We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place”
Review of Ninos Hotel Meloc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ranked #26 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It was my second stay at Ninos (first in 2013). As always, very good, and great service. Very good breakfast. One good thing they probably introduced this year: hot fans in rooms. Well, the winter was coming, and at this altitude it could be pretty cold; and no hostel in Peru, I guess, has a heating infrastructure. Sometimes they give you a hot water bottle. Ninos resolved this issue brilliantly with the hot electrical fans. Works like a charms!
I would only recommend to do something with the entrance - it is easy to miss, if you do not know where to look, and it is closed all the day.
Another new addition - supermarket Orion just across the street. Great source of all things.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serguei Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Like many others, we too enjoyed our stay (3 nights in total) at Ninos immensely. We stayed on the second floor in Demetrio, very quiet corner room. We ate all of our breakfasts' here as well as many light dinners with the popular pumpkin soup and a salad split between us. We enjoyed a heavier lunch in Cusco. Sitting in the courtyard sipping a cup of hot chocolate was a real treat as was sitting in the dining area with the fire to ward off the chill. Staff were so nice and helpful. We had arranged pick-up from the airport and were met right on time by Carlos - one of the four drivers that work for Ninos. We used the wonderful Luis (an original nino) as our driver for our trip to Ollantaytambo with stops in Chinchero, and the Salineras at Maras. We had to skip Moray because we'd spent too much time enjoying lunch at Merienda in Chinchero! For our return from Ollantaytambo we scheduled another driver from Ninos to drive us back. All of the drivers drove very safely. Not sure if we were just lucky or if it was our room but we slept soundly and were not bothered with noise. Short walk to the Plaza and the store next door is great. We really loved our time at Ninos!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluedevilfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great price and great cause! We brought clothes to donate to the kids.

ROOMS:

The rooms were clean and basic, and just how they are pictures on their website. We stayed in two different rooms.

Before our Inca Trail hike, we stayed in a corner room on the first floor, in Alan. The room was spacious but lacked a double front door at the time we visited. Our room appeared to be the only one without a glass door in addition to the regular door, so the room was a bit noisy without that extra buffer. Voices seem to carry in the courtyard, and things get going pretty early in the morning (travelers, the café, and the cleaning staff.) Also, the wi-fi didn’t seem to reach that particular room. However, I heard other travelers mentioning that they had a great wi-fi connection in their rooms.

After our hike, we came back and stayed in a different room, Dimas. What a difference being on the second story makes. We had the extra door which helped with the noise and we had good wireless reception. Yay!

STAFF/AMENITIES:

The café was convenient for eating, especially for breakfast. As vegetarians, we had plenty of options.

The courtyard is adorable and peaceful.

The staff was friendly and helpful and was happy to hold our bags while we hiked the Inca Trail. They also have walking sticks to borrow, which I ended up taking on my hike.

I was really trying to pack light so I didn’t bring any shampoo/conditioner/lotion. The Ninos does not provide these things or a hairdryer, FYI.

LOCATION:

The Ninos is several blocks from the Plaza de Armas and easily walkable. I also really liked the fact that there is a supermarket across the street from the hotel. We went there quite a bit for bottled water and snacks.

OTHER SERVICES:

When we first arrived to Cusco, we had not pre-arranged any tours of the area. As you will find out, there are lots of people trying to sell you tours at the Plaza but our guidebook suggested not to book with them but with a place that had a physical location. It seemed like a lot of the places looked sketchy. Instead, we asked the Front Desk employee if they had any suggestions, and they called John Huanca (his card is at the front desk). Within 15 minutes, he met us at the hotel and gave us some options. He was very professional and the prices seemed decent. We scheduled three different tours with him and we were met at the hotel and taken to a bus each time. It was so much easier doing it that way and not having to scout out our own tours.

OVERALL:

They do a good job with this hotel and we would stay at one of their hotels again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMYK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We loved this place, really lovely presentation, delicious restaurant, attention to detail. The proceeds go towards an excellent cause,supporting a children'a foundation, and make it even more worth the stay. Only downside is that it is a little noisy in the main court yard in the mornings, with the school kids coming and going to school. A short walk out of town, rooms situated on a sweet court yard which is a great place to relax after a long trek. Hot strong showers and really comfortable beds. A must whilst in Cuzco.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bauve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the Niños Hotel before and after doing the Inca Trek to Machu Picchu. It was a great place to explore Cusco and venture out to the Sacred Valley from, and also to relax and recover after 4 days of hiking at altitude!

The meals they serve are reasonably priced and very hearty, and we usually ate our breakfast outside in the beautiful little courtyard around which all the rooms are set out. It was particularly good to be able to eat some greens after many typical Peruvian meals of meat and potato!

The rooms are comfortable and thoughtfully decorated, although we found the beds themselves to be a little bit hard. We stayed in a downstairs room and an upstairs room, and preferred the one upstairs as it was a bit larger and more private, but all the rooms seem to be a bit different so it's probably luck of the draw what kind of room you end up with.

Generally the Niños was sort of a cross between a hostel and a hotel, and more towards the hotel end of the scale, but much more reasonably priced than others in the area. What's more, all the proceeds go towards a children's charity set up by the hotel's owners. The story of how the hotel came to be and the subsequent history is very inspiring and we were delighted to be a small part of it.

Room Tip: We preferred the upstairs rooms as they seemed to be a bit more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The property is very quaint and charming. The rooms clean and comfortable. An absolute great value! I stayed in a room with bathroom which I highly recommend doing. Ate breakfast in hotel every morning in front of the fireplace with a cup of hot tea. The open air courtyard was great for relaxing and catching some sun. Can't get any better!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMitche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at Ninos hotel.. The rooms were very comfortable and clean with a great restaurant that can be charged to the room. Highly recommended and very cheap. Plus all the proceeds go to a great cause!!! Keeping children off the street.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nupes777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Ninos Hotel Fierro
Ninos Hotel Fierro
#44 of 171 in Cusco
196 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 171 in Cusco
1,499 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#36 of 171 in Cusco
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.3 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#63 of 171 in Cusco
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#35 of 171 in Cusco
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ninos Hotel Meloc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ninos Hotel Meloc

Address: Calle Meloc, 442 | 3 blocks from the Plaza de Armas, Cusco 051, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#17 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £35 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ninos Hotel Meloc 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All profits generated by Ninos Hotel go the Ninos Unidos Peruanos Foundation that provides food and education to up to 600 underprivileged children of Cusco. As a guest of our hotel, you can visit the foundation premises everyday and make extra donation if you wish. Our hotel is situated close to the Main square, called Plaza de Armas. We offer you a great variety of meals and beverages that you can enjoy in our beautiful colonial patio. You can also enjoy the city center with it's museums, restaurants, bars and many touristic highlights. Our hotel will keep your luggage in a safe place during your trip to the Sacred Valley of the Incas, Machu Picchu, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ninos Hotel Meloc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ninos Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing