We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sonesta Posadas del Inca
Ranked #61 of 168 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel gets points for location. It's right off the Plaza de Armas in Cusco. Otherwise, the rooms are quite outdated - dark, and even if they are cleaned daily, the rooms don't look clean. The bathrooms look quite sad. Also, the windows do not lower the street noise. The curtains don't close and open easily. We had reservations for 2 rooms with 2 queen beds each. When we got there, they tried to give us 2 rooms with1 queen bed each. My friend and I had to share a bed because they didn't have the rooms that we had reserved. I think you can get a better deal somewhere else in Cusco.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the square - the rooms facing the other streets looked dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaZarate, QAM Sonesta Posada Del Inca Cusco at Sonesta Posadas del Inca, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped. Luego de un atento saludo queremos agradecerle el tiempo que le tomó dejar sus impresiones a cerca de nuestro hotel. Es importante conocer su opinión ya que así podremos mejorar nuestros servicios. Por otra parte ofrecemos nuestras disculpas por todos los inconvenientes que pudieron haber durante su estadía y trataremos de subsanar todo lo que nos sea posible. Por otra parte quedo muy apenada por no haber sido informada antes de dichos inconvenientes , así hubiéramos podido hacer mas por usted.

Sin otro particular ojalá nos dé oportunidad de cubrir sus expectativas en alguna otra ocasión.

Atentamente
Carla Zárate Medina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    140
    48
    18
    7
See reviews for
74
110
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cusco Region, Peru
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This is a glorified hostel. The rooms are pathetic, the service is unbearable, and it's not worth the money. No hot water only like warm water. And they put us in the wrong room. If your gonna stay in a hotel stay in one. Don't waste your time with this wannabe hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csnowrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaZarate, QAM Sonesta Posada Del Inca Cusco at Sonesta Posadas del Inca, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped. Reciba nuestro saludo atento a nombre de los colaboradores de Sonesta Posadas del Inca Cusco y nuestro agradecimiento por compartir sus impresiones a cerca de su estadía en el hotel, toda esta información nos permitirá mejorar nuestros servicios. Por otra parte lamentamos que no hayamos podido cubrir sus expectativas y esperamos que en algún momento nos dé la oportunidad de hacerlo por todo lo comentado le ofrecemos nuestras sinceras excusas. Por favor espero que nuestras disculpas sean aceptadas.

Atentamente.
Carla Zarate
Coordinadora de Calidad SPIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed here 3 nights (not on a row) and our first room (I travelled with my aunt) was one with 2 double beds (and the last room was with 3 double beds). Both had carpet flooring, didn't have frigobar, had a simple bathroom with bath and shower curtains, comfy beds, windows with natural lightning and sofas / or tables. The necessary to a 3 star hotel. The staff was always polite and really attentive. The Inkafé (inside hotel) was cool, the waiters were always nice, the food was wonderful and the courtesy breakfast was more than ok (fruis, cereals, jams, pancakes and egg if asked). But although the nice things I've said about the hotel, for me, the best asset is the location (less than a block away from the Plaza de Armas, the main area in Cusco in therms of tourism and restaurants). For me this is what makes this hotel the best.

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the highest floor (so you can be away from all the noisy streets)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina_Eustaquio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaZarate, QAM Sonesta Posada Del Inca Cusco at Sonesta Posadas del Inca, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped.
Es para nosotros un verdadero placer enviarle nuestro saludo atento a nombre de nuestros colaboradores y la vez agradecerle que haya dejado sus comentarios a cerca de nuestro servicio, Es importante para nosotros saber que su estadía con nosotros fue placentera y estaremos muy complacidos si ustedes vuelven a ser nuestros huéspedes en alguna otra oportunidad.

Muchas gracias y Feliz 2014.

Atentamente.

Carla Zarate
Coordinadora de Calidad SPIC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I'll just list the negatives here.
1) Our room's entrance had a step up, or as we discovered a few times, a "trip" down... unexpected step to get out of the room. Not good for senior citizens.
2) Requested a "matrimonio", got two twin beds... after 40 years of marriage, not happy.
3) Horrendous breakfast, not well provisioned, cold, and not heated to safe temperature.
4) Poor or non extistant door security. Had to prop a chair against the door to feel safe at night.

Although the staff was very nice, we were very disappointed in the accommodations (reserved through Go To Peru). Stay away!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaZarate, Quality Assurance Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the time you spent filling out your appreciattions about our hotel.
We are very sorry that our service didn't match your expectations. We will pay attention to every poitn of your complain in order to improve our service.

Your comments helps us to offer a better service every day.

Sinceraly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a few nights as part of my tour of Peru

Easy to find,as its in the middle of town, close to all the sites and attractions.
Few meters from the plaza.
Checkin was easy and the hotel staff was very helpful.
I initially stayed in room 302 and the room was not that big but had a large comfortable bed and I slept well. Very quiet even though its close to the square.
There was a safe, flat screen TV and wifi in the room.
There was complimentary toiletries and a mini-snack basket.
The bathroom was cold as the window could not close and the bathroom leaked as the shower curtain was not big enough. There wasn't a power shower but good pressure of hot water is always welcoming.
There was also a heater in the room which was needed in October.

On my return to Cusco I was given room 303.
This room was much bigger and I could easy access my luggage.
This room was much better than my previous room.

The breakfast room wasn't that big but served continental to eggs made to order.
Fresh juices and bread.
Also a few other Peruvian dishes.

There is a mini-mart over the road from the hotel, brilliant.

There is also loads of coca tea available that is needed to help with the altitude sickness.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matrix1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaZarate, QAM - Quality Assurance Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very glad that you have such a great impression of our hotel and our service.
It is always our commit to solve all the needs our guest may have and offer them the best service with our best attitude and warm smile.

We always look for to improve our service day by day, additinig more variety to our buffet breakfast updating our quality standars. We will look forward another oporttunity to serve you as you deserve.

Sinceraly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

i am so fortunate to have stayed at this beautiful hotel. I decided to treat myself on my last 2 nights in Peru to something extra special. I guess I was just lucky to be upgraded upon arrival and directed to the best room in the Hotel. My room overlooked the main square of Cuzco. I was charmed by the lights at night. It was a panoramic view as there were many windows. The room was luxurious and spacious. The staff were extremely efficient and helpful and the breakfast was plentiful with lots of variety. Excellent value for money and 1 minute walk to the main square (literally around the corner).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view or you could just ask for the best room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wild_Star_Landing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaZarate, QAM - Quality Assurance Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much yor the time you spent filling out this survey.
We are very glad that you have such a great impression of our hotel and our service.
It is always our commit to solve all the needs our guest may have and offer them the best service with our best attitude and warm smile.
However, we always look for to improve our service day by day, we will be very glad to serve you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This place was nice. I thought our room was very small but we didnt spend too much time in our room except to sleep and shower. Our room faced the busy plaza del armas so it was quit noisy at night. Breakfast in the morning was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaZarate, QAM Sonesta Posada Del Inca Cusco at Sonesta Posadas del Inca, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped.

A nombre de los colaboradores de Sonesta Posada Del Inca Cusco, reciba nuestro atento saludo y agradecimiento por haber compartido sus impresiones a cerca de nuestro servicio. Es para nosotros muy gratificante el haber cubierto sus expectativas y esperamos que en alguna otra oportunidad visite Cusco y se hospede con nosotros. Sin otro particular le reiteramos nuestros atentos saludos.

Atentamente.

Carla Zarate
Coordinadora De Calidad SPIC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Inka I
Royal Inka I
#38 of 168 in Cusco
394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Catedral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha
0.1 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
0.1 mi away
Royal Inka II
Royal Inka II
#57 of 168 in Cusco
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Posadas del Inca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Posadas del Inca

Property: Sonesta Posadas del Inca
Address: Portal Espinar 108, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta Posadas del Inca 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the ancient Inca and Spanish Colonial capital of Cusco, the 22-room Sonesta offers first-class lodging, with a taste of authentic Peruvian hospitality. This hotel is a train ride from Machu Picchu, and an ideal home base for exploring the Imperial City of Cusco, center of the Inca and Spanish colonial cultures. Also close by are many shops and artists' studios offering traditional and contemporary crafts as well as exciting nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta Posadas del Inca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Cusco Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Cusco
Cusco Sonesta Posadas Del Inca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing