We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unique and luxurious”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Hotel Monasterio was a monastery until the mid-1990s when it was renovated into a luxury hotel with about 125 rooms. The architecture, paintings and courtyard all remain well preserved and unique. The main courtyard has a 300 year old cypress tree--perhpas one of the few that size and age in Cusco--and is beautifully planted and available for a sunny breakfast. The indoor breakfast dining room looks out on the courtyard and the service and spread of foods is a wonderful start to the day. Service and concierge are very good as you would expect--but don't always get in top hotels. The location in the center of Cusco is a tucked away small plaza very close to the main center but also including a wonderful museum and another super-luxury property also owned by Orient Express. Suffering from altitude sickness, we appreciated the rooms with oxygen option for an extra $45.
Yes, this is expensive for Cusco but such quality in any other major world city would be 2-3 times the price and it was worth the experience and comfort.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a 'second floor' room with an interior view and windows--very quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,866
    266
    65
    33
    9
See reviews for
437
1,120
86
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

What a magnificent hotel! We arrived late in the evening and were greeted and escorted by the wonderful and personable Carlos. As tired as we were, we were deeply moved by the beauty of the hotel. The decor is perfection, utilizing warm and vibrant colors with original Spanish Colonial art and artifacts throughout the hotel. The chapel on site is magnificent and a must-see. The central courtyard is stunning with lovely flowers and a beautiful water fountain. On the morning we left, a talented guitarist was playing classical guitar in the courtyard. It was really hard to leave!

We were upgraded to a beautiful suite that had a loft living room upstairs. It was truly lovely! Though the bathroom was small, it was well-designed and we appreciated all the nice amenities. Given that it is a renovated monastery and a historic building, they have constraints in terms of space. However, we never felt constrained in the least! They have done such a wonderful job of designing the rooms that we were truly thrilled with ours. We also slept very well in the comfortable beds. Although Cusco has a lively downtown scene (and the hotel is downtown) with almost daily parades and celebrations of various saints, I am pleased to report that I slept like a baby! The sound proofing must be quite good at the hotel because I am a light sleeper and I never heard the noise.

Typical of Orient-Express, the service was absolutely spot on, and always so warm and gracious. Among so many others, we appreciated Tito, our wonderfully poised and polished server at lunch. He, along with everyone else on the staff, was so warm and caring. It is truly wonderful to see people taking pride in their work and truly desiring to please their guests as if we were staying in their own home. I sat down at the lunch table feeling a bit woozy from altitude sickness. (Diamox is a must to prevent altitude sickness! I was taking it but needed an extra boost, it seems.) There was a lovely waitress (can't remember her name) along with Tito and others who were so caring and helpful. They suggested the perfect blend of teas and, by the time I finished lunch, I was in top shape. Perhaps their kindness had a lot to do with my feeling better.

As is our usual experience with Orient-Express, it was quite difficult to leave this wonderful hotel. We were doing a private tour of Peru with Orient-Express and we found it hard to leave each one of their wonderful hotels, not only for the beauty of the hotels but because of the caring staff at each place. Thank you, Orient-Express, for hiring phenomenal staff and for making your guests feel so special always!

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are wonderful but we especially enjoyed our loft suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Travel in Peru in Dec/Jan is quite expensive. The price we paid for this hotel was steep but well worth it. The rooms are just spectacular. The staff are very efficient. It is located close to the main square. We also took a Pisco Sour making class and it was fun. The hotel has a beautiful church and is an ideal set up for a wonderful wedding. The hotel is an old monastery and its walls are adorned with beautiful art. There is an art tour within the hotel (quite grand). We got upgraded as it was our anniversary and I would happily stay there if I return to Cusco.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrotGlobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile


Orient Express transfer the place of the hotel to one of the safest and greatest hotels. We enjoyed the accomodation as honeymooners and travelers with National Geographic Expedition to explore The Land of Incas in Peru, and we remember this hotel as one of the best place we have been to. Luxury service in relax place in the heart of Cusco where you can reach the most important places very easily. We faced medical emergency where the hotel brought us a special doctor to treat us in the room.

 How to reach? 8 hours From Los Angeles Airport or 5-6 hours from Miami Airport. By LAN Airlines to Lima, then domestic flight to Cusco Airport by peruvian airline.

Overall: 
Price: Good
Atmosphere: Excellent
Service: Excellent
Hospitality: Excellent
Food/Dine-in: Excellent
Activities: Very Good
Visit again? Yes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralfadalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

a gorgeous old hotel, worth a visit to the restaurant even if you can't stay there. From the entry way, to the bar to the food, everything was exquisite and beautiful. bravo!! don't miss this treat in cusco.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easternsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel can not be faulted! From the moment you step through the imposing doors , you are transplanted to another era - it breaths history in a very discreet manner. The hotel is kept in immaculate condition and there is attention to the smallest detail. It was one of our best hotels ever! I would just caution against the cost of their collection service from the airport - the tariff is just too inflated compared to that of the local taxi service.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huyshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I could not fault this hotel. From the moment we were collected at the airport until when we checked out the service and attention to detail was superb. The rooms were spacious and well appointed and the breakfasts were generous and diverse. As part of our package we had a dinner which we took on one of the opera dinner evenings (Tuesday Thursday and Saturday ) and it was a special evening with superb cuisine complimented by exquisite music. I could not fault the friendly reception and concierge staff who always were helpful and courteous. If I was forced to make a criticism, the wifi in the room was slow and inconsistent, however was great in the lobby bar which was the perfect spot to check emails and do Internet research (with pisco sour in hand)!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 164 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Palacio 140 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing