We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hotels of all time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hotels of all time!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

outstanding service, ambiance, accommodations and food. dining in the restaurants is a must!! the staff will make anything you want happen. warm, friendly, polished and attentive. A world class experience.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,891
    266
    65
    33
    9
See reviews for
442
1,132
87
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Highly touted and on everyone's "must" list, but our stay did not live up to expectations. Our room faced the street and it was noisy, and up several flights. No oxygen was available or offered. The bellman did not even lift the suitcases to the luggage racks. Our last morning, we were awoken at 6AM with construction workers walking on the roof above our heads-I had to call the front desk 3 times until they stopped banging. We were disappointed, though the food was good and the courtyard is lovely, but not a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellerZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments.

We deeply value your comments and sincerely apologize if we didn't meet your expectations. We can guaranty you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus, reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers usually rank.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de León
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is literally on the site of a former monastery with cloisters, courtyards, and even Gregorian chants as low-volume background music. We were part of a tour group, and we registered in a golden chapel with colorful statues of saints in niches. Our room was pure comfort. The breakfast buffet was extensive and diverse. It even carried lactose free milk - quite a thoughtful touch. Laundry was returned to us almost gift-wrapped, with a fresh flower on the box. But it cost as much as a full new outfit! This is a top-tier hotel with top-tier prices. Being on a tour, our schedule did not permit use of pool or spa.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sansing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed at Monasterio for my honeymoon last May.

The hotel is excellent and the service is very efficient and polite. It is also very well located, just off the Plaza de Armas. The architecture is fabulous, in special it two courtyards. The breakfast buffet was also very exquisite. I booked a Deluxe Room, the room is not big, but it is very comfortable. The only small problem with the room is that the room safe is too small for a laptop or a SRL camera.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danvilasboas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Great service, breakfast on the verandah or in the courtyard is the perfect way to start your day in this beautiful hotel. Service in the bar and restaurant is equally attentive. The history of the hotel is reflected in the decor too and the rooms are quite comfortable.hotel is in a great location so a break here is well rewarded

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marcos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
301 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This refurbished monestary captures the essence of an era. They have tried to maintain the ambiance and it works. Our room was tucked inbetween two courtyards so we might have had an extra large room...well appointed room with attentive staff. Bottles of water are continually added to your room just as they are in most other Peruvian hotels. This place is right off the main plaza and in easy walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Just enjoy the whole experience. I wished I had stayed another several days in Cusco but we were with a group and 2 days is all we had.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Noni53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I've been traveling to Cusco and Machu Picchu regularly for the past 11 years, and for the past 10 years my family and I have sponsored several local underprivileged students to go to school there. During all but two of our visits to Cusco over the years we stay at the Hotel Monasterio, where we reserve either a royal suite or a junior suite, which are very nice of course.

Upon our most recent visits, however, and especially during our last visit in August 2013, we found the new management and staff at the hotel Monasterio to be shockingly racist. They would not even allow the older students we sponsor, one of whom is now graduated from college and working as a government-licensed tour guide, to visit us inside the hotel. The excuse was that it was for "our safety" but the obvious reason is because the students are Quechua people (Inca descendants). We have faced this kind of racism in Cusco since the beginning of our sponsorship of the students 10 years ago, but never as blatantly as at the Hotel Monasterio this year.

I asked to speak to the general manager every day of my stay about this situation, and he was always "unavailable." Upon returning home, I've sent two emails to both the general manager and the main office in Lima, but no reply. Needless to say, we will never stay at such a racist establishment again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank BestofPuntaMita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments.
We are sorry for the inconvenience.

We can guarantee you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus in reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers usually rank us.

Sincerely,
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 165 in Cusco
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 337, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Belmond, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing