We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel with exceptional service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Our stay was wonderful. The restoration of the hotel was done with great attention to detail....we felt like we were staying in a museum. Our room was large, beautifully appointed with high ceilings and windows overlooking the hills of Cusco. Breakfast was exceptional....presented with great elegance and style complete with a great omelette maker and a buffet table that seemed endless. Service was extraordinary....the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. The hotel setting provides a tranquil respite from the hustle and bustle of the city outside. Could not recommend this more highly. Truly memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redcottage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,677 - 1,683 of 2,436 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2009

El Monasterio is a world class hotel. Magnificent setting, fantastic lounge areas and bars, and truly excellent service. I think we were lucky to get a large room as from some reviews it seems you could be unlucky and get something pokey, but our experience was not far short of regal in this place. Yes it's expensive but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank quintopino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

It is one of the best hotels in S America and is situated in beautiful surroundings. Hotel Monasterio is not cheap by Peru standards, but if you get 5 star service throughout your stay, then you don´t mind. Treat yourself, stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bezzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

I just returned from five nights at the Hotel Monasterio and it was the most beautiful and lovely hotel in which I have stayed. I was met and greeted by an employee of the hotel at the airport and driven by taxi directly to the Monasterio. This cost $25 but was worth every penny after being exhausted from a very long flight from New York City. Upon arriv al, I was greeted by Pedro and he brought me a delicious cup of cocoa tea.

I was amazed at the beautiful lobby and I must say the pictures from the website do not do it justice. It was the most luxurious lobby and decorated very tastefully and in a warm manner.

The staff were the most gracious and friendly I have ever encountered. Everyone said hello and smiled. I have never been happier staying at a hotel; and although it was expensive, it was worth every penny.

The breakfast room was stunning and the food was delicious. It was buffet style and there were many choices of juices, sweet rolls, breakfast rolls, warm and cold choices etc. The coffee was refilled without asking and was very hot. I would return for the buffet breakfast alone.

My stay in Cusco was wonderful and due in a large part for the graciousness and kindness of the people at the Hotel Monasterio. I will return to Cusco and definitely stay at the Hotel Monasterio. I believe you get what you pay for and I have told family and friends about the magnificent Hotel Monasterio.

After staying at this hotel, I met with my tour group and had such a postive feeling about traveling to other parts of Peru. This trip was truly memorable and would recommend Peru to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldtravelernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

This hotel is truly spectacular. The service is some of the best I have had anywhere. The rooms are quite nice. Each is different given that this is a converted monastery. The food was quite good. The hotel is exspensive, but was worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raddocmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

The luggage storage service while you are away to Machu Picchu is really a value added. And, when you return, your bags are waiting for you in your room. And Restaurante Illary is very good. Try the Cuy prepared without any surprises and delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We love this Hotel everything was just "more" than right, we all have a wonderful time in Cuzco and a superb one at the Hotel Monasterio, Please don't touch it ! keep it without air conditioning, just open the windows, (the weather is cold at nights, anyways) . We have had a wonderful service at the Restaurant during Lunch and Dinner, we thanks the maitre who did everything to keep our teenagers and us so well served. We only can conpared this Hotel to the Santa Catarina in the Amalfi Coast in Italy.The Clay family from Chicago, Illinois. USA

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenthebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 337, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £179 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing