We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful, historical and unique tranquil retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #5 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A peaceful, historical and unique tranquil retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

This hotel is nothing short of spectacular. The original features from when the property was a monastery make for a visual feast. The delightful courtyards are picturesque with water fountains and well manicured flower beds. A constant flurry of staff keeps the atmosphere feeling exclusive, there is no doubt that the staff I encountered at Hotel Monasterio are second to none. Professional, polite, efficient and with a sense of humor.
The rooms vary hugely, but all rooms are lovely and comfortable. I stayed in one of the less expensive rooms and found it to be in tune with the rest of the hotel. If you're expecting 42" plasma screens and a Nespresso machine, this isn't the hotel for you. Although there is a slightly out of character but welcome ipod dock.
There is no gym or pool which I initially found disappointing, but with my busy schedule teamed with the high altitude, I very much doubt I would have found a use for them. I didn't miss either during the course of the week.
The breakfast is buffet style with a wide variety of options including made to order eggs, omelets or pancakes. All were delicious.
At lunch, the chef found the time to make me 'Ceviche' even thought it was absent from the menu and it was superb! I suggest this traditional Peruvian dish is added to the menu as it was the best ceviche I tasted all week.
The restaurant and bar food in the evening was also fantastic, a great selection with something for everyone. All washed down with an expertly made Pisco Sour. A must for anyone visiting Peru.
This hotel is a tranquil retreat from the hustle and bustle of Cusco, in a great location moments from the main square. Plenty of local restaurants and bars a stone's throw away, but if you're anything like me, you'll feel mesmerised by the exquisite architecture and enticed by the extensive wine list and never want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifimb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your contribution, it will certainly help other guests coming to Cusco!

All the best,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,833
    260
    65
    33
    9
See reviews for
431
1,095
85
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

All the rooms are wonderful!!! Those saying the rooms are 'dated' are missing the point of this hotel. Hotel Monasterio, part of the Orient Express chain, is a converted monastery built in the 1500s on the foundations of an old Inkan palace. This truly is a special spot, with unique original rooms, impeccable service and staff that always go above and beyond!! An absolute treasure :)


For those looking for a more modern experience, Orient Express has a brand new hotel opening up in Cuzco this summer (15 June 2012 to be exact...) called Palacio Nazarenas, which should be absolutely fabulous. Also would recommend La Casona- a Relais and Chateux property, as well as the extremely hip and fantasylike Fallen Angel: The Guest House by Andres Zuniga.

All of the aforementioned hotels are located within the same little plaza- Plazoleta Nazarenas.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are equipped with the oxygen ventilation apparatus. You must make a special request to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarrahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

The restoration of the hotel's public rooms is fabulous, but the rooms are tired small and hardly worth the enormous cost. The beds are uncomfortable, the bathrooms outdated, the absence of decent light notorious, and the furniture all scoffed and shabby, not to mention ugly. The concierges are lazy and unhelpful, even though the rest of the staff seems very professional and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you shop for a good room...ours was dark and terribly small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greennman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

You'd never know what is inside by looking at the outside. The Monastery has been sympathetically turned into a hotel with nice gardens and a beautiful church...has to be seen even if you don't stay at the hotel.

Excellent service, food.

The rooms are varied because it used to be a monastery and we found it useful to pay the extra for an oxygenated room to help with the acclimatization.

Easy walk to all the local amenities.

We went with Cox & Kings and had some great guides via Lima Tours who they sub out to.

Good base to do Sacred Valley, and Macchu Picchu.

If you're doing Macchu Picchu make sure you push the boat out and stay at Sanctuary Lodge Hotel for one night. Don't try to do the train there and back in a day or you will regret it.

Room Tip: Best to phone reception and ask as they are all varied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaandcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herzeliya
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

the monistario is beutiful for a coffe at the amazing garders. not for the very expensive room !!
old. big disappointment. very expensive.

Room Tip: take only royal room at 1000$ if you can. the regular are realy not worth the 700$ !! if i hade th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avital g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
402 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night after returning from Machu Picchu and wished we'd have had longer.
This place scores 5 on every front: Building, Quality, Uniqueness, Style, Staff, Service and Food. It is truly a haven from the madness and noise of the streets od Cusco!
It's expensive and rightly so as everything is quality.
Now, a question for the management:
We were up-graded to a $1,700.00 per night suite. it was absolutely fantastic and a great bonus as the same had happened the night before at the Sanctuary Lodge.
I am sure that people who can afford this rate will also be the type of folk who care greatly about their appearance (especially the ladies?) We were changing to go for dinner and my wife realised that the only mirror in the whole enormous suite was the on behind the sink in the bathroom. No full-length mirror anywhere at all...... I suggest in the lounge area on the back wall. Easily rectified.
Finally, another small annoyance if I was paying this type of money: I could not fathom how to turn all the 12 lights off without plunging the whole place into darkness by throwing the master switch by the door and stumbling through the two rooms to bed. In the end, I turned each light off individually and finally got into bed. A master switch by the bed would be brilliant for the future wealthy guests you will undoubtedly receive!
We just loved this place and will return, even if it's to just a standard room!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank timchambola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, that makes us feel very pleased with the work realized for every person of our team and also commited in order to improve the details that you mentioned about our suite.
Thanks again for your preference.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This luxurious place was close to perfection. The food was amazing in the stunning dining rooms. The rooms were lovely. It's location, right behind the cathedral, puts you in a very quiet place that is only one block from the central square. The employees were efficient and gracious.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NursefromPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your comments; we are very pleased to know that you live a unique experience in Monasterio.
Looking forward to welcome you back
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 163 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Palacio 140 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Belmond, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing