We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unforgettable experience.”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Magnificent setting. Equal to the best Hotel that we have stayed in.Food outstanding. Ambience unbeatable. Service excellence.
To stay in an Ancient Monastry with antique furniture and paintings was an experience we will never forget.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay in our hotel has met your expectations.

Thank you for your comments which encourage us to every day in order to give the best service to our guests.

Kind regards,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,891
    267
    65
    33
    9
See reviews for
442
1,133
87
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Monasterio starts very quietly with a lovely reception area. Then the hotel is built around a flowered courtyard and the rooms are on the perimeter on two floors. The food is top shelf, and the service is also outstanding. If you have only a night or two in Cusco, treat yourself to this wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnold P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay in our hotel has met your expectations.

Thank you for your comments which encourage us to every day in order to give the best service to our guests.

Kind regards,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuzco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed for 2 nights at the Monasterio hotel in Cusco this month thanks to the recommendation of South America Adventure Tours.
This hotel is a gem in Cusco not to be missed. The layout of the hotel, the comfort of the rooms, the staff attention to details and the food was simply fantastic! If you go to Cusco stay at the Monasterio! Its location is also ideal!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay in our hotel has met your expectations.

Thank you for your comments which encourage us to every day in order to give the best service to our guests.

Kind regards,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We visited Cusco and had a marvelous stay at the Hotel Monasterio. Check-in was a delight, Coca tea available to help with altitude. Oxygen (we did not need it) available on request. Free WIFI in all the Hotel. The staff was simply the most respectful and attentive group that we ever met. The location in the middle of town close to the "Plaza de Armas" and Cathedral, the excellently kept grounds, and excellent breakfast with very convenient hours (5:00 AM to 10:30 AM) were a few of the amenities of the hotel. We reserved a triple room, very comfortable with soft beds. Room service was a delight with ample menu. Spa was very accommodating for a massage for 2. Dinner restaurant Opera Night was a nice comfortable experience. The hotel was simply charming. We will stay in this hotel again and recommended it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubenVelazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay in our hotel has met your expectations.

Thank you for your comments which encourage us to every day in order to give the best service to our guests.

Kind regards,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuzco
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We thoroughly appreciated everything about the Monasterio: comfort, location, food, extra oxygen if needed, service, cleanliness. The beds were the most comfortable ever!!! All were at the highest level. If we ever return, we would definitely stay at this hotel! Fabulous!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol+Dandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay in our hotel has met your expectations.

Thank you for your comments which encourage us to every day in order to give the best service to our guests.

Kind regards,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Gorgeous hotel, staff was wonderful! Hotel is located close to the main square, in a former monastery. Beautiful lobby, walkways, and rooms. Excellent breakfast, lovely boutiques, gorgeous courtyard. A real treat!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay in our hotel has met your expectations.

Thank you for your comments which encourage us to every day in order to give the best service to our guests.

Kind regards,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Start with the positive. The location and grounds are beautiful. Breakfast was excellent.

Here were the negatives. Our problem started on our first stay with repeated issues with the door lock which were not corrected. On the second stay the television did not work in both rooms. Maintenance could not fix the issue. After all of these issues and after settling the bill I had the front desk run after me to pay for a Diet Coke from the restaurant. They had missed this originally. I found this offensive after the previous issues were left unresolved. I left my business card asking for the general manager to call me. I never received a call.

For what you are paying for this hotel service and support should be near perfect. It was clearly not.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoupdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments.
We are sorry for the inconvenience.

We can guarantee you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus in reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers usually rank us.

Sincerely,
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 165 in Cusco
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 337, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing