We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Classic Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Before departing for the Inca Trail, we stayed at the Hotel Monasterio for 3 nights. The welcome upon arrival was wonderful. Great facility, and unique luxurious rooms with great breakfast. However they don't quite get there on all of the service. They messed up our dinner reservations two nights and also forgot our welcome cocktail. But the workers were always willing to help and make your stay great. The woman in the lobby bar was flawless with impeccable service. Also the man at guest services was incredible. So overall great hotel and people willing to help, but fell slightly short on great service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,114 - 1,120 of 2,401 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at this vintage-devine hotel as part of the Celebrity Expedition post cruise. Breakfast & dinner were both excellent. However, the room had a twist: with the high altitude, outside temperature should be cool in the evening but with the window closed for the whole day, it could be warm in the evening when we walked into the room. The thermostat only had heat but with no fan option, so we had to opened the patio door & window to cool down the room.. with no screen & a bit of security risk..

Afterwards, we found out there were rooms that had air conditioner or like another guest, asked for a fan to circulate the air..

Besides that, wonder experience especially the hotel chapel & the manicured courtyard.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourist_TO_Cdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We loved the ambience of this hotel. The room was a little on the small side and our view was of the airconditioner, but the surroundings compensated. The bed and bedding were made for a perfect sleep. It was very quiet. The staff were brilliant, the breakfast excellent. We were a little less than impressed with the Opera Night in the restaurant. Our meal, while good, was very rushed and the "opera" not quite what we expected.

Room Tip: If you are a little infirm, ask for a room on one level. The rooms evidently vary enormously in size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linton3193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is a monastery converted to hotel. It is beautiful and historic. Well worth while for the unique experience. Upon arriving, our tour group was led into the chapel adjacent to the lobby to allow a separated space for speedy checkin. Our jaws dropped, looking at the gold leaf covering the altar, picture frames, choir loft, everywhere. The public rooms, every hallway, even the guest rooms are full of original artwork. We had three oil paintings in our bedroom, originals, not mass produced copies. The courtyard is set with tables for outdoor dining, though it was too cool for us to take advantage of it. The included buffet breakfast was excellent.
My one complaint is that, due to a late arrival, four of us sought a simple dinner in the restaurant. Recognizing that they typically serve a multi-course dinner from a high priced menu, I asked before being seated if we could just order soup for a simple meal. I was assured that we could. We declined wine, and the waiter asked if we wanted bottled water. We had been drinking bottled water everywhere, often provided at no extra charge with a meal. Now I didn't object to the soup being $16 per bowl, nor would I object to a reasonable charge for our waters. But for the water for four of us that can be purchased for about $1, we were charged (with tax and service charge) roughly 4x$6 = $24. A $23 markup on a $1 item seems like a rip off. Particularly since I had a bottle in my back pack, and could have sipped my own supply. The next morning I was allowed as much coffee, orange juice, and water as I like, included with the breakfast buffet. It just seems inconsistent. I understand paying a premium price for a premium location, but that water charge annoyed me to no end.

Room Tip: I prefer a room not facing the street. Less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eulermi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The location is excellent and near some great restaurants (Ciccolini...the best and within a 2 minute walk from the hotel.) Am so glad that we didn't pay extra for oxygen. Didn't need it at all.
The service is amazing. We felt like VIPs. Can't believe they remembered our names. You get free breakfast which includes a huge buffet or you can order omelets.... It was so nice sitting outside and listening to a guitar player as you eat your breakfast. The rooms were so nicely decorated and the beds were so comfortable. I definitely recommend this hotel over their newer hotel Palacio Nationale ?? (it's next door and 3 times as expensive) If you have the money, then go for it but are you really going to be in your room that much? I liked Monasterio's courtyard better. However, the Palacio's rooms are really huge and designer decorated. We wanted to explore some of the ruins around Cusco and didn't want to pay for an Orient Express suggested guide. Instead we took the concierge's recommendation to have the taxi driver take us to the ruins and get us a guide up there. Big mistake. You want a guide with those vests on. What happened was the taxi guy got us a guide with the vest on and then she passed us on to a person with no vest on. What a waste of $40. Guess you get what you pay for. Lesson learned...only go with the guys with vests on or go with the Orient Express guides. Couples that we ran into, had Orient Express arrange everything...guides, transfers...and they loved it. Definitely go visit the main Cathedral. Beautiful. About $9. We went to the Inca Museum...very average. Definitely go to Pisac Market on market days. What a trip. Spent a whole day there and got most of our gifts there. Be prepared to negotiate. I got things 30-40% less than what they first quoted. You can also explore the ruins above. You might want to do that first before you go shopping. Get there early so that you can do both. We didn't have enough time to explore the ruins because we were having a kick shopping. Cool things we bought: knit hats, watercolor pictures, silver inca pendant with chain necklace, silver earrings, woven make-up bags, shaman pipe (cool as an art object), alpaca blankets ($25) and a stuff Alpaca which we named Ollie for Ollyantambo (another place to visit in Urubamba Valley.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sm92629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The Hotel Monasterio is a magnificent property, modern amenities in a restored building. The rooms are very comfortable. We did appreciate being able to get some extra oxygen at night early in our trip. The bar is very nice for visiting and you can get some light fare. The restaurant is first rate. They also have a small business center that came in handy when we had to make some airline flight changes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlg3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel is an old monastery and is set in what seems to be a central location of "Old Cusco". We were there for three nights as part of a Celebrity Cruises add-on. There was nothing we did not like about this hotel or its offerings! The rooms were of good size, lovely balcony (although as it is an old monastery, the doorways to get from the room to the balcony were short and we had to stoop). The breakfast buffet was quite good, with great service and we liked that the Spanish and then English names of the foods were both listed. The central courtyard garden was lovely and our only regret is that we did not have the time to eat out there. However, the main restaurant is set up along one of the cloisters so we had great views of the gardens while we were dining. The hotel staff is incredibly gracious, including opening the gift shop quite early so we could purchase a small wall hanging. The Opera Dinner was quite nice as there were two live singers while dinner was being served. By the way, at the Opera Dinner, the service is such that all at the table had their plates served simultaneously, which was a lovely touch! The food was good and we quite enjoyed our stay there!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokyangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 337, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £169 - £1,033 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing