We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid the tiny standard rooms, if you're wealthy enough to consider this hotel, stay in a suite.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Colombia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avoid the tiny standard rooms, if you're wealthy enough to consider this hotel, stay in a suite.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Monasterio is an impressive hotel, a remodelled historic building with an exquisite central courtyard, a lush lobby and overall great service, as you'd expect given its price tag.
Its standard rooms, however, are quite disappointing. They barely have enough space to walk around the bed (reminding us of standard rooms in Manhattan), and the WiFi once you're inside is practically useless.
And though the service is alright, they lack the attention to detail one expects from a hotel of this category and price. For example, the one night we were planning to sleep in, we were woken up at 6am by the room's alarm clock, which was so difficult to silence we had to disconnect it after pressing every damn button on the thing. Obviously, it was set by the previous guest, and the hotel staff forgot to reset it. Typical blunder in most hotels, but it shouldn't happen here. Another example proves this is not an isolated incident: we asked the concierge to help us contact our airline, since we needed to change our flight. He was unable to contact them immediately given their awful contact center, so he promised to keep trying and to transfer the call to our room when he succeeded. He obviously forgot. A while later, we went to the lobby, connected to Skype and made the call ourselves without much trouble. Afterwards we talked to him about something else and he didn't even bring up the subject.
Now, appart from the hotel itself, there's a fascinating bit of history we learned from several locals, which speaks of the Hotel Management and the way they behave in Cusco. Everyone knows this place used to be a Monastery, but only locals remember that during a remodelling that was necessary after an earthquake, more than 700 fetuses were discovered, buried under the building's floors. They revealed that priests had been raping nuns for decades and performing horrendous abortions so they could bury their sins and continue to rape more and more innocent nuns. Many locals we talked to (we're native Spanish speakers) even remember a bronze placard that told the entire story, which was placed by a Mayor of the city at the entrance of the building so no one would forget the shameful events that took place here. But when Orient Express made it one of their hotels, the placard and they story *vanished*. What's most interesting is that EVERY ONE of the four locals who confirmed the story, warned us that the Hotel could not find out it was them who had told us. They said the hotel would trace them and use their power as Cusco's most influential establishment to put them out of business. Tour guides, restaurant owners, artisans, construction workers... they all feared Monasterio's staff. It's sad and shocking to see that Orient Expres has not only conserved the original Monasterio's architecture and decor, but also the Priests' general attitude towards history.
With this in mind, if below this review you find a note from hotel management denying everything, take it as a confirmation of its veracity.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nostrapablus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,805
    257
    63
    32
    9
See reviews for
425
1,078
84
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

A spectacular property whose conversion into a hotel must have cost a fortune. Beautiful central courtyard. The rooms are a little small, but charming. The food in both hotel restarants is delicious. The biggest drawback for us was gettin used to the high altitude. But fear not, traveller, they sell shots of oxygen nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SonofAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with a terrific location - however the service is terrible. The service was so bad at breakfast and lunch our first day that we went outside the hotel for all our other meals. The room service was also lacking - no night service the first night, beds not made up the next day and bath mats removed but not returned. The front desk appeared to be quite inconvenienced when we asked for service the first time and the second time. There also appeared to be some issues with electricity as we were awoken both nights by flickering lights. In all , not at all what we expected from an OE property.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is a very, very expensive hotel with lots of pretensions, so you have a right to expect first class service. We had dinner in the Restaurant Tupay. I had to ask three times to see a wine list. We ordered a half bottle of wine - overpriced of course, but we expected that - and a glass for each of us was poured and the bottle taken away to a nearby table. Despite waiters serving courses and taking plates away, no-one ever offered to give us the rest of our bottle. It would have been better if they'd forgotten we had it, seen our empty glasses, and asked us if we wanted to order more. In the end I called a waiter over and asked pointedly if we could finish our wine.
When our main courses were served to our table of four with the flourish of simultaneously lifting lids, they had mixed up two of the orders. A very amateurish performance all round.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 60sAussiecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Beautiful and charming hotel. We felt the price was worth it as the prelude to Machu Pichu deserves no less. The service, food, and location were very good. The rooms felt a bit dated but there is no doubt that this one of the best options in town. We were easily able to get around.
This is not a cheap hotel, but for the destination and the options we explored, this was the finest.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
82 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I have to agree with previous reviews. The hotel is stunningly beautiful and all the public spaces are luxurious. The food was excellent and we were upgraded to a suite so our room was amazing. I cannot comment on the standard rooms and although the price was expensive I felt the suite was worth it. However the staff were very mixed in the service they provided. After coming from Rio Sagrado in the Sacret Valley where the staff were faultless we found the staff at Monasterio to indifferent and on one occassion during check in quite rude.However I should add that it was my husbands birthday while we were there and we came back to our room to find they had provided a birthday cake which was a lovely surprise.
I can only recommend staying in a suite room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Yes, it's pricy, but its a really beautiful hotel with gardens with flowers, beautiful architecture, historic place, rooms are normal, we had a huge bed but it was like 2 small beds together...Decoration in the room is very interesting. They have a nice small breakfast buffet. Service was good. Great location... One of the most beautiful hotel until now in Cusco.. My husband and I travel a lot and we were amazed by this beautiful hotel. It has a charm. But its pricy... so if you can afford it, yes, if not, im sure there are other nice places as well.. We stayed for 2 nights and it was perfect that way.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krystelle005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Palacio 140 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing