We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Nearby Hotels
US$425
US$395
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Torre Dorada(Cusco)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$370
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
US$109
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$93
US$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
308
173
41
27
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
173
41
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft stylebreakfast roomfree pisco soursopera singersmachu picchuthe main squareeggs made to orderquiet streetbreadbeautiful courtyardloved this hotelfiltered waterhotel restaurantquiet hoteluphill walkprivate tourairport pickup
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. It's super convenient to the main Plaza de Armas and, while the streets seem narrow and cramped, it's a bit of an oasis. There is a main center courtyard and grounds out back as well. The breakfast room has a nice view over the city. I stayed in 2 different rooms while I was here and although the first one seemed like a bit of a cave, the second one had a nice view from the window. The rooms I stayed in were also 2 story which I had never seen before with the beds upstairs and a futon and the bathroom downstairs. The beds are right next to each other so if you are staying with a friend you will have your own bed, but it's close! The bar downstairs was my favorite part - a great place to hang out and have a drink. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very helpful and pleasant although it's best if you know Spanish because their English is not very good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for your comments.
In addition to our breakfast area having an excellent view of the city, you can also enjoy a delicious varied buffet with eggs cooked to order, either fried or scrambled.
Our guest rooms of either one or two floors are always able to meet the comfort needs of our clients.
Guests can enjoy our famous pisco sour in our bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel did not meet our expectations. During our stay between May 17 and 19 and, then again, between May 20 and 21, the entire place seemed vacant of staff and guests. The rooms were dark and dingy. The bathroom fixtures seemed rusty and old. In addition, the central heating did not work and the room was frigid during the night. The only redeeming feature is the hotel's proximity to the Plaza de Armas. This place could use a major renovation. I would definitely not recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SFGlobeTrotter71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for your comments
Our hotel is designed and located to provide our guests with tranquility, in a haven of peace and quiet away from the city’s noise and pollution.
The heating is central and functions during specific hours. If you need more warmth, we have room heaters available in reception.
The hotel is in an antique colonial mansion. We have tried to create modern rooms within the restrictions of a heritage building but the modifications we can make are limited.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I stayed here for one night at the tail end of a 6 day trip to Machu Picchu and the Sacred Valley due to an early flight out of Cusco the next morning. I wasn't expecting much given that I was only looking for a place to sleep ahead of my flight, but was pleasantly surprised by all the little extras the hotel included to make my stay extra special.

The room itself was what you would expect in the price range - clean and comfortable, but very basic. They didn't have any televisions in any of the rooms at the hotel. The plus side is that the room itself was a huge loft with 3 beds (two upstairs and one downstairs). If you're travelling with family or friends and are planning on sharing rooms anyway it could be a consideration.

What I particularly liked about this hotel was all the little extra amenities they provided. Upon walking into the hotel a friendly reception person greeted me, took my bag, and asked me to have a seat in the charming courtyard. He proceeded to check me in and explain the features of the hotel and surrounding area in great detail. The only other time I've been checked in like this was at a 5 star luxury resort. The room came with free wifi, complimentary welcome drinks at the bar, continental breakfast and one way airport transportation. The staff member made an excellent dinner recommendation and when I came back the heater in my room had been turned on and the beds turned down with little chocolates left on the pillows! The staff seemed to really go out of their way to make every guest feel special and make sure everyone's needs were taken care of. It should also be noted that every staff member spoke great English.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

We are completely satisfied knowing that we were able to make your stay in our hotel memorable.
We know that small details and extras we provide are of importance to our guests.Our main concern is that our guests feel at home in our hotel during their stay, making their visit pleasant and unforgettable.
We hope that you will return to stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

It’a a lovely place in Cusco, very close to everything in the downtown, but on a very silent street. We’were 3 in a very warm roof room. Very friendly service, starting from the offering of mate de coca at your arrival, to trying to acclimatize for the altitude. Beautiful little courtyard! The breakfast is good, as well as some drinks from the bar. Ok, from check-in onward. The beds comfortable with good sheets et al. The hotel is old but very well maintained. Very good location, great value for the price. And you’re next door at one of the most interesting restaurant: Divina Commedia. Enjoy both! hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grabitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divina Comedia R, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013
Google Translation

Estimada Grabitaly
Agradecemos tu tiempo en compartir tu opinión sobre nuestro hotel, ciertamente nuestro hotel está ubicado a solo dos cuadras de la plaza principal, lo cual facilita la rápida movilización de nuestros huéspedes. Así mismo nuestro restaurante, les ofrece una experiencia única, shows de opera en vivo, piano, también el cálido jazz bar del cual pudieron disfrutar. El personal de nuestra agencia de viajes esta siempre dispuesto a asesorar, brindar información y organizar las excursiones que nuestros huéspedes soliciten. Estaremos encantados de volver a recibirlos y seguimos trabajando para mejorar, gracias a huéspedes encantadores como usted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights either side of the inca trail trek. The first nights were good but after returning for the second stay they had booking problems and did not have us in their system despite having stayed a few nights earlier and left some baggage there. We booked a suite and instead of telling us that they had made a mistake, they took us to a different room and tried to convince us that this was the room we booked. I would have walked down the road and checked in elsewhere if I hadn't already paid through ebookers.

They apologised in the morning and offered us a choice between a free meal in the restaurant or a refund for the difference in room price. This would have been fine but We chose the refund and were immediately told that this was not actually an option.

A few days after our stay there they emailed me to offer us a refund of one nights stay in the hotel. I accepted their offer and had no reply so emailed them a few weeks later and again no response. This would have all been fine of they had just been honest from the start and admitted their mistake and not lied or made us empty promises. Instead, the staff were very rude to us and it ruined our stay in Cuzco. It seems a few other reviewers have experienced similar problems. I can only recommend you don't waste your money in arqueologo

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tkshrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

We had a failure with you to not give your refund time of the stay of one night as it is a submission with such refunds management, but the refund was made five months ago. Also included will be a dinner in the restaurant is important to clarify that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews