We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the nicest in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the nicest in town”
Reviewed 28 January 2010

lovely one, very quiet, no children it's not noisy, relaxing atmosphere, frendly staff if you have asma problems like me its a good one they have OXYGEN !!!

Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,945
    274
    67
    33
    9
See reviews for
458
1,169
87
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Cusco was our last stop in Peru ... and staying at the Monasterio was a nice end to our trip. We were greeted with a wonderful bottle of champange by the manager congratulating us on our marriage! The hotel itself was sooooo beautiful, so much to see and photograph! Our room was a bit small, but very clean and cozy ... and had a nice comfy bed and plush robes. The breakfast was huge and tasty ... it was an endless cornucopia of food!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinyterpjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We stayed in the Hotel Monasterio as part of the Celebrity Xpedition extended trip and were amazed by the quality of the lodging and the service provided. From the moment we arrived, we were offered coca tea to help with altitude sickness (the coca tea was available in the lobby at all times), and we never had to touch our bags again. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and eager to help.
Our favorite parts: the soothing chants played throughout the converted monastery and the delicious and ridiculously huge breakfast buffet. The location is also excellent- within walking distance of most major sights of Cusco. The one minor issue we had was receiving a room with two double beds instead of the queen bed we requested- though this was NOT a problem specific to the Monasterio; it happened to us all over South America. If you're a married couple with two different last names, be sure to emphasize that you'd like a "matrimonial" bed while checking in at the front desk. The problem was readily rectified by the front desk and was the only minor 'hiccup' in an otherwise amazing stay.
Side note: should you eat at the restaurant, get the very well-prepared cuy! All the intrigue... without the head and paws.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spendyourdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2009

We spent Xmas day here. Good food. Disappointing that the menu that there was no special Xmas menu. Menu has lots of fish and steak, but with a japanese type feel. Expect US$45 for wine, $60 for a main. all that said, the chef personally greeted us. Scenery doesn't get much better with a mountain backdrop against the courtyard / windows of a monastary. A lovely treat for sure. We spent $210 and felt properly spoilt.

If you're spending pounds, euros or dollars - do it! It'd cost you 4x price at home.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London_Karen_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, The management at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about our restaurant, food and Chef.

Regarding the Christmas Menu, we did have one specially designed for this special occasion (with a Christmas Kids Menu option as well). It might have been a confusion perhaps.

Nevertheless we are glad you had a wonderful time with us and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Happy New Year!

Hotel Monasterio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Our stay was wonderful. The restoration of the hotel was done with great attention to detail....we felt like we were staying in a museum. Our room was large, beautifully appointed with high ceilings and windows overlooking the hills of Cusco. Breakfast was exceptional....presented with great elegance and style complete with a great omelette maker and a buffet table that seemed endless. Service was extraordinary....the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. The hotel setting provides a tranquil respite from the hustle and bustle of the city outside. Could not recommend this more highly. Truly memorable.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redcottage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

El Monasterio is a world class hotel. Magnificent setting, fantastic lounge areas and bars, and truly excellent service. I think we were lucky to get a large room as from some reviews it seems you could be unlucky and get something pokey, but our experience was not far short of regal in this place. Yes it's expensive but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quintopino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

It is one of the best hotels in S America and is situated in beautiful surroundings. Hotel Monasterio is not cheap by Peru standards, but if you get 5 star service throughout your stay, then you don´t mind. Treat yourself, stay here!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bezzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 169 in Cusco
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 337, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing