We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Aosta, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The best hotel I've ever been. Everything was perfect: wonderful location in an old monastery, staff extremely careful and courteous, notably the staff at the breakfast. In short, we had an unforgettable experience in a magic town.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,917
    271
    66
    33
    9
See reviews for
448
1,151
87
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Warm reception, elegant décor, friendly staff. Two beautiful courtyards with dripping fountain makes you feel comfortable instantly. Located within walking distance to everything, this first class resort in worth enjoying for at least an evening.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank thudak5110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanville, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My friend and I were so excited and looking forward to Hotel Monasterio- it was a dream come true! :all the beautiful artwork, transportation from the airport, Edson met us at the door and gave us great personalized service! The suite had a beautiful view of Cuzco's cathedrals and rooftops, we appreciated the extra oxygen to sleep by and the peaceful inner courtyard to relax in before and after dinner, The opera singing performance was an extra treat, convenience of location and finding a friendly helpful driver Libido for our excursions was reassuring. One of the best parts of our visit to Peru! We will never forget!

Room Tip: Suite with an upstairs loft gives space and a feeling of living there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Monasterio offered everything one needed for a first-class stay. The hotel itself was stunning with beautiful courtyards and a fascinating history. Our room was complete luxury and the bar, with its roaring fire, was most welcome. A highlight of our stay was the "Opera Dinner": excellent food accompanied by talented operatic voices. A truly memorable visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandv0akville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Words can't really do justice to explain the extraordinary experience I had at this hotel. It is beautiful and the service is nothing short of spectacular. The hotel staff does everything to make their guests feel welcome and well taken care of.

I also used the services of the travel advisor for Orient Express and had an excellent individually tailored tour around Cusco. The restaurant is excellent.

I loved the airport pickup service complete with luggage porter, chauffeur, oxygen if necessary, and a representative of the hotel who took care of my check-in with me in the Lobby Bar.

I loved Cusco, and because of the hotel, I'd like to return. I had an oxygen room which, for me, was essential. I was in Cusco four days and due to the high altitude, I felt tired quite often. It was good to have such a wonderful place to go back to and relax.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Not only is location at 11,000 feet, but the experience is outstanding, a real luxury hotel. Pickup from RR station also. Great location, rooms are very attractive, and service is top notch, cannot go wrong here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xsoccer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

This was truly a wonderful experience - I can not say enough positive things about this hotel and their incredible staff! Here everyone greets you by name and will bend over backwards to make sure your stay is comfortable and perfect. As well the accommodations are spotlessly clean while still retaining the charm of being in a converted monastery. It is perfectly located to see all of the sights of Cusco... You're already part of the way up to see Sacsayhuaman if you choose you choose to walk - and within stumbling distance from Museo del pisco - which is a good thing! You're one block off the main square and walking distance to most sights. Thanks to all the staff who took the time to make this memorable!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber5149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 167 in Cusco
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 337, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Belmond, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing