We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite, Elegant, Overwhelmingly Beautiful, Spiritual”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I believe this is the finest, dreamiest place to stay in Cuzco. It was an event never to be forgotten, just like nearby Machu Picchu. My Sister and I were here the nights of January 26th and 27th, 2012 and we felt pampered and cared for. The Monasterio is centrally located to wonderful shopping and close to many Cuzco points of interest. I took numerous pictures of this elegant hotel because it felt like a destination, a pivotal location of ancient mystery. Also, every need was thoughtfully considered and I will explain some of these here. < We were greeted with utmost courtesy upon exiting our taxi at the front entry by finely dressed gentlemen, and shown the coco tea to drink for elevation dizziness in the lobby and then taken to the check-in desk. Then after being escorted to our room we found a delicately arrayed tray of local goodies and fruits. The bathrooms are tiled with matching pottery accessories and fresh flowers are at the sink. The toilet paper is folded with a hotel seal and the finest L'Occtiane soaps, lotions, lip balm and shampoo are there to use. It is spotlessly clean! Fine stationary and pens are at a beautiful carved writing table that looks out over the courtyard. The beds are extraordinary and one feels like she is on a cloud when going to sleep. It is so quiet you can hear a pin drop! There is genuine art on the walls and tables, The stairs are of ancient stone and the oldest, largest cedar tree is lit at night in the main courtyard. The morning buffet is extraordinary with so much variety you can hardly take it all in visually, let alone try everything whilst a well dressed guitarist plays classical Spanish music. Every kindness is given to grant happiness and comfort. All wait staff is finely dressed in nearly formal attire, courteous, helpful and almost every one speaks English to some degree. People from all over the world stay here and we met many. Flowers are everywhere in vases and in gardens. The main lobby of the hotel is beyond description and at night you can sit in luxurious chairs in the bar area sipping Pisco Sours to your hearts content.(only one or two because Pisco Sours are strong!) A person just has to experience it all to believe it. There is a certain feel to this place that I can only explain as spiritual. Interesting things happen here, out of the blue, just like you are guided or there is a purpose to it all.
We received extra effort and consideration when our reserved and paid for taxi did not arrive to take us to the airport the departing morning. The staff graciously got us there and we were escorted to the plane as if we were royalty by the Monasterio staff working at the airport! This could have been a very bad situation for us but it turned into a happy ending. I am so grateful for this entire wonderful experience at Hotel Monasterio and will not forget it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,349 - 1,355 of 2,431 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

Just returned from a dream trip to Cusco- this Hotel is unbeliveable! It's beautiful, and the service is uncomparable! They will assist you with everything , room service, food, tea at night, the courtyard- I can't say enough excellent things--Thank you again!

Room Tip: I don't think it had a pool, but even if it did- I would never have left the beautiful courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaynenunnery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This would me my number 1 option in Cuzco. Nothing compares to the feeling of staying at a 16th century monastery - it's just magical! Dream scenario, specially during the morning, having breakfast outside to the sound of live Spanish guitar, and at night, when the lights create an impressive atmosphere.
Service is impeccable and staff is beyond friendly. Rooms are not big (don't forget it's an old monastery) but very comfortable, great bed and linens and nice storage space. Same thing for the bathroom.
I had the opportunity to visit Palacio Nazarenas, Orient Express' new property next door. It's very beautiful, offers more amenities (SPA, pool), has newer rooms, but lacks a lot in character. I'd still go with Monasterio!

Room Tip: Do not go for the standard rooms, deluxe ones do not cost much more and are worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cadi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear Guest:


We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We just returned from 3 nights at the lovely Hotel Monasterio. We were greeted at the front door by the very professional and friendly Gustavio (Alfonso) who escorted us to an upgraded junior suite. Our last night we were upgraded to one of the two royal suites. I highly recommend paying the extra $$$ for the royal suite. It is one level with a private patio and a shared large interior beautiful garden. I visit the bathroom several times a night and found the two level junior suite with the bedroom upstairs and bathroom downstairs slightly more difficult for this reason. The grounds are lovely and the background monk chanting music is very cool. We had dinner Tuesday evening in theback corner restaurant which was "Opera" night. The opera singers were outstanding and the acoustics in the high ceiling stucco restaurant made the performance that much more outstanding. The food in this restaurant was good although the food in the outdoor and "other" restaurant was better, including the breakfast buffet. The hotel location is excellent, close to the square and cathedral, and across from the Inka Museum and the wonderful Map restaurant. Gustavo went above and beyond to help us arrange plans, even calling a restaurant and driver in Lima to pick us up at the airport and take us to dinner! He called us upon arrival in Lima to make sure we had arrived and to confirm the logistics with the driver. The front desk, lobby and wait staff at this hotel were very professional and friendly. We loved the ambiance at this hotel...an old monastery updated without taking away from the character of what this structure once was!

Room Tip: Royal suite is more expensive but is one level and highly recommended. The junior suite is tiny and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalocopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

A legendary hotel in the center of beautiful Cuzco, in an old monastery. Stunning scenery, magical spirit, antique decoration. The interior patios are charming. There is even a beautiful chapel in the hotel. Breakfast buffet is delicious and served in the patio or inside behind the bays under the arcades. Staff is helpful and friendly. Only downside from being in a monastery : the rooms are small.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeansilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all of us, we would like to thank you for choosing Orient-Express as your destination property and for sharing your comments with the Tripadvisor readers.

We hope that you will be able to visit us many times more.

All the best,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Id like to make a short review about the place as it has loads of good reviews already.
I remember spending hours on my 2 floors room looking at a frame of one of the dozen of pictures around the room. The frame was just at the same time crazy and looking extremely expensive and surely ASTONISHING! I only stay one night at the Monasterio (bit of a shame), but from what i saw, the hotel was just like the frame i spent hours staring at.

Lets see the negative points, as there are just a few:
- Needless to say, the price is insane. (perhaps thats what called my attention)
- Beautiful breakfast overlooking the amazing garden. All very glamourous and luxurious, however I felt that they forgot to put some food in it. For the price we paid, I was expecting more of the food, which was average. Not bad, just not as amazing as the hotel.
- On the arrival they couldnt find our reservation. Thats the kind of thing you DO NOT want to hear after paying the crazy amount of money for the night and loooooong 6 hours on the train/taxi from Aguas Calientes. (that was a long day!)

Appart from those mentioned items, the place is a relic. I have never seen anywhere quite as similar to it (not that i havent search!).

Jean A.

Room Tip: The only tip i leave is: The 'Inca Cosmopolitan' is just a very expensive regular Cosmopolit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanArnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your contribution, it will certainly help other guests coming to Cusco!

All the best,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This is the only hotel I have ever stayed at where the hotel itself was a special experience. The setting was beautiful, the restaurant was delicious and the service was incredible. It was expensive, but was worth every penny for my wife and I on our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 77clarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

We are delighted to read your comments. Thank you for your preference and for taking the time to let us know

your feedback. This really encourages all our staff to continue working and improving service, and specially

to make our guests feel like they never left their homes.
We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Cusco.

Best regards
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 337, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £166 - £445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing