We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views; noisy in our room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa de Campo Hotel
Ranked #102 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great views; noisy in our room”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Friendly service and wonderful views over Cusco with nice gardens and patios, friendly staff.
Odd noises from the room above ours were a problem--4 a.m. hammering, filing etc. If you're acclimated to altitude and can handle the steps (45 to our room), go as high as possible for quiet and views.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Medea7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    54
    25
    23
    17
See reviews for
28
64
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2011

After peaking into some of the other rooms and reading the reviews, we got lucky getting room #30. The hotel itself is located about 15 minutes walking from the plazas and it's up on the hill. With the high altitude of the city, it's hard not to be winded walking back to your room. If your fluent in Spanish, you should be able to catch a cab for less than 5 soles. Everything is negotiable in this country, from cab/hotel rates and even food and drink at the restaurants!
Back to the property: room 30 was definitely primo. Front covered patio with a fireplace and a sweet view of the city. The property is landscaped nicely with great stonework and plants. The stairs up to this room are mildly perilous and it took a lot of effort for me not to laugh when an older French gentleman slipped and fell on his derriere - hard (insert your own obnoxious French laugh). He was fine so it's ok to laugh.
We had a great experience with the staff. Anything we asked for, we got. Bring us wine glasses, I need a bottle of water, can you build us a fire, more towels, soap, toilet paper, a room heater. The room heater was critical. The first night we shivered ourselves to sleep. Then I figured, let's ask for a space heater. As a spoiled San Diegan, anything under 55 is freezing. The thing stopped working part way through the night, but it was enough to tide the cold weather. I'm not sure how many of these heaters they have, but this is a critical travel tip for this hotel. Have them bring it to your room.
Good hotel overall and a great value ($55 on Expedia). We stayed here 3 nights and then we spent a few nights at Siete Ventanas closer to Plaza de Armas (I'll write a review for here). Rack rate was $110, but my travel partner negotiated them down to $55. They didn't want me to say anything, but all's fare in love and travel . . .

Room Tip: I stayed in room #30 and it seemed like the best option if you're good with one queen bed. It h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurntToast52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Pros: Great view, out of the way neighborhood. Good breakfast. Free computer in the breakfast room. Service isn't particularly warm but is reasonably helpful and accomodating, esp if you make at least an effort to speak Spanish.

Cons: Rooms are damp, quality of the room is hit or miss. Price is a little high (40 USD/night, low season) for the quality. Some rooms have a fireplace, but no wood, matches or instructions. We were freezing at night.

There were some outdoor lounging spots that looked pleasant. Couldn't really say as they were always damp (rain at night in low season).

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stara0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2010

My husband and I were shown the best room, the "matrimonial" with jacuzzi, fireplace, best view. We left some of our luggage for 5 days in advance of our Salkantay Trek. When we got back, we were asked for more money, saying we hadn't paid the full price. Settling in at 1:30am, we discovered there was no running water in the shower, Jacuzzi or toilet. The second night they promised there'd be water. That morning STILL NO WATER. We were furious; they gave us a lower, smaller room and a 20% discount. We said that was insufficient and went to speak to our Inca Tour company to negotiate. They told us the manager said he'd be there himself to talk with us. He never was there I said clearly and in my best Spanish that I would write a terrible review of Casa de Campo, which I just did.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luchahart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cusco hotels

Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed here twice, once for 4 days at the beginning of our trip and once for 2 days at the end. The first room we had was great! (room #30...ask for it if you only need 1 queen bed). The room was spatious, light, and had a porch with a fire place that looked out over the whole city. The second room we had, at the end of our trip, was half the size, no porch, dark, and damp. All rooms are the same price, but every room is different, and some are not worth the $55 USD/night, while others are fantastic. Check the room and ask for another one if you don't like what you are assigned. Stay away from room #21, as it is right next to the front gate and you will hear the doorbell all night long. The included breakfast, European style, was fine for us. Rooms are not heated, but there are down blankets and thick comforters provided. You can also rent a space heater from the front desk, although we didn't find this necessary. Amenities were hit and miss, however. None of the phones in our section worked, and the staff was apparently not aware of this, despite the fact that many guests reported it, because they tried calling us on the phone. The internet was out more than it was functional. The location of breakfast changed randomly. We never had a problem getting hot water, but we heard other guests complain about it not being available at certain times of the day. We didn't mind all the stairs we had to climb, as we are athletes and welcomed the workout, but others might feel differently, especially considering the elevation. Also, the hotel adds 10% if you pay with a credit card, and we were not told about this until we checked out. This is a fairly common practice for Peru, so it is good to be prepared with local currency when possible. The hotel is very quiet, though (unless specific guests are noisy), has gorgeous views, and you are out of the busy tourist zone, but an easy walk into the zone if you wish. The neighborhood has great little cafe's and restaurants, and we felt safe walking at night. It is difficult for taxis to get there, but if you like to walk, you'll be all set.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_lover_2010a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I stayed here twice. Once we had a lovely big room with a fire place and a bath tub. The other time we had a really cramped small room that had no charm at all. Ask to see the room first!
Great views of the city from the breakfast room but not from the bedrooms. There are a lot of stairs and they are kind of dangerous (steep and uneven) - maybe stay away if you are travelling with young kids or are having mobility problems.
I felt it was just a bit too far from the central plaza. Even though it's only a 10 min walk (up some serious stairs), it didn't feel very safe at night.
Breakfast is ok but nothing special, some days there was ham, some days only jam and fruits.
Staff was friendly and helpful when we were there.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chupita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2010

I loved this place! It was great money value. I feel some of the comments are unfair. I have recommended many times and everyone has loved it!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabyfromNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
#45 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tupac Yupanqui Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Del Prado Inn
Del Prado Inn
#88 of 164 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Antawasi Hotel
Antawasi Hotel
#69 of 164 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tecte Guest House
Tecte Guest House
#87 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estancia San Blas
Estancia San Blas
#52 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Campo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Campo Hotel

Property: Casa de Campo Hotel
Address: Tandapata 298 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Campo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa de Campo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Campo Hostal Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing