We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with some needs for improvements ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Ranked #9 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

After long hours of travel we arrived at this nice place, got some tea and hoped to quickly relax.

The reception desk was a disappointment. They took our passports and then let us fill for everyone registration forms. So we had to ask our passports back to have the numbers. I think in such a hotel they should fill the forms and have them signed by us only. It took us almost 30 minutes for the complete check in. Their work seems disorganized.
They asked for my Starwood number although they had received it by mail before.

The stay itself was pleasant. Very good breakfast with a lot of choices, good food in the restaurant. Also the service was very attentive.

The rooms are very nice and quiet. WiFi in the room with extra charge is ridiculous.

Also an extra charge for the Spa area I cannot understand.

If you do not ask for later check out they expect you out at 9:00 am. This is very early.

Unfortunately the check out again took almost 45 minutes. For the second time they had misplaced my Starwood number. I have no idea why it took so long.

It is a very nice hotel, but they definitely have to improve their reception desk and some smaller things.

Stayed: December 2013
3  Thank Julbedut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for review our property.
I am happy to know that despite the inconveniences that you had in the front desk you have had a pleasant stay. Be sure I have showed your comment to my front desk team in order to improve our service.
Also I take note about comments .
We will be pleased to serve you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Arturo Schwarz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,446 - 1,452 of 2,318 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Four of us have reservations for next May and have try to inquire about oxygen availability in the hotel. We started the process through the Starwood central reservation number and have waited for more than a week with no response. Since the manager of this hotel seems to answer every review, I am hoping he can answer this simple but important question.

Thank you,

Barbara Weinstein

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Elliot W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Mrs Weinstein,
Thank you for review our property.
In regards to your inquiry about the oxygen, we provided it upon request.
I will left you the concierge email for further assistant.
ConciergeCusco@libertador.com.pe
It will be a pleasure to serve you,
Best regards,
Arturo Schwarz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Seniority comes to mind when you enter the place. Dark furniture along a shinny coca tea pot while waiting to check in is a momentum. Nice fixtures in the room are worldwide standard, but sorry to say, that design and comfort are not its strength. A cubicle shower that doesn't let you move freely to pour shampoo or toilet paper out 3 feet away are just a few issues the hotel needs to address. A comfortable junior suite with only two drawers makes you wonder the type of hotel you are in. Hotel personnel indeed makes up for the ill designed hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Cilantrofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for having chosen our hotel during your last stay in Cusco. We highly appreciated your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. It is based upon the information that you gave us, that we are able to make the necessary changes and corrections to our service.
We are sorry to hear that it was the perception we gave you as those were not at all our intensions.
I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we might have caused you. It is very important to us to keep you as a satisfied customer and we will be pleased to serve you again in the future.
Best regards,
Arturo Schwarz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel location was fantastic, beside the Qorikancha and about 5 minutes walk away from the Plaza de Armas. The free hot water in the lobby and coca tea was a nice touch and helped us get over the altitude acclamatization better. We ate at both the restaurant and the bar, food was great at both places.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Amritava D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comment about our property.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant and bar.
In regards to the location we are close to the main tourist attractions as you said, beside to the Kusicancha and in front of the Qorikancha or “The Temple of the Sun”.
We will be pleased to serve you again in a very near future.
Best Regards
Arturo Schwarz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our very memorable stay at Palacio del Inca made our trip to Cusco so enjoyable. The property is beautifully decorated, impeccably maintained and cleaned and very well managed. The rooms seemed to be very recently re-decorated and fresh. The service was 5 star all the way, from the very polite and welcoming doormen to the very helpful front desk staff to the knowledgeable concierge team (thank you Erika and Roger for being so helpful with shows and restaurant recommendations and reservations) to the nice gentlemen who brought oxygen to our room a few times the first day given altitude effects. When we requested to move one our rooms due to street noise, they were kind enough to give us a complimentary upgrade as no other rooms were open. The location right in the heart of Cusco, across the street from the not to be missed Koricancha and Santo Domingo Church, is superb. Bottled water and coco tea are always available. There is also a lovely spa on site. I highly recommend this property!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, request a room on the interior courtyard. The ones facing the street c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewportPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for having chosen our hotel during your last stay in Cusco.
It is satisfactory to know that the service were to your liking.
Furthermore thank you for your comment about mu team work, I am proud of Erika and Roger.
In regards to the location, as you said, we are in the heart of Cusco city, close to the main tourist attraction just by walking distance.
We will be pleased to serve you again in a very near future.
Best Regards
Arturo Schwarz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed at Palacio del Inka as part of a group tour with Gate 1 Travel (highly recommend them, also) and we couldn't have been more pleased! The lobby is gorgeous, part of the outer wall in the bar area is original Inca construction, the courtyard is cute, the breakfast buffett was varied and delicious, the beds were VERY comfy, you got a robe and slippers in your room, chocolates on your pillow with turndown service, all the staff we encountered were lovely and tolerated our muy mal Spanish, beautiful views of Q'oricancha (on one side of the hotel, anyway), and they had a few decent English language channels on the TV!

The ONLY less than wonderful thing I can say about the hotel is that they charge for wi-fi in the rooms. It was free in the lobby, so no big deal for daily updates for friends and family!

This was definitely a luxury class hotel, though, so if you aren't on a tour where the hotels are included, you may pay a bit more than your average hotel. DEFINITELY worth the extra money!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RNShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comment about our Palacio del Inka.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and it is satisfactory to know that the service were to your liking.
Be sure I take note about the wifi comment.
We will be pleased to serve you again in a very near future.
Best Regards
Arturo Schwarz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Fodor's is right: the service at this hotel is poor. This is by far the worst 5-star hotel we stayed at in Peru.

Check-in by Angelique was the single most inefficient check-in I've ever experienced, though she was nice. A snafu with room keys handled by Erica was also outrageous. She was completely incompetent. It was like being in a youth hostel, though even they probably have better service.

On the plus side, the lobby is charming, the rooms are fine, and the spa is EXCELLENT.

But the breakfast is drab and in a drab poorly lit room. It couldn't even hold a candle to the breakfasts at the Monasterio or the JW Marriott in Cusco.

Room Tip: Sprawling place, so request a room near the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 136ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you for writing your perceptions about our property.
I am sorry, that your experience with us was not found suitable.
In regards to Fodor’s we review the web page and there are not the current information.
And the other hand thank you for your comments about the lobby, the rooms and the Spa.
Kind Regards
Arturo Schwarz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.4 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco

Address: Plazoleta Santo Domingo 259, Cusco 51 84, Peru (Formerly Libertador Palacio del Inka Hotel Cusco)
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cusco
#1 Business Hotel in Cusco
#2 Family Hotel in Cusco
#2 Spa Hotel in Cusco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £132 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco sits in a restored palace with elements dating back to the 15th century. Our luxury hotel in Cusco, Peru is across the road from the remains of the Coricancha temple and just a short walk from Cusco Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splitty, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertador Hotel Cusco
Cusco Libertador Palacio Del Inka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing