We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but do get an oxygenated room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed in Cusco for 3 nights then went to Mach Picchu before returning to Monasterio for one more night. The hotel is stunning but we all suffered with the altitude (headaches, breathless, fast heart rate but luckily no sickness) so we were very glad we had book the rooms with oxygen pumped into them! The hotel is stunning and well located for the best restaurants and the town square. Breakfast was wonderful and on the days when we had an early start, they open at 5 am and will also pack you up a breakfast/lunch box to take with you at no extra cost. The hotel looked after our luggage while we went to MP and on our return gave both couples a beautiful suite for our last night. The hotel restaurant was nice for dinner but not outstanding - we ate better and for less elsewhere, however on Tuesday and Thursday evenings they have music and an opera singer performing while you eat. Be warned though, it is very loud so ask for a table at the entrance end if you want to chat over dinner.

Room Tip: Stay in an oxygen room and book a 2 storey suite if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSOCBrentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,160 - 1,166 of 2,487 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Superb service. I had extreme altitude sickness and required an oxygen tank, which was brought to my room free of charge. They also orivided a heater, which keptcthe room very warm. Cocoa tea is complementary, but the Muna tea is great too. I ate chicken soup the two days I was there, which was excellent. Meat tends to be on the dey side frim what I heard. Slippers and bathrobes are provided, as are a hair dryer, emry board, shower cap, cotton balls and a safe to lock up valuables. Great restaurants and the plaza are a short walk. The front desk staff and concierge were very helpful in arranging taxi rides, boarding passes and other needs.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meretravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were unfortunate to only stay one night in this great hotel. We were picked up from our Hiram Bingham train and taken to our hotel. We were given an upgrade which was great. The room was beautiful, spacious and comfortable. The service in this hotel is outstanding and the staff go out of their way to make guests feel comfortable. I was having problems due to altitude and woke up at 2am gasping for breath. We called for some oxygen which arrived minutes later.
The breakfast was also delicious and a big variety of options.
Eduardo was really nice in picking us up from our train and dropping us off at the airport. He even stayed with us until he made sure we got our boarding passes. Never had a hotel do that...only family does that!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milanese2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel is a former Monestary, the history here, you can feel it. Magnificent property in every way! We stayed in the Royal suite for two nights while we explored Cusco and surrounding areas. 12,000 feet elevation slows you down a little, it was nice to have oxygen pumped into the room. Ciccolini restaurant was fantastic and the main square had so much to offer. Breakfast buffet at the hotel was very good with every option you could imagine. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caseycami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our group stayed here for one night going to Machu Picchu (stored our bags) and then for another 2 nights on our return - great hotel. When you arrive the altitude is very high and each person reacts different - the hotel is set for you - they can pump in oxygen via the bathroom to make you more comfortable or bring a canister to your room for personal use. Regardless a 5 star hotel waiting for you - The place provides the atmosphere as well as outstanding service by it's employees. Breakfast is included and there is not one thing they don't offer! THe beds are lovely and comfortable providing a great sleep and products in the bathroom outstanding. The Monasterio is close to the main square and many restaurants, bars and yes even starbucks is close by. Shops abound surrounding the place - when I go back no question - would return to the same spot - Excellent stay -

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The Monasterio is an absolutely beautiful hotel. The hotel was a former monastery and the walls are adorned with lots of religious paintings. It has great atmosphere and the hotel staff try their best to make your stay there a special one. We had a great time at the hotel and were very pleased with our room. The rooms are gorgeous and have lots of character; not like the soulless glass and concrete business hotels that pass for 5-star hotels.

I found the service very good except for one tiny glitch at the reception where I was ignored by three ladies working behind the counter. I stood waiting for someone to acknowledge my presence but the ladies were apparently too busy to see me. However, an extremely rude Englishwoman who strode directly to the counter was served before I was.

The food in the restaurant was Ok. A bit pricey for the quality of the food but I guess it's the price one pays for convenience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthFrequent_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

First, the Service everywhere has been kind, polite and wonderful in Peru.
This hotel is no exception. I can't imagine coming to Cusco and not staying here.
I would have missed out on the feeling if being in a very special place. Once a Jesuit monastery, converted to this hotel with a beautiful garden, fantastic meals, typical South American painting throughout the hallways in typical heavy gold frames! Did I mention the soft white. Sheets, bathrobes, slippers, bottleS of water in the room?
They say oxygen is also pumped into the rooms to help with the high altitude.

We stayed 2 nights and sorry to leave as the hotel is 2 or 1 1/2 blocks from the central square where shopping and the large cathedrals are.

Room Tip: My room 203 had a little balcony and was at the end of a hallway. Everyone in our group loved their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcopolopaloalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0 mi away
Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Palacio 140, Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#6 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £248 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing