We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay! Centrally located, cheap, and comfortable.”
Review of Ninos Hotel Meloc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ranked #23 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place to stay! Centrally located, cheap, and comfortable.”
Reviewed 16 April 2009

We stayed at Los Ninos 2 (on Calle Fierro) and enjoyed it a lot. They had a taxi waiting for us at Cusco airport, they had staff waiting to carry our bags, and everyone was friendly and helpful. The rooms were quite large, and the breakfast was fine, although they charge for it. The owners take in kids who are going to school but don't have family to stay with in town, so the "helping society" part of it was another plus for us. We especially liked the central courtyard of the building with outdoor chairs and tables, cozy and clean. Don't forget to drink the Coca leaf tea (free) - it helped us a lot with our altitude adjustment (sea level to 10,000 feet in a day!).

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    294
    66
    19
    11
See reviews for
156
447
113
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

So we went to the website and emailed them our dates of stay - no answer. So when we get to Peru we called two days in advance, spoke to someone who knew english and booked a room for friday at Los Ninos (one). Everything from her end was good, there was availability and so we were all good. So Friday night when we arrive at 9PM from visiting Macchu Picchu, the new receptionist doesn't see our name in the appointment book and says all the rooms were taken. We obviously tell them we received confirmation, blah blah, and even spoke to the person who booked us on the phone (who conveiniently didn't remember any reservation we made) and had to locate us to the farther Los Ninos (two) for the night and then we could have a room at Los Ninos (one) the following morning. They refused discounts to make up for the mistake... we still had to pay the full price... great touch :) That was the bad part of the experience.

The good part is that at Los Ninos one and two is that the rooms are very big. We stayed in room Wibert. The bathroom was a decent size too. For $44 its a definite value. The WiFi worked great, hot water in the shower, and lots of leg room in the room. It was two of us but we had a 3 bedroom room. There is no TV, but the rooms are very comfortable.

Make sure you confirm your reservation a few times to avoid what happened to us. Stay at Los Ninos (one) because its closer to the Plaza. Los Ninos (two) is a lot farther away.
Its a great value and I'd stay here again. I stayed at Rumi Punku the first night in Cusco and it was way overpriced and the rooms were a lot smaller there. Los Ninos was hands down a lot better.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardon Ohio
Level Contributor
176 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

The hotel is in a busy part of the city. The outside is unappealing, but when you step in you are in a quiet little oasis. They offer you a cup of coca tea and they have good lunches and breakfasts (by a nice fire.) Plenty of places to eat dinner around Cusco. The rooms all face a peaceful courtyard and have hot water and little heaters for those cold night at altitude.

Everything is within walking distance from the hotel and cabs are plentiful and cheap if the altitude is slowing you down. We sometimes took cabs uphill and walked our way down. It was a 15 min cab ride from the airport and it cost 15 soles. They arranged for a early morning cab to take us to the airport and it was only 6 soles. The Internet cafe next door was great for printing out boarding passes and it was cheap.

Would stay here again if we were traveling to Cusco.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobo185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

The Hotel's staff was friendly and the cafe had inexpensive food/drinks. The rooms were also very comfortable as they came with heat and warm water. The city center (Plaza de Armas) is a five minute walk through a relatively safe part of town. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CML_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

Pros:

1.) Staff is incredibly friendly and helpful and speaks more than adequate English
2.) There is a cafe at the hotel open from early in the morning until 11 PM at night. This is great when you don't feel like going out for food, especially at the beginning if you're feeling the effects of altitude. They have mostly breakfast food, but it can be eaten at any time of day - yogurt, pancakes, that sort of thing.
3.) Left luggage is convenient and seems safe
4.) The location is great. It's a 10 to 15 minute walk from the main square which means you're close to being in the thick of things but far enough outside so that things are quiet and you don't get harrassed by vendors just outside the hotel. It's near little shops and several internet cafes. It's a downhill walk into town, and it's easy to hail taxis for 3 soles near the hotel.
5.) It was quiet. Some have complained about noise, but I heard kids occasionally in the morning, but otherwise wasn't bothered at all, and I'm pretty sensitive to noise.
6.) It's for a good cause.
7.) Rooms are clean and spacious

Cons
1.) The rooms are inconsistent. The room we stayed in the first few nights, Florencia, was poorly lighted, had lino of some sort on the floor, and just generally wasn't that nice looking. The last night we stayed in a different room on the second floor, I think called Carina, which was nicer - bigger, nicer flooring, just generally better looking.
2.) Impossible to avoid getting water on the floor when showering.
3.) Showers sometimes run out of hot water after moderate use - not always possible for two to shower in succession.
4.) Limited towels.
5.) I found socks in my bed the last night. How'd they end up there? Who knows. They seemed clean.
6.) Hard to communicate with staff in advance by e-mail.

I was worried about getting Ninos II in advance versus Ninos I because many of the reviews seem to be about Ninos II. Having been there, I doubt there's much difference between the two. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gte190f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

This was an awesome place to stay. They have everything you need and everyone was very friendly and helpful. The only bad thing I could say about it is that they do not have a computer with internet available (they do have wi-fi) but I couldn't knock any points off because the next place down the street is an internet cafe so it really was perfect. Love the fireplace in the evening!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2009

This was the perfect place to stay at the perfect price - and that is no overhype!!! As you can see from everyone's pictures, Ninos is an old Spanish building and lovingly taken care of. On check in you get a nice cup of coca tea and can have a wonderful breakfast or lunch. I recommend this place to everyone - it will make your trip. The staff is quite good as well - so helpful with info on tour guides, taxis and restaurants. You will not regret this choice.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junior2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 164 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ninos Hotel Fierro
Ninos Hotel Fierro
#54 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#35 of 164 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.5 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ninos Hotel Meloc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ninos Hotel Meloc

Property: Ninos Hotel Meloc
Address: Calle Meloc, 442 | 3 blocks from the Plaza de Armas, Cusco 051, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#17 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ninos Hotel Meloc 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All profits generated by Ninos Hotel go the Ninos Unidos Peruanos Foundation that provides food and education to up to 600 underprivileged children of Cusco. As a guest of our hotel, you can visit the foundation premises everyday and make extra donation if you wish. Our hotel is situated close to the Main square, called Plaza de Armas. We offer you a great variety of meals and beverages that you can enjoy in our beautiful colonial patio. You can also enjoy the city center with it's museums, restaurants, bars and many touristic highlights. Our hotel will keep your luggage in a safe place during your trip to the Sacred Valley of the Incas, Machu Picchu, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ninos Hotel Meloc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ninos Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing