We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really amazing architecture, but understaffed and poorly maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa de Campo Hotel
Ranked #110 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed 18 September 2012

If you stay here, you'll be glad you did. Its that enchantingly pretty. The entire property perches at the top of the San Blas district (think wayyy uphill) and sprawls up a steep hillside through gardens, trees, and small banconesque patios. Each room is like a little treehouse. Echoing the Incan aesthetic but with more modern, rustic, romantic leanings, the architecture reminds me of something a Hobbit in Lord of the Rings would create over a lifetime. Stones not only form buildings but are also decorative. Tree trunks double as pillars, stepping stones, walls. Climbing flowers and vines drip and festoon archways, peek in windows, spill out of planters and flowerpots. Bamboo and thatch intersperse with adobe, plaster, river rocks. If you book a room at the higher numbers, expect quite a staircase climb to your door. And truly jawdropping views of the city. Most rooms have romantic fireplaces, verandas, and seating areas. BUT the place is understaffed and a bit in disrepair, like all things in Cusco, so if your vanity light does not work, or you can't seem to get the fireplace lit without smoking your entire room out, well... you might be on your own. There was no phone in the room and it was in some common room I didn't know about in the dark. So... I had to climb up and down the steep 6 flights of stairs twice just to get a cup of tea, try to fix the above issues (unfixable) and to get the hot water to work. The affable skeleton crew tries to be helpful but honestly the place needs more caretaking, and more hands. Anyways, stay there if you don't mind some inconveniences. Its gorgeous and incredibly romantic. Also, the location in San Blas inspires you to stroll the district with an eye for the fantastic, which is a much nicer way to approach Cusco than the usual, plodding traveler's practicality.

Room Tip: The rooms near the breakfast area and one level above looked the nicest and most convenient. Any hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sporkbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

We had reserved the Superior suite about 2 months in advance, based on photos, in favour to enjoy a hot jacuzzi and a warm fireplace after the Inca trail - nothing worked!
Hotel staff wasnt able to rectify problem and ruined evening of relaxation while wettening the room and floor with water from the shower hose - an accident apparently. The fireplace only produced smoke, because of wet wood, and no pleasing fire at all

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThorungLa007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We spend 2 nights in Casa de Campo.

We loved having fire in the fire place ! The view from our room and from the breackfast room is gorgeous.

It is a pity that the hotel is a bit noisy in teh morning.

The staff has been helpfull and very kind to us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

OK, we knew about the steps. We did not know that we would have to go down almost all of them to get breakfast or use the internet. There was a fire place in our room, and it was great to sit by it and drink a glass of wine while looking at the view. But the fire did not really heat the bedroom which was cold and drafty. One night there was no water at all. The shower alternated between scalding and freezing. The staff tried to be helpful, but they were very disorganized and seemed not to understand how to be helpful to their guests. The breakfast lacked eggs or pancakes. One morning there was no fire in the breakfast room so we froze as we are a cold breakfast.

It is a great location with nice gardens and excellent view. It was quiet and the bed was comfortable. But for $60 (US dollars) it was over priced.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a fire place if you plan to spend any time in the room in the evening.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank retired_travel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed two nights in April in room #32. The review is lengthy but I try to capture those two days b/c they were memorable.

The room: The room itself has wood floors and is multilevel. Probably hasn't been renovated in 10-15 years. Beds on top floor and the living and bathroom on the lower level. No views of Cuzco from the bedroom area was disappointing. You can peek your head out the front door or walk down to a little garden to see the city. The bathroom is old with a shower head that barely controls the fire hose like water pressure. There was hot water so can't complain there. No wifi in the room only at the breakfast place. For some reason they took the tv out of the room after we got there, not sure why but we were so tired that we forgot to ask. Couldn't call down because the phone didn't work. We also wanted the room because it had a fireplace but it was on the lower level so you couldn't enjoy it from the bedroom area and you basically get smoke in the room and on all of your clothes when it is on. So again we paid for the view and fireplace but received neither without effort. I'm sure one room has those items like on the website but it wasn't this one.

Breakfast: Breakfast is pretty basic, some cut tomatoes, avocados, fruit, cereal, yogurt, breads and spreads. Tea, coffee and some juices.

Hiking to & from room: We are in our 30s and relatively athletic so I'd warn anyone who isn't relatively fit to stay here. We came for the view but you really have to work to get to your room. The views are amazing and worthwhile but exhausting to get to. From the street you need to walk up 3-4 flights of steps and in altitude that's no small thing. Then you arrive at reception. The staff is nice and carried the bags from the airport to the room, otherwise I might of had a heart attack. (literally). From reception to the breakfast area there are more flights of steps where they have an endless supply of cocoa tea to help you with the altitude. From the breakfast room to our room is another ten or more flights of steps. It could have been more. Needless to say it is a hike to stay in that room. I believe we had one of the highest rooms.

Hotel setup tour: When you first arrive they will pitch you on possible tours. We didn't have anything planned so we went on a half day tour to various ruins but probably should have taken it easy and acclimatized for the remainder of the day as altitude sickness hit me hard that evening. The tour they put us on did take us to the sites as promised but the group we were in was filled with all Spanish speakers but us. The guide would speak English about 25% of the time but i speak Spanish and realized he was leaving out quite a few details that the Spanish speakers would received.

Overall: So overall a disappointing experience just due to the effort to get to and from the room. Downhill to the main plaza is 10-15 minutes away. Stay down there like we did the next time and take a cab or hike up for the view. Lastly, the hotel picked us up from the airport but would not drop us off at the train station when we headed to machu picchu because they said we would be returning to Cuzco after machu picchu and could use the service then. But I told them we were not returning to the hotel (originally yes but I cancelled) and staying at another hotel. The ride to the train station or other hotel was 10 soles, nothing I was willing to argue over any longer but just left another sour taste from our experience there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fred g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Enjoyed my stay at Casa de Campo with its aerie-like views and understanding staff. Nice breakfast, comfortable beds and peaceful garden setting. Quiet part of Cusco and only minutes walk from good restaurants and Plaza San Blas. The climb to to the top level of rooms is a killer with un-acclimatized lungs!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank wineryOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

$45 dollars a night in Peru is good money. We arrived at the end of the road and walked the last 200 meters to the hotel suffering from altitude sickness, this hostel is at the top of the hill near enough and a hard walk with sickness. They have posh gates and pebbles cemented to the walls, everything was looking good when we got in reception. We done the inca trail to our room which was on the same floor as the breakfast room and the last one, not sure of the number. It has metal stairs to the right of the room that sound every time someone walks up or down with that's horrid metal stair sound, . Underneath is the kitchen and if you like the clank of plates, your going to love this room. To the left of the room is the water heater that makes a water pump sound every time someone in the hostel uses hot water. I had the luxury of what I could only decide at 2 am in the morning was a fashion show going on in the room above me, as all they did was walk up and down, up and down. At 5.30 I was awoking by the staff making breakfast with the coffee grinder going 9 to the dozen. Worst nights sleep in Peru. The room was 12 feet by 10 feet and was really crap, the beds didn't reach the walls, the curtains did nothing and so on. Anyway, when I went to complain, the guy on reception seemed to find my dismay funny and just stood with a moronic grin on his face. After seeing the girl and explaining our thoughts, she moved us and dropped $10 off our bill. No one in the hostel seemed happy but they did have hot water and wifi if you were in the the breakfast room, good breakfast, best we had in a hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casona Real Hotel
La Casona Real Hotel
#95 of 171 in Cusco
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
6.6 mi away
Fuente de Agua Hotel
Fuente de Agua Hotel
#91 of 171 in Cusco
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Andean South Inn
Andean South Inn
#98 of 171 in Cusco
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wakapunku Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#11 of 171 in Cusco
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Campo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Campo Hotel

Address: Tandapata 298 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: £38 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Campo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa de Campo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Campo Hostal Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing