We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have been Better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Start with the positive. The location and grounds are beautiful. Breakfast was excellent.

Here were the negatives. Our problem started on our first stay with repeated issues with the door lock which were not corrected. On the second stay the television did not work in both rooms. Maintenance could not fix the issue. After all of these issues and after settling the bill I had the front desk run after me to pay for a Diet Coke from the restaurant. They had missed this originally. I found this offensive after the previous issues were left unresolved. I left my business card asking for the general manager to call me. I never received a call.

For what you are paying for this hotel service and support should be near perfect. It was clearly not.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shoupdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments.
We are sorry for the inconvenience.

We can guarantee you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus in reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers usually rank us.

Sincerely,
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,030 - 1,036 of 2,445 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

loved the fact that this hotel served as a Monastery before.The music in the courtyard, the chapel, the paintings transport you in a different time. Unfortunately i had reserved a junior suite for my husband and I and our son - and was told we would have a loft suite, but instead we were given a Deluxe room with a three small beds. I was not thrilled. the room was also facing the back of the hotel to a noisy little street. there was the extra oxygen (so they said) - the beds were comfortable but i was disappointed in the room and lack of extra care. Breakfast is beautifully displayed in the dining room with a buffet, and having breakfast outside is special

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amimastri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay in our hotel has met your expectations.

Thank you for your comments which encourage us to every day in order to give the best service to our guests.

Kind regards,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

After staying at Hotel Monasterio, we can't imagine considering any other hotel in Cusco. We had a junior suite (room 433), which was perfect for my husband and me and our son, who had a separate sleeping area in the loft. The view , decor, service, amenities, breakfast, and location were all outstanding. The oxygen pumped into the suite was especially helpful for our 12-year-old son, who was having a hard time adjusting to the altitude. We felt extremely welcome and comfortable at all times. The hotel was opulant but never felt stuffy. The food was fresh and excellent, with a wide enough selection to satisfy the meat lovers and vegetarians in our group. We expecially enjoyed our dinner in the lobby bar while listening to the jazz duo on Saturday evening. While everything at the breakfast buffet was extremely fresh and delicious, the quinoa pancakes were a standout. And the coffee is the best we enjoyed in Peru. We ended up eating all of our meals at the hotel over our 2-day stay because it was so delicious and the atmosphere could not be beat. The hotel is expensive, but the junior suite is worth every penny. The hotel really is a destination in itself, and if you do experience altitude sickness, it's the ideal place to relax and adjust.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dhbchq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay in our hotel has met your expectations.

Thank you for your comments which encourage us to every day in order to give the best service to our guests.

Kind regards,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a superb hotel in an excellent location. The rooms are large and excellently appointed. The property is beautiful and the staff is very helpful. It is a splurge price wise. We were doing a Backroads tour and needed to add an additional night due to our travel plans (which the hotel was able to organize without any issues).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlg3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay in our hotel has met your expectations.

Thank you for your comments which encourage us to every day in order to give the best service to our guests.

Kind regards,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Gorgeous looking from the outside, beautiful courtyard and breakfast BUT the rooms vary widely.
Very stuffy mouldy rooms no ventilation in the bathroom and extremely strong smell of sewerage. I would hold my breath every time I entered the bathroom. We were in a group and it was all very hit and miss. If I had booked this for a special occasion and paid the high rates that they charge I would have been very upset. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salogrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments.
We are sorry for the inconvenience.

We can guarantee you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus in reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers usually rank us.

Sincerely,
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Exceptional in all ways! We stayed at the hotel 4 nights prior travelling to Machu Picchu. It is an old monastery converted to a hotel that has not lost its charm and uniqueness. It is located close to the main square where tours typically pick you up and drop you off and market stores for shopping. The staff is exceptional in all ways and make you a priority - checking in, booking tours, or any other assistance you may need. The meals we had at the hotel were wonderful - breakfast buffet was fabulous and lunch in the courtyard was lovely. We did not make the Opera dinner but I heard form others they enjoyed it. In the evening we enjoyed the fire place and the pisco sour. This place is exceptional in all ways.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay in our hotel has met your expectations.

Thank you for your comments which encourage us to every day in order to give the best service to our guests.

Kind regards,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The hotel Monasterio is set up within the walls of a convent from Colonial times, you breathe the air of ancient times at any minute. Despite the ancient setting the Monasterio has all amenities of a top notch modern hotel. The service is impeccable and the staff is friendly and very helpful. The hotel is conveniently located, just a five minutes walk to the Place des Armas and many other sightseeing attractions.
We would like to express our special thanks to the concierge services for organizing the transportation requirements we had.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterringier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay in our hotel has met your expectations.

Thank you for your comments which encourage us to every day in order to give the best service to our guests.

Kind regards,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 337, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#6 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £233 - £453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing