We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfecto - Keep Your Expectations in Line with a 3 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sonesta Posadas del Inca
Ranked #62 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfecto - Keep Your Expectations in Line with a 3 Star”
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We stayed here 3 nights. The staff was super nice, super helpful. The breakfast in the morning is tasty and fresh and you'll find everything you need to energize you for the day. The hotel is very clean, the beds are super comfortable. We had a backside room, as opposed to being on the street, and it was very quiet most of the time. Yet the one thing I can recommend is ear plugs or a white noise machine: people who get up to leave for Machu Pichu begin their goings at 5:00 a.m. and it never ceases to amaze me how inconsiderate other guests often are. They will talk and close their doors loudly and you will be disturbed unless you have something to drown the noise or you are a heavy sleeper.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    140
    48
    18
    7
See reviews for
74
110
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

This hotel is located just one half-block away from the Plaza de Armas, which was its best feature. While the staff is pleasant and helpful, the room was small, dark, and kind of outdated. The duvet smelled suspiciously of garlic, but the room and bathroom were otherwise clean. No shortage of hot water. Cable TV, but the TV itself is tiny (12" mounted from the ceiling). Location directly over the street was noisy and windows did not seal. Did not try the restaurant. Very easy walking distance to all main sights and many restaurants. Not the best value in town.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunandtub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2009

...we stayed there twice, and both times did they quote and print our bill in dollars, and when we paid with a credit card, they put it through on the card in Peruvian currency - at a ridiculous exchange, resulting in a bill 20% higher!! so we had huge fights with them about this.
but besides this, it was a great hotel, very clean and beautiful, and great location, breakfast not great though.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nikolaj_and_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2008

It's a decent hotel, but I would not stay there again. It was clean and safe feeling, but the only good thing is it's centrally located near the town square by the church. That means you only have to walk one block to see the only attraction in Cuzco, it's a couple blocks from the train station, and most tourist busses pick up and drop off in the square too. That was good. That's where the positive ends.

NEGATIVES:

1) IT'S LOUD!! Loudest hotel I have ever stayed in.

2) There's no A/C. The website say there's "climate control". Yes there is. You "control the climate" by opening a window. There's a heater if you get too cold. Due to high elevation, this is not a big deal because it's cold outside and opening a window makes it nice and cold in the room and that's how I like it. But that's the problem. You have to open a window. I was in room 303 and there's a loud nightclub next door somewhere. They start bumping the music about 10:00 PM, and it's goes ALLLLL NIIIGHT LOOOONG.........BUMP! BUMP BUMP! BUMP! BUMP! BUMP! BUMP!! IT NEVER STOPSS till about 5:00 AM EVERY NIGHT! I brought a sound conditioner, but even it could not drown out the club music. Also note that in Peru that honking your car horn every three seconds seems to be a requirement of all drivers. If you are on the street side of the hotel, this could be another noise problem starting at daylight and not stopping till late night. My room was on the back side of the hotel so I did not have the street noise problem.

3) There were loud explosion noises every morning starting at about 5:00 AM. I don't know what it was. I think they were bird bombs to scare off all the birds in the central square each morning. They sounded like electrical transformer explosions. It was LOUD! This happened every monring starting at about 5:00 AM and it would happen about every hour for 3 hours.

4) The bathrrooms are small. That itself is not a problem. But the problem is the bathroom door can't open all the way. To access the toilet, you have to open the door halfway, step in, close the door, then you can access the toilet. The problem is they are heavy wood doors, if you open the door more than halfway, the door slams up against the toilet making a loud noise. So on top of the all night music thumping, the 5:00 AM bird bombs, you have the constant sound of heavy doors slamming against toilets all night. I must confess, I accidentally did it myself once or twice. It's easy to do.

5) Take note that check out time is 9:00 AM. Don't worry, you won't need a wake-up call. You will have been awake since 5:00 AM anyways.

All in all, it's a decent hotel. It's pretty clean and safe. They close heavy wood doors to secure the hotel after hours, and the night desk kid and security guard sleep on the couch in the lobby. I know this because I woke them up at 5:00 AM to let me outside to go catch the train. But I'm a light sleeper and can't stay in noisy places. And this place is not quiet to no real fault of the hotel itself I admit.

I took a tour of the Sacred Valley and we stopped at the Sonesta Posada Hotel in Yucay. It's MUCH better. Very tranquil, and looked much nicer. I would stay there instead. I don't see any reason to stay in Cuzco. There's nothing to see. Stay in Yucay, it's 25 minutes from Olloantambo train station. You can catch the train (only 1.5 hours VS 4 hours from Cuzco) from there to Machu Picchu. That train ride from Cuzco is horrible too. You thought airplanes had no leg room? Try sharing that little bit of leg room with 3 other people!
I

  • Liked — safe
  • Disliked — lots of noise
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rockinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2008

Oldish hotel but clean and comfortable. Street facing rooms may be a bit noisy. Great central location in Cuzco. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Breakfast was good.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LinSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

The good: it is amazingly central, in a perfect location around the corner from Plaza de Armas. The staff is very friendly and helpful also in organising excursions. There is free internet and free mate de coca.
The not so good: rooms are small and somehow not insulated well so it was quite cold. Hairdryer has to be collected at the reception.
Overall, it was a good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LadyAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

This is the 2nd great decision I made on my recent trip to Peru. The hotel staff is super friendly and helpful. They arranged private drivers and cars for my party of 3 for all our sacred valley touring. In addition, they kept our luggage, did some laundry for us, and sewed a button on while we were in Machu Picchu. It is located one block off of the Plaza de Armes in the center of nightlife and the tourist areas. Easy access to a quick shop, internet cafes, and currency exchange. These folks were just great to us. Their help in arranging private drivers and cars, their advise and help, and their courtesy made the trip truely something that my niece, nephew, and myself will remember for the rest of our lives.

  • Liked — Location and the great staff
  • Disliked — Street noise.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cdpcaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Inka I
Royal Inka I
#37 of 169 in Cusco
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Catedral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha
0.1 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
0.1 mi away
Royal Inka II
Royal Inka II
#56 of 169 in Cusco
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Posadas del Inca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Posadas del Inca

Property: Sonesta Posadas del Inca
Address: Portal Espinar 108, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta Posadas del Inca 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the ancient Inca and Spanish Colonial capital of Cusco, the 22-room Sonesta offers first-class lodging, with a taste of authentic Peruvian hospitality. This hotel is a train ride from Machu Picchu, and an ideal home base for exploring the Imperial City of Cusco, center of the Inca and Spanish colonial cultures. Also close by are many shops and artists' studios offering traditional and contemporary crafts as well as exciting nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta Posadas del Inca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Cusco Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Cusco
Cusco Sonesta Posadas Del Inca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing