We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of Cusco - if you get up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa de Campo Hotel
Ranked #109 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view of Cusco - if you get up”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Design is nice, breakfast ok (fireplace!), staff most of the time very helful. The location isn't very good and rooms are small. It's not so far from the center but quite high, so you really have to catch your breath to get up there. But once you're there you have a great view over the city of Cusco.

Room Tip: If you have problems with the altitude, ask for a room which isn't too high. Since the hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peru_Lover_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    54
    25
    24
    18
See reviews for
28
66
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The location, character and texture of this hotel easily outweigh the negatives. Situated vertically on a hillside just the other side of Sacsayhuaman ruins, commanding views of Cusco are spectacular. Bring your panoramic camera!

Its all downhill to San Blas and the Plaza de Armas. A taxi back from the square is only about S7, if you just can't climb back, although we usually made the walk. Lots of eats and drinks and services on Calle Choquechaca on the way to the Historical District.

By the time we left on 6/24, the street out front was being patched up from the weeks of maintenance which forced taxis to park below and forcing an extra 2 blocks of climbing. But one will be forced to climb some steps once inside and the higher you go the better the view. In my 50's, it did take about 3 days before I became acclimated to the altitude. The coca leaves helped.

Bathrooms are cramped and leaky. Space heaters in the rooms are unreliable. Plank walkways telegraphed every step. Amenities are almost nonexistent.

But I fell in love with this place and would stay here again. The staff was energetic and helpful. The location (view) is unbeatable.

.

Room Tip: Ask for a fireplace. Ask about the climb to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mycle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

A very awesome hotel with great views of the city and very friendly staff. Roxanne was a very friendly host!! The hotel is located really close to the Cusco historical square. There is a few stairs to negotiate but the view is well worth the work.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howardbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We recently spent our first four days in Cusco at Casa de Campo. This hotel sits on the side of a hill in the San Blas area of Cusco and has great views of the city. It has very interesting architecture - I'm guessing that it has expanded as business allowed - and the result is a number of rooms on varying levels that cover a considerable portion of a hillside. Gardens surround the rooms with the reception area being on the bottom level and a breakfast room about mid way up the property that looks out onto the city. The hotel offers a good breakfast each morning, which includes cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, bread, jam, and cheese. The rooms are relatively small, clean and cozy and the floors are tile (no rugs), which can be quite chilly during the winter months; however, a space heater was provided. The bathrooms are functional and offer hot showers. We found the staff to be very nice and accommodating. Our group required three rooms, and when one room was not acceptable due to size, they quickly found us another room that worked. They also provide a reasonable laundry service, which we were very pleased with. This hotel is located in a great area of town - it's quiet, convenient to shops and restaurants, and not far from the Plaza de Armas.

Room Tip: Be aware that you must be prepared to climb many stairs to get to some of the rooms on the upper lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We had a great time staying here at Casa de Campo in Cusco. The rooms were very home grown, fun, artistic and comfortable. We had a fireplace in our room where the staff lit a fire for us on 2 nights. Great breakfasts every morning in a glass enclosed room with stunning views of Cusco below.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

As a group of 6, (a couple and 4 boys - 3 teenagers and 1 preteen), we had rooms 11 and 12 at Casa de Campo for 3 nights, with one night away between the second and third nights. I had made reservations at this hotel prior to reading reviews about it. After reading the reviews, I decided to keep our reservations because it sounded interesting and a little adventuresome. Turned out we really liked the hotel, and the location was great in the San Blas neighborhood. This was the boys' favorite hotel of our trip. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the beds were great. Nice thick comforters meant we didn't need the heater at night. The few times we showered, we had no problems with water pressure and had plenty of hot water. The coca tea was available at all hours in the breakfast room, and it was a big help when the altitude led to a draggy feeling. From the hotel we walked down to the plaza de armas several times, as well as up to the Sacsaywamán ruins. The hotel included airport transport, which made getting to and from the hotel quite convenient. There are many great places to eat within easy walking distance of the hotel, as well as small markets where we bought sandwich makings, treats, water, inka cola. The hotel has lots of little sitting areas, some of which are covered. The staff at this hotel is very helpful, and like all places we stayed, has very limited English. (Not unexpected, and not a problem for us.) As other reviews have indicated, the hotel architecture is amazing, as are the views from the upper levels. One morning we had to leave early for our trip to Machu Picchu, so the hotel made breakfast available early, which was very nice. This hotel is not fancy, and requires a good amount of physical mobility to navigate, both of which add to its charm. We really loved our time here and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We only had rooms 11 and 12, but were quite happy with them. We never heard any noise from any other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebAlbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campo Grande, AL
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The hotel is a bit disorganized. We booked a superior room, a suite, and they gave us a standart room. At the check out time the hotel wanted to charge for the more expensive room. Besides, we had to fight in order to have a parking lot (the booking website shows the parking to be free!). It has many stairs to reach the rooms (it can be a problem), but the view of the rooms is wonderful. However, the hotel's decor is unique and we would recommend it to younger people who want a little distance from the noise of the main square.

O hotel é bonito, mas um pouco desorganizado! Nós reservamos pelo site um quarto superior, com lareira e etc e quando chegamos deram-nos um quarto mediano. Tivemos que brigar e muito para não pagar o estacionamento, enquanto no site diz ser de graça. Para ir para os quartos tem que subir muitas escadas (pode ser problema por conta da falta de ar). A vista dos quartos são maravilhosas. O hotel fica em local silencioso, mas um pouco distande dos locais centrais (pouco).

You can find hotel cheaper with the same quality.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.7 mi away
Ninos Hotel Fierro
Ninos Hotel Fierro
#45 of 167 in Cusco
173 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sonnenthal Cusco
Hotel Sonnenthal Cusco
#96 of 167 in Cusco
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#13 of 167 in Cusco
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa Esmeralda by Ananay Hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#37 of 167 in Cusco
436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#64 of 167 in Cusco
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Campo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Campo Hotel

Property: Casa de Campo Hotel
Address: Tandapata 298 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Campo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa de Campo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Campo Hostal Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing