We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Fabulous hotel, with good size rooms designed in a very traditional style. This is truly an amazing property, excellent location, great breakfast and helpful staff. Would diffinately book this property again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 560djm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,805
    257
    63
    32
    9
See reviews for
425
1,078
84
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We had a great trip for a family of 6. Total of three rooms. Ursula from the Belmond tour division did a great job working our Peru logistics.

Edwardo did a nice job at the Monasterio and we used Carlos as a tour guide for Cusco and Machu Picchu.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mdh95070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuzco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

If you wish to be looked after with care and attention to every detail you should consider this hotel. The venue is beautiful, the staff friendly and experienced and the food is excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will go again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, NV
Level Contributor
211 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is just about perfect. The hotel is a transformed luxuriously refurbished former monastery in a quiet square just a block off of the main central square in Cusco. The service is "old school" and excellent. Many luxury hotel chains could take a lesson from the service at the Monasterio. The architecture and the decor--from the beautifully manicured courtyards to the floral arrangements to the artwork--were impeccable. The rooms were well decorated with all the amenities. After a day of touring, that comfortable bed with soft linens felt so luxurious. There is even piped in oxygen available in some rooms for those susceptible to altitude (it really made a difference for us). The casual breakfast/lunch restaurant had plentiful options and the quality of the food was excellent. At night, there is a more formal dining option, the restaurant Tupay. It is set in a spectacular dining hall and serves delicious gourmet meals. A few nights a week, there are opera singers (quite competent) for entertainment. The beautiful bar area is removed enough from the reception area and is quite comfortable and inviting. They serve one of the best pisco sours in Peru. The only hiccup was that one of the reception desk personnel seemed disinterested and was not very helpful in helping us straighten out a credit card issue, but otherwise the reception personnel were friendly and more than helpful. Really, the hotel and our three day stay there were quite perfect. I give this hotel the highest recommendation for a hotel in Cusco, or for anywhere for that matter.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkoHenderson_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed several nights here in Conjunction with a hiking tour from "Backroads". Truly one of the nicest hotel experiences we have ever had. The building itself is a wonderful attraction with the rooms around the quadrangles of the old 16th Century monastery. The rooms are spacious and beautiful, each room having original artworks that are 500 years old. The staff is friendly, helpful and competent. We ate one night in the hotel dining room and they featured an opera experience. It was a night to remember. The singing was spine tingling, the dining room was magnificent with great acoustics, and the food and service top-notch. Front desk, concierge and bar staff all helped make this a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This building is a monastery from the early Spanish occupation of this part of South America. It is somewhat like stepping back in time. The service was first rate. Excellent service and food service. There is even oxygen piped into the sleeping quarters so that the guests won't get headaches from breathing the thin air at this altitude.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronv95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear ronv95,

We really appreciated your comments about your stay at Belmond Hotel Monasterio which encourage us to every day in order to give the best service to our guests.

Kind regards,

Gustavo de León
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Brilliant location on a small plaza off the main square in Cuzco. Unadulterated luxury, but mixed with cultural and history. This grand old building has been expertly and beautifully restored and turned in to an amazing hotel. We stayed here twice, once before and once after visiting Machu Picchu. The second time our rooms were mezzanine and not that accessible, especially for my 70 year old father but that's my only gripe. One of the most amazingly comfortable beds I have ever slept in, super sized kings.

Room Tip: If you are older I would suggest asking that they don't put you in one of the rooms at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rastnim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Rastnim,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to Cusco. It is a true pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team has created memorable experiences that you have taken back home. As I always say, there is only one way to have a happy guest and that is having a happy team!.

Kind regards,

Gustavo de León
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Palacio 140 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing