We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Charm Hotel With Superb Services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old World Charm Hotel With Superb Services”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Monasterio in Cusco during our Peru vacation in October 2013. From the first moment we made our reservation online, the customer service we received was above and beyond our expectation. After booking our room thru Luxury Link, we emailed the hotel reservation to see if we can split our reservation to accommodate our trip before and after we went on the Hirem Bingam trip to Macchu Picchu. The hotel was very accommodating and immediately revised our reservation for us. What a great first impression 8 months before our departure.

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were welcomed by a team of hotel staff and immediately offered us some coca tea to help us battle altitude sickness. The check-in process was handle professionally by Edson, the Concierge. From that minute onwards, Edson anticipated all our needs and took over the planning process for us. He took care of everything for us from making dinner reservation and informed us about the hotel's special opera performance, arranged for transportation for us to and from the train station, obtain our flight record info and checked status and print boarding passes, all without us having to ask for it. We felt so relax and well taken care of.

The hotel itself is amazing of course. That was why we picked it. It was restored from an old monastery to its original integrity with modern amenities added in. The grounds are well maintained and beautiful. It has a classic elegance and romantic atmosphere to it perfect for couples. We had an upgraded room (junior suite), it was huge with a sitting area, a large dressing area, bath tub and very comfortable bed.

We had daily breakfast and a lunch at the hotel's Illarity Restaurant on our first day in Cusco when it rained and we decided to stay in. And a dinner at the El Tupay Restaurant with an opera performed in Peru's ethnic language of Quechua. Unlike other hotels' restaurants we dined it, the cuisine at the Monasterio was delicious with local fresh ingredients and prepared by top chefs. We ate so well!

When we returned from the Macchu Picchu trip, it was very late and we were exhausted. The staff worked very fast to get our bags delivered to our room, the room key was ready at the front desk for us and the bed is turned down and slippers placed neatly next to the bed. We felt like we were going home. During our entire stay, every hotel staff we met were friendly, sincere and very helpful. It's no surprise that it is South America Best Service Hotel. Thank you and compliment to the entire staff at the Monasterio Hotel for giving us such spectacular services and sending us home with sweet memory on our first trip to South America. Rest assure, we'll come back to stay with them and we highly recommend it all our friends visiting Cusco.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelodyLee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,868
    266
    65
    33
    9
See reviews for
438
1,121
86
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

After a thirteen hour journey we arrived in a complete oasis. The service and location are the number one attributes to this hotel. The staff were extremely accommodating to our requests and even help negotiate the best prices for cab fare within the city. As a side note, rooms can be small, so If you are used to staying in large rooms remember this is a 16th Century conversion from Monastery that wasn't hampered by an unsightly hotel conversion - Orient Express does it right!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safiblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We arrived at the Monasterio after a long trip from Aguas Calientes by train and van. When we arrived at the hotel we felt like we had been enveloped by people who were there to take care of us and remove all our worries. Coca tea was quickly served, we were seated in comfortable chairs while they assisted us with the paper work. My husband and I along with our friends all felt they had effectivey removed all our worries.

The rooms were very comfortable. Our room overlooked the small roadway at the front of the hotel and the double glazing ensured the room was quite at night. The only issue was that our room was just over the bar area and on nights when when there was a small band playing you could hear this in our room. Thankfully the band finished by 9pm so it did not bother us but it is worthwhile asking for a room further away if you are not going out at night. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful.

The hotel is well located and a short walk to most attractions. The staff were very helpful when one of our party became sick and a doctor was needed. Indeed they were able to respond to any of our requests.

We stayed in South America for 4 weeks and stayed in many hotels and this was one of our favourities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuzco
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Most excellent location only a short walk away from the main square and the San Blas area. This Orient Express hotel is by far an excellent choice in the city of Cusco - very accommodating in each and every way. Staff top notch. Beds divine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
301 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The hotel Monasterio was one the highlights of our trip to Cusco. I wish I could add a plus to the five stars, or even add a sixth star. Converted from a monastery, the hotel somehow maintained the look and feel of the old monastery, but provided luxury accommodations at the same time. If we ever go back to Cusco, the Hotel Monasterio will be our choice. The location was perfect - just off the main square. The accommodations were excellent - spacious, comfortable, and decorated with original art work. Dining was also very good. We especially enjoyed "opera night", which is held during dinner every Tuesday and Thursday evenings. We also enjoyed seeing the chef hand pick fresh herbs from a small garden in the interior courtyard of the hotel.

Room Tip: We were told that all of the rooms are different. If you don't like your room, I would ask to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmeyernos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We were booked in here two nights as part of an organized tour.
A great location, a wonderful building, excellent rooms and amenities, perfect service, and dinner one of the nights we were there was accompanied by live opera arias with a very fine local mezzosoprano. This is really being pampered and we enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel_Tzipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

This in many respects is a lovely Hotel, which because of the nature of the building makes it hard to justify as a 5 star establishment.
The good..... Wonderful ambience, attentive staff, excellent food.
The bad...... You really need to book a luxury room as the monks cells did not convert into what we would find acceptable. Small dark and with no air conditioning. The luxury rooms have aircon, but wait for it, only available between 6pm and 6am!
There was no swimming pool which was no bad thing, as trying to exercise at that altitude would probably not be wise.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trusler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments.

We deeply value your comments and sincerely apologize if we didn't meet your expectations. We can guaranty you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus, reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers usually rank.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de León
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 164 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Palacio 140 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing