We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a great cause”
Review of Ninos Hotel Meloc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ranked #21 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“For a great cause”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I stayed at ninos on Fierro for 6 nights in total during my trip to Peru: before & after going to PM and before & after the trek. It is a hotel for a great cause, and having visited the childern's project, I am very happy with my choice to stay here.

The hotel itself is a bit on the basic side but not without characters: the names of the rooms, the artworks, and the fresh flowers in the room are all evidence of the thoughts and efforts the hotel has put in. I have a slightly mixed feeling about the service though, some staff were very friendly and helpful, whereas a couple of others seemed less so, at one leg of my journey they forgot to pick me from the airport despite being booked and confirmed by email, i had to call the reception twice to arrange again (while enduring lots of harrassing from the touts who were very inquisitive about solo woman traveller), on the calls and on my arrival, no one even said a "sorry".

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamelapomelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    295
    66
    19
    11
See reviews for
156
452
116
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

One of the most memorable hotel 'experiences' we have ever had. Not only does this charming, friendly establishment offer nice accomodations, it is also part of a charitable effort that provides stability, love and education for some of Peru's homeless children.

We ate in the hotel restaurant a few times over our two stays and found the food fresh, tasty and well-served in the lovely outdoor courtyard or the indoor restaurant. Breakfast coffee with the singing birds was particularly pleasant.

While this isn't a 5-star facility, we found the rooms clean, the beds comfortable and the staff very accomodating. Knowing we were helping those least able to help themselves made our stay at the modest Ninos Hotel a 5-star experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horseman281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Ninos Hotel is indeed a great little hotel with wonderful character and ambiance. I stayed at the hotel on Calle Meloc for three nights at the beginning of a month-long backpacking trip. My favorite part was the quaint courtyard. It definitely is not a backpacker's hotel but meant for a bit classier of an experience, and the cost reflects that. While you can stay at a nice hostel, in a private room with a shared bathroom for S./25-40 ($10-16 U.S.), one night in Ninos Hotel is about $23. That said, it is definitely one of the less expensive hotels of its type, and the proceeds are purportedly used for a great cause. Indeed around 5pm everyday there are several children that come through the hotel, presumably on their way to or from one of the various programs. If you're looking for a quiet, quaint hotel with a lot of character, this is the place for you. If you're a backpacker and all you need a quiet place with a clean bed (not to mention a fantastic view of the city), save $10 and check out Hostel Resbalosa up the stairs on Calle Resbalosa. Enjoy Peru, whichever you choose, it's a breathtaking country!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Av1dAdv3ntur3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I stayed here after treking through the jungle. It was cute, charming, and very well kept. The courtyard is lovely. We also at breakfast at their restaurant. The homemade breads are delicious.
One weird thing was the locks...because the doors are pad locked from the outside and bolted on the inside, it was a little bit inconvenient since my roommate and I got back at different times. When I got back before my roommate, since we only had one key, I couldn't lock the door.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mychell_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mousehole
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We came here for 3 nights and then again 1 night after our trip to Macchu Picchu. We were very surprised at the overall quality of the Hostal and were pleased that the profits made from our stay went towards helping disadvantaged children in the area. The children actually have their own restaurant at the back of the Hostal so you know it is for real and you can ask for a tour of the facilities they provide for the children.
Rooms were basic but clean with plenty of hot water and the restaurant does superb breakfasts and dinners - we ended up eating twice for evening meals which were superb.
The rooms are named after the first children to be looked after and face a courtyard which is a delightful place to sit in the sunshine.

Room Tip: Try not to have a room at the back opposite the kids restaurant - much as we love the sound of child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsLKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alcazares, Spain
Level Contributor
168 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I stayed at Niños I (room Oscar) for two nights, and then at Niños II (room Chabela) for three nights. The hotel is nice, clean, and full of charm. It reminded my boyfriend of his grandmother's house in Spain. You do hear when people wake up early to leave, but I did not find it a major inconvinience. There were a few home improvements that could have be fixed but nothing that would interfere with having a pleasant stay.

Niños I is located closer to Plaza de Armas, whereas Niños II is farther away, and you have to pass a shady street with a few drunks. I recommend both places, yet Niños I at Calle Meloc is a better location.

The staff is very friendly. We had booked the hotel for two nights before heading to Huchuy Qosqo and Machu Picchu for two nights. We decided to book Niños for our remaining days when we returned from Machu Picchu. They only had available Niños II. Nevertheless, they stored our luggage at Niños II, so it would be there when we returned from our trip.

The best part is the cafeteria. The food was great. They even have half bottles and full bottles of Peruvian wine available. The pumpkin soup and home made bread were excellent. The atmosphere with the firewood burning was very cozy to play cards, read, or access internet.

In the end, Niños concept is about giving back to the community. Therefore, anyone complaining about the price or the children you might see coming in and out of the hotel have missed the point of staying at Niños. Furthermore, you will not spend much time in the hotel room (maybe in the courtyard or the cafeteria) because there are many things to do in Cuzco.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRinBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The efforts at Ninos Hotel are good. We made an appointment six months ago as advised in every travel book read. We stayed in three rooms over a course of five nights due to the mold peppered in two of the bathrooms that we stayed in. The food is good even if you have to pay for all of it. It is very loud at night dues to the stone that echoes every sound in the courtyard and the floors are creaky. The second floor is advised. we finally left due to overall discust and annoyance in Ninos Hotel. We went else where and it saved our vacation. Be ready to be flexible. thank you for all of your efforts even if we moved three times. The intentions of this hostel are good, just disappointing.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Ninos Hotel Fierro
Ninos Hotel Fierro
#49 of 165 in Cusco
165 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 165 in Cusco
1,464 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#36 of 165 in Cusco
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.5 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 165 in Cusco
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ninos Hotel Meloc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ninos Hotel Meloc

Property: Ninos Hotel Meloc
Address: Calle Meloc, 442 | 3 blocks from the Plaza de Armas, Cusco 051, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#17 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ninos Hotel Meloc 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All profits generated by Ninos Hotel go the Ninos Unidos Peruanos Foundation that provides food and education to up to 600 underprivileged children of Cusco. As a guest of our hotel, you can visit the foundation premises everyday and make extra donation if you wish. Our hotel is situated close to the Main square, called Plaza de Armas. We offer you a great variety of meals and beverages that you can enjoy in our beautiful colonial patio. You can also enjoy the city center with it's museums, restaurants, bars and many touristic highlights. Our hotel will keep your luggage in a safe place during your trip to the Sacred Valley of the Incas, Machu Picchu, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ninos Hotel Meloc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ninos Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing