We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Friendly and Helpfull staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sonesta Posadas del Inca
Ranked #68 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The hotel is a simple hotel, but very well located, near to Plaza de Armas. The staff is extremely gentle and is always ready to help you. The bedroom are not that bedroom, but it´s okay specially because I made my reservation in a sale and paid only USD 69. It's not a luxuous hotel at all, but this is a good option.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroHelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2011

We stayed here twice during our 12 day tour of Peru. We were able to leave our larger luggage here while we travelled to Machu Picchu and, upon our return, they gave us a larger room than on our first visit and our luggage had already been delivered to our room. This was a bonus after a long day of travelling.

We found all staff to be very friendly and attentive. They would greet you each time you arrived or left and were very quick to answer questions or fulfill any other needs you might have.

Our first room was smaller than the second, but was still very spacious, especially the bathroom. The beds were extremely comfy and we slept well here.

The proximity to everything in central Cusco made our exploration of the city, cathedrals, ruins, restaurants and nearby San Blas very easy

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I stayed here for two nights in April 2011. The location could not be better, around the corner from Plaza de Armas. Other than that and the complimentary WiFi, I really cannot recommend this hotel. The room was very small, even by European standards. The availability of hot water was hit or miss at best, and there is no elevator. Additionally, I had requested a wake-up call that never came. Fortunately, I woke up in time to avoid missing my morning flight to Lima, and to the hotel's credit, they did acknowledge their mistake and paid for my taxi ride to the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LALawyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights (pre and post our visit to Machu Picchu) as part of a month long tour of South America. The room was so small that we had to climb over our suitcases if we wanted to visit the bathroom in the night as there was no other place to store them. We were also allocated an internal room so had no natural light. There was a glass tile wall overlooking a corridor but this meant that we were on full display to anybody passing so we had to keep the curtain closed to ensure any kind of privacy. The bathroom window went straight to a concrete service shaft so no natural light there either. As mentioned on a previous post the grey/white tiles combined with fluorescent lighting gave a far from welcoming feel to an extremely claustrophobic room and one I would have been even more unhappy to have occupied if I had suffered from altitude sickness whilst there. At first I tried to look on the positive side and think well at least we will not get any street noise but as the room was on the ground floor and just yards from reception we got plenty of noise from this location instead.

On top of this the breakfast room only accommodates 15 people so when our group left early morning in order to catch the train to Machu Picchu it was impossible to stagger arrival (due to the set departure time) and we had to go without breakfast despite sitting outside the breakfast room for some considerable time. We explained our situation to the receptionist but he just looked at us and smiled and offered no solution. In the end we had to buy our own breakfast at the train station when we arrived. We noticed subsequently that another tour group were given a boxed lunch - so I don’t know why something could not have been arranged for us to take with especially when we had paid for it.

Whilst in Machu Picchu the hotel stored our big cases and rooms were reallocated on our return. Other people got different rooms so imagine our dismay to be allocated the same room for a second time. At this point I remonstrated. I understand that when in a group it can be pure chance the room you are allocated but as we were all paying the same money I felt really cheated to be given the same room when others had been allocated triples, suites and family rooms overlooking the main square. I told the receptionist that we were not happy to have the room a second time and given that we did not even get any breakfast on our last visit I would like to be moved. Eventually I was shown another room (which appeared to be a store cupboard) and told that the hotel was full and no other rooms available - so we were left no option but to return to our little dungeon. As it was now 9 p.m. and pouring with rain (as well as being part of a group) we just had to stay put otherwise I would not have stayed another night there. The receptionist told me that she would speak to her colleague and arrange something to make up for the situation and I am still waiting to hear from her again. Next morning we were checking out and she was not on duty so she couldn’t care less whether we enjoyed our stay or not - we were just another tour group passing through never to return.

If you are thinking we were just unlucky don’t, our next door neighbours on the ground floor suffered the same fate albeit their room was substantially larger than ours but still no windows. There were also a couple of similar rooms on the first floor occupied by people in our group, also with no windows and where we were told that their bathroom (including when they were in the shower) could be overlooked from the corridor and the room was so small they had to pile the cases on one bed just to be able to walk round the room and sleep together in the remaining single! I did not personally witness these circumstances but given our own, I believed the description to be accurate.

Whilst the location of the hotel was good we walked all over Cusco during our stay and nothing was really that far away, so location was not really as important as it can be in some cities. The only other good points were at least there were copious amounts of hot water from the shower and the free wifi worked well but this did little to compensate for an extremely dismal stay. Apart from this hotel we had a thoroughly enjoyable time in Peru so if you are thinking of a visit don’t be put off just make sure you pick a better hotel. We were sold this hotel as a 4 star but the only way you would be in any way impressed by the facilities is if you were expecting backpackers accommodation. As you can see, there are plenty of other hotels in Cusco to choose from so my advice would be to exercise that choice. We all dread getting a room with a view of the dustbins but even that would have been preferable to no view (and consequently no natural light) at all.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkietrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaZarate, Quality Assurance Manager SPIC at Sonesta Posadas del Inca, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for the time you spent filling out this survey. Definitely, your opinion will helps us to improve our service day by day.

We apologize if our service didn't match your expectation and we look forward another opportunity to give you a more pleasant experience.

SInceraly,

Carla Zárate Medina
QAM - SPIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

This hotel offers spacious rooms and great bathrooms. The location is great. Next door there is a laundry service and a market across the street. The free breakfast is average. The free internet is below average. However, my stay was very comfortable. There is abundant shopping and the street food is superb.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henrymcsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We stayed in Cusco for three nights at this hotel, and we would of moved if there wasn't a strike going on. The hotel on multiple occasions smelled like a sewer line had broken. The staff was pleasant but they did not make up for the awful smell that made you want to throw up! There is no court yard at this hotel, like many of the other hotels in Cusco. The rooms were not somewhere you would want to go back to during the day to rest...the bathrooms lighting is like being in a mental hospital!

The beds you could feel the springs, its time for the hotel to invest in itself.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candace2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Cusco sits at 11,000+ feet of elevation, so any exertion takes your breath away. This hotel does not have an elevator so you can barely breathe when you get to your room. The rooms are all quite different, you can have tiny and quiet or good sized and lots of traffic noise. The carpets are worn and the hotel needs to be completely re-done. The staff at the desk are no help at all, barely speak English. It is located a block from the plaza and cathedral which is the only reason to stay here. Spend more time at the Sonesta in Sacred Valley, which has excellent service, lovely grounds and big wonderful rooms. Plus you are half way to Machu Picchu from there.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
Thank Barrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaZarate, Quality Assurance Manager SPIC at Sonesta Posadas del Inca, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for the time you spent filling out this survey. Definitely, your opinion will helps us to improve our service day by day.

We apologize if our service didn't match your expectation and we look forward another opportunity to give you a more pleasant experience.

SInceraly,

Carla Zárate Medina
QAM - SPIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.7 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#13 of 171 in Cusco
3,319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Catedral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Posadas del Inca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Posadas del Inca

Address: Portal Espinar 108, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £57 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta Posadas del Inca 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the ancient Inca and Spanish Colonial capital of Cusco, the 22-room Sonesta offers first-class lodging, with a taste of authentic Peruvian hospitality. This hotel is a train ride from Machu Picchu, and an ideal home base for exploring the Imperial City of Cusco, center of the Inca and Spanish colonial cultures. Also close by are many shops and artists' studios offering traditional and contemporary crafts as well as exciting nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta Posadas del Inca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Cusco Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Cusco
Cusco Sonesta Posadas Del Inca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing