you received from our excellent staff.

I hope we can host you again in the near future.

Cordially,

Iván Pérez
General Manager
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here prior to our Inca trail hike. It was a nice hotel, clean rooms, clean bathrooms and an easy to use safe.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a little walk from the main square but everything is so close it doesnt matter.
Two less then perfect things: 1. our room was by a drippy drain so when it rained, it was annoying to hear the dripping. 2. We heard music all night, loudest in the bathroom from a neighboring restaurant.
But overall good value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princess0ntheg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-SHCusco, Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review through our Trip Advisor website.
We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful experience during your stay in our hotel.

I hope we can host you again in the near future.

Cordially,

Iván Pérez
General Manager
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.7 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 165 in Cusco
1,463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#28 of 165 in Cusco
1,356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Cusco

Property: Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Address: Avenue. El Sol 954, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cusco
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#14 Family Hotel in Cusco
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel Cusco 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Hotel Cusco is the best place to stay away from the bustle of downtown, we are welcoming you to share contemporary and modern facilities with the comfort that you deserve, our associated are oriented to provide you the best quality services, finally you can delight with our specific services that will make your experience in the magical city fantastic. We are committed to create solutions to your needs, exceeding your expectations and leave you happy, that's our goal thinking in you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Cusco
Cusco Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing