We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed there with another couple for four nights in early February and it was great. The hotel is beautiful and in good shape and the staff were excellent - helpful and friendly. Christopher, the concierge, is as good as they get.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnWJ3792JX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,096 - 1,102 of 2,469 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

The feeling of being in a monastery is preserved while all the comforts of a first class hotel exist in this exquisite property, which was handy to the sights of Cusco. The rooms are beautifully appointed, the staff is extremely attentive, and the ambience is spectacular. As well as the usually expected dining room and bar, there are 2 lovely courtyards and a chapel with beautiful artwork. The staff was extremely attentive and eager to please.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I so enjoyed my two nights staying at this historic and grand hotel. The monasterio has a very long history, and the common rooms are very grand. Make sure that you stop into the attached church located to the left in the main courtyard. It is filled with original paintings and large gilded frames. The included breakfast is marvelous and there are so many choices. My deluxe room had the largest bed I have ever seen and an upstairs sitting room. The only not perfect element was that the bathroom was a little small and lacked counter space. But everything else was perfect. The location is excellent, less than 5 minutes to the main square.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ono O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed for three nights but split the stay as we also took the train to Machu Picchu and ventured overnight to Agua Caliente. This was a great way to acclimatise to the high altitude. The service from all the staff was attentive and highly professional. Dining was sensational in their restaurant and the breakfast equally of calibre. They held our large suitcases whilst we ventured off site to reduce the burden of weight on our overnight absence. On our last full day in Cusco we asked the concierge for advise on what to do and were offered the services of a private driver and half day or full day tour of the Sacred Valley. We chose the half day tour and our guide and driver were very professional well educated and extremely considerate of all our needs. Water bottles provided and alternate routes of travel suggested at a moments notice to maximise the experience of the particular groups dynamics. The location is a once in a life time reason to splurge and go the extra cost if comparing to other hotels in the area. We certainly would recommend this hotel and it's services and hope to be able to share the experience again if blessed by the opportunity to visit Peru once more!

Room Tip: We had two different locations on our visit and two different room types eg king bed and twin rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaneringKs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I could not have asked for more in a hotel. Historic, beautiful facilities with all the modern needs - good television, good bathroom, wonderful bed and most of all five star staff all around. We had dinner in the restaurant one event and also found that to be a memorable evening. We had room 309 and the Internet was perfect. The small windows were charming and we were able to hear the fireworks from the preparations for the San Blas fesival.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room, some of the standard rooms have no windows and I have heard people hate that. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The location and facilities are fabulous. However, the services were lacking. I booked my reservation directly through the hotel three months prior to my stay. I was under the impression that my reservation was paid in full. The front desk agent informed me otherwise when I arrived. That was a shock to me to have to factor in the full price of the room to my vacation expenses. Secondly, after my arrival, I was brought directly into my room which lacked character. The bellman dropped our bags into our room and did not bother to explain the room features what-so-ever. Once we got settled in, we went to the lobby to book our private tour with the concierge. However he/she was not there! So my girlfriend and I were told by the front desk agent to "go look in the plaza" for a tour. We went to look and we had no choice but to go on a all Spanish speaking tour. When we returned to the hotel we asked for a recommendation to eat dinner and were recommended to El Meson de Don Tomas. The food was below average. Also ranked #127 of all restaurants in Cusco out of 366...Completely unacceptable for a five star hotel. I called to the front desk after dinner (8:30PM) to request for a wake up call at 6:00AM. But the next morning, we NEVER received the wake up call. I informed the front desk agent in the morning and she said I was not even on the wake up call list. This hotel had everything BUT exceptional service. It was a huge disappointment. I feel embarrassed to have brought my partner here during our 4 year anniversary for such a despicable experience. As a front desk agent myself, I know service. This hotel was lacking in more ways than one. I will not be staying at another Orient-Express location again because of this experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank asanz008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments.
We are sorry for the inconvenience.

We can guarantee you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus in reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers usually rank us.

Sincerely,
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here in December 2013 for 5 nights. It was spectacular in every way. Possibly the best all round hotel I've stayed in. The actual building is stunning, sumptuous and beautiful. All the staff we encountered we're excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Even just a drink in the courtyard was the white glove service. Rooms were great, very comfortable beds. The bathroom was compact but functional and my only criticism of the whole hotel is that there was a very shallow bath, couldn't get fully submerged and and I'm only 5'8. If you are going to Cusco and can stay here you would be a fool not to, can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukeF524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 172 in Cusco
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Palacio 140, Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#6 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £226 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing