We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Informative! Need to know a bit of Spanish.”
Review of Museo Inka

Museo Inka
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.00*
and up
Private Cusco Walking Tour: Inca Museum, Qorikancha and San Pedro Market
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Cusco Walking Tour
Ranked #32 of 170 things to do in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Managed by the Universidad Nacional San Antonio Abad, this archaeology museum traces Cusco’s history from the Inca period to the 20th century.
Gatineau, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Informative! Need to know a bit of Spanish.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This museum is decently priced and FULL of history and artifacts on Inca and Pre-Inca culture! Definitely worth a visit before visiting Macchu Picchu as I learnt all the fun facts about the place before going! For avid museum explorers, this is a must see!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    328
    163
    41
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deinze, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't know why everybody likes it that much”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Maybe it is because we had seen most of the stuff and places already, but the museum is not really a must-see in Cusco. It's chaotic and there is not Always a translation of the Spanish explanation. The Pre-Columbian museum is much better!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eijsden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Surprising”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I ended up at the museum without planning and it was very interesting. Everyone has a different taste, but I'm positive that it might be an interesting experience!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FernandaCS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zittau, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“If you like museums, it's a safe bet, it you don't stay away”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I'm not quite sure why, but that place generally made a really boring impression. They certainly had some nice pieces in the collection. However, it was all a bit shabby, some descriptions only being in spanish, others missing and not quite a clear concept to me. If you fancy inkas it's definitely worth going there. If you don't rather spend the 10 soles on a pisco sour!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wolloknollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacortes, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Average Museum”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We absolutely love museums, particularly those that feature local history and culture. This museum needs updating and reorganization. If you are short on time in Cusco, I recommend the Machu Picchu Museum (included in the Boleto Tourstico). Beautifully restored and layed out in a hacienda which was built on an Incan temple. The Incan Museum was just okay.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yokeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo Inka also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Museo Inka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing