We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nino's, a charming place to stay”
Review of Ninos Hotel Meloc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ranked #24 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2011

The main reason my husband and I chose to stay at Ninos, is that this hotel has a conscience, it's not just a place to rest a weary head after the Inca Trail. We felt that just by staying here, we contributed in a very small way to the amazing work the owner does in helping the gorgeous kids of Cuzco.

This isn't a five star hotel, but who cares! The rooms were comfortable and the shower hot which was all we could have ever want.ed The cafe served up delicious cakes and coffee and the staff could not have been more lovely and helpful. The hotel is only a five minute walk to the main square and there is always someone at the front door to let you in, no matter what time of the day/night.

If you come to Cusco, definitely stay at Ninos.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2011

We reserved a room for 2 nights, but ended up staying only 1. Los Ninos 2 is a youth hostel; anyone over the age of 30 or anyone used to business travel should not even consider staying here. We arrived around 9pm from MP and after seeing the room tried to find another hotel without much luck. We saw 4 different rooms and ultimately decided to stay in the “Laura” which had 2 twin beds and a full. There was mold on the wall and on the ceiling of the bathroom and the entire place smelled musty. They’ll arrange a taxi to pick you up from the train station/airport, but this ride is not complimentary (30 soles to/from train station and 10 soles to airport). Nor do they offer complimentary breakfast. Also, the hostel is a full 15 minute walk to the Plaza de Armas so it’s not very central.

The hostel is centered around 2 courtyards – the courtyard closest to reception has tables and chairs and is where the drunken backpackers chatter incessantly into the wee hours of the nights. The second courtyard holds a school that starts around 730am… we were lucky enough to be there one the morning of a birthday party so it was even more loud than usual. There is no insulation in any of the rooms so you can hear the echoes from both courtyards.

All things considered, the staff was very friendly. Also, the place is super cheap - $40 for a room with 3 beds. I could see this being a great option for backpackers, however they’re probably not reading TA.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

stayed there for 2 seperates nights ,good location 10 min walk to the plaza,big and clean room ,hot shower and free wifi,good price, like the colonial style of it and its for a good cause.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

we stayed at NInos 2 recently and absolutely loved it. everything was perfect. the rooms were clean and the staff was extremely friendly. They stored our luggage when we went to macchu piccu, where we were supposed to stay 2 nights. Once we got back down to aguas calinetes, we decided not to stay the second night and were happy to find that ninos had a room available so we took the late train back and it really felt like coming home when we got back here. Breakfasts were delicious as well and the courtyard is very peaceful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piratekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed at Ninos 1 for three nights in the end of May. We loved it!

Our room was small, but adorable. All of the rooms open up to an open air courtyard. They have a restaurant, laundry and run a fantastic non-profit to benefit children in Cusco,

The shower was warm, the staff were friendly, our room was clean, it is off the main street so nights were quiet, every room has a space heater in case you are cold, the food was excellent and not too expensive. They also arranged a cab to pick us up at the airport when we arrived. All in all, it offers good value for the price.

Some people on the forum have complained that it is too far from the main plaza... but it is really just a quick walk. We preferred to stay outside of the main plaza, all of the hotels that we saw ooked overpriced and are probably noisy at night.

Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in toulouse, it was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalkantayTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Hi, we stayed at this hotel for three nights, loved the food, service, location, et cetera. The restaurant is good, too!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We stayed here for three (non-consecutive) nights in early May. I was quite happy with the place!

The rooms were clean, the showers reliably had hot water, the linens were in good conditions, and each room had a space heater or cold nights.

The kitchen/restaurant was good. At reasonable prices, it offered a short but diverse menu of food even in the later hours of the night.

The staff is very friendly and flexible. When we were running late on our way to the bus station on our first morning, they let us put off paying for our first night until we returned two days later.

You can see the direct impact of the charitable aspect -- school kids were coming or going almost every time we entered or exited the hotel.

Only cautionary note: We stored a piece of luggage at Ninos for the two days we were up at Macchu Pichu. We had no problems, but I did notice that other hotel guests could have accessed the storage area, so you probably shouldn't have them store luggage containing valuables.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdingel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Ninos Hotel Fierro
Ninos Hotel Fierro
#41 of 171 in Cusco
209 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 171 in Cusco
1,518 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#37 of 171 in Cusco
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#64 of 171 in Cusco
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.5 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#35 of 171 in Cusco
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ninos Hotel Meloc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ninos Hotel Meloc

Address: Calle Meloc, 442 | 3 blocks from the Plaza de Armas, Cusco 051, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £22 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ninos Hotel Meloc 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All profits generated by Ninos Hotel go the Ninos Unidos Peruanos Foundation that provides food and education to up to 600 underprivileged children of Cusco. As a guest of our hotel, you can visit the foundation premises everyday and make extra donation if you wish. Our hotel is situated close to the Main square, called Plaza de Armas. We offer you a great variety of meals and beverages that you can enjoy in our beautiful colonial patio. You can also enjoy the city center with it's museums, restaurants, bars and many touristic highlights. Our hotel will keep your luggage in a safe place during your trip to the Sacred Valley of the Incas, Machu Picchu, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ninos Hotel Meloc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ninos Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing