We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Ranked #44 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
GreenLeadersGold level
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good and pleasant”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Walking to this hotel can be quite far from the main city square in Cusco. However, it's nice and peaceful and the hotel itself is charming and full of character.
The rooms are tastefully designed but at night, it can be a bit noisy. Cusco is one of the most touristy cities in the world so it's to be expected.
The morning breakfast, the bar and the restaurant are good - room service also does great food! The internet connection is good too! Service is good and the staff speak English which is helpful.
There is no swimming pool and the laundry service is very slow. We were promised our clothes in one day but it took two!
However, this is a great hotel and deserves recommendation.
The hotel is in close proximity to Mali, the pre-Colombian museum which is well worth a visit. And the restaurants nearby are also fantastic! Make sure you go in advance owing to flocks of tourists filling up the tables by 8pm!

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet overall but we found staff walking on the wooden floorboards upstairs at night to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nilmadole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel e, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.
I would like to mention that we are located just 2 blocks from the Main Square of the city.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    161
    39
    24
    12
See reviews for
90
225
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The good: really nice environment with lots of artistic touches. There is a great cozy lobby lounge with a fire and comfortable couches. Breakfast is good. The bathrooms have their own heaters, nice warm showers, and blow driers which are good for chilly Cusco. The 2 rooms we stayed in both had lofts with the bed upstairs and a futon couch on the first level (good for families). The restaurant is really good and reasonable priced. Have dinner here even you don't stay here. The location is good but does require a small climb. Quiet area.

The bad: our first night was absolutely freezing. There are radiators in each room but they were not working. They promote having space heaters and televisions available but neither was the case when we asked. A staff person was sent to check the heater and were told it was okay but the next night was only a little better. We finally moved rooms the 3rd night and found a reasonable room (not warm but not freezing). The rooms require that a key be placed in a slot to activate the power. Once in the room after dark it was tricky to lock the door since the key was needed for lock but that left us in the dark trying to find the keyhole. The light switches are awkwardly placed. You need to fumble around the bathroom on the opposite wall or get out of bed to switch off a light.

Our final disappointment was requesting 2 more nights for our return from the sacred valley and being told we were all set. When we returned, the hotel was full and no one had held a room for us. We found this very unprofessional and a waste of time and taxi fare. They called another hotel but the rate was very high so it was not much help.

Rates in Cusco are higher but for the price, this hotel needs to improve their offerings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank designcunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel e, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments. The commitment of Arqueologo Exclusive Selection Hotel is to give the best to our guests and your overall impressions about your stay in our hotel are very important to us.
Based on our regular’s guest’s comments, their experiences may be different from yours but, however, it is crucial for us to know the reasons why we couldn’t achieve your expectations, so we can take special attention to each one.

Concerning the radiators, during your first nigth at the hotel we had some problems with our heating system at midnight and our technicians took care in the morning and the problem was fixed and also in each room we have an extra blanket to be used. Once you let us know about the problem we gave you all of the facilities to be more confortable your staying with us. that`s why we moved to another room for the next night.

Concerning the key, Once the key was placed in the card holder the eletricity is activated and you find the ligth switches next to your bed , in the bathroon and next to the door.

When you made your check out you told us that you were going to decided stay or not after of your visit to sacred valley because unfortunatly we did not meet your expectations so we did not reserve a room for the day that you returned.

However, we deeply value your comments and sincerely apologize if we didn´t meet your expectations and we hope that you might get back to cusco and We can guaranty you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus, reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers usually rank

Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were two friends staying at the Hotel Arqueologo and enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was genuine and friendly. The hotel itself was very pretty, although the spiral staircase in the room seemed (at first) a cruel joke at that altitude! Housekeeping was impeccable. We always had nice, warm showers. David makes the most incredible eggs in the morning, and it's a lovely, sun-filled spot to sit for breakfast(which was included). The walk to the main plaza is very easy, and the location was much more quiet. We were there during Semana Santa, so that certainly accounted for much of the activity on the Plaza de Armas. Definitely glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel e, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here. in April 2014, at the beginning and end of our visit to Cusco, The Sacred Valley, and Machu Picchu. The staff at this boutique-style hotel is extremely accommodating and friendly. Both rooms were clean and comfortable. The one on ground level had a charming window view. Don't overlook dinner at the Divina Comedy restaurant, where the service, and food are very good. If you're an opera lover ( I'm not), you can be entertained at dinner by members of the local opera company on Friday nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickDBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garnet valley,pa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

What can I say,this charming boutique property was wonderful! We stayed here from 6 april-12 april 2014. We are the kind of travelers that wing it.We have alist of potentials but we decide when we arrive.My husband chose this one and it was perfect.The price was right for a small hotel,no tv but wifi(although that was its one downfall...spotty) The big fancy hotels are next door and look lovely if you are on an Abercrombie budget(400-600/night) We are are on the 100-200 us /night budget. We got a charming 2 story abode with small table and sleeper sofa downstairs ans bamboo ceiling loft upstairs,a small Juliet balcony open to a quiet side street downstairs,great bath w plenty of hot water!Great location a stones throw from the main square, yet far enough to be very quiet. Breakfast is includes an they had eggs made to order plus bread fruit yogurt cereal coffee,coca tea,etc..very nice.The courtyard is charming and at night they have heaters to take the chill out.The bar had great décor and even if I was the only on there emailing they would stoke up a fire in the fire place. They held our extra luggage while we overnighted in MAPI.And gave us a similar room on the return. NOw ...on the return I had HORRIBLE altitude sickness.The staff was very attentive and made sure that I had O2 all night and anything else that I needed until I could leave on sat.Our hosts were Alfredo and Linzay and they were terrific.We could not have chosen a more lovely place to stay!

Room Tip: Room 404 is great..402 is similar but the bathroom shower floor tends to get very wet.both rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idiversue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing us your comments. The commitment of the Arqueologo Exclusive hotel is to give the best to our guests and your overall impressions about your stay in our Boutique hotel are very important to us.

Sincerely

Joel Evrard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Although there has been problems with water the first day we'd arrived - the one who's in charge had forgotten to start the engine so i had to wait 1.5hs to take a shower, and the second day they have forgotten to turn on the heather so my husband showered with cold water but thanks to Javier they've upgraded our room to a suite to cover the inconvenience.... Both rooms that we'd stayed were pretty with comfy beds and nice linens... The most of the stuff was very helpful...


Aunque hubo un problema de corte del agua el primer día que llegamos, y el segunda día otra problema de agua caliente, gracias a Javier de la recepción nos ofrecieron el suite con la misma tarifa para recuperarlos... Los dos habitaciones que nos quedamos fueron bonitos tenían camas comodísimas y sabanas de buena calidad... Los empleados generalmente son muy amables...

Room Tip: the room above the reception has a better wifi connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_guran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Huesped,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments. The commitment of the Arqueologo Exclusive is to give the best to our guests and your overall impressions about your stay in our Hotel are very important to us.

Concerning about the water in the room unfortunatly we had technical problems with our water tank, our receptionist tried to tell you what happened and we rarely have problems with hot water in the room and the proof is once we fixed the problem we were able to meet your expectations

However, we deeply value your comments and sincerely apologize if we didn´t meet your expectations in your first day in our hotel. We can guaranty you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus, reinforcing our renowned service quality and our facilities with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers usually rank.

Sincerely
Joel Evrard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

As mentioned, the hotel is beautiful with a lot of character, definitely not the average hotel. The staff was helpful in arranging taxis and very responsive via email-- UNTIL we discovered they had charge us for the room even though we'd paid in advance online. All of my emails to the formerly prompt and responsive staff regarding the refund to our card have been pointedly IGNORED. I would just cancel the card but we are traveling abroad for another week so they could be robbing us as I type. Also, when I went to pay a 5 sol bar tab at check out the front desk "didn't have change" and I THINK he was trying to hustle me to pay him 10 soles since that's the smallest bill I had. Also, the restaurant which had great reviews and a great looking menu in the hotel room was "broken"; although the breakfast in the morning is great-- although it does NOT start at 6am, so if you have an early flight be aware you will leave hungry.

Our experience was disappointing because we loved the hotel / location before all of the mishaps and possible fraud.

Room Tip: The 2nd story suites are incredible, so definitely ask for one. MAKE SURE you tell them you paid in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlsPassthePinot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments. The commitment of Arqueologo Exclusive Selection is to give the best to our guests and your overall impressions about your stay in our property are very important to us.
Based on our regular’s guest’s comments, their experiences may be different from yours but, however, it is crucial for us to know the reasons why we couldn’t achieve your expectations, so we can take special attention to each one.

Firstly thanks for the hotel`s description, concerning about the charge to your credit, we did not charge any amount to your credit card in your check out time because we knew in advance that you had paid your reservations through the website ORBITZ, we asked to our recepcionist about your case and none of the receptionist asked for your credit card during your staying at the hotel and also we send you an email explaining that we did not get and answer further we check your file and there was nothing! Please could you check your account movement and you will realize that we did not make any charge. We even did not charge you your bill ( 01 still bottle of water ) of the restaurant because we did not have enough change.
Concerning about the breakfast,Our breakfast time is from 06:00 am and our staff is always aware if any of our guests could need help. We also provide continental breakfast to our guests before 6:00 am if our guests let us know in advance.

However, we deeply value your comments and sincerely apologize if we maybe did not meet your expectations.
Please if you might need anything send us an email in order to help you.

Sincerely.

Hotel Arquelogo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 164 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection

Property: Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Address: Calle Pumacurco 408, Cusco 08000, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cusco
#35 Family Hotel in Cusco
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arqueologo is situated just a five-minute walk from Cusco's Main Square "Plaza de Armas", in the traditional San Cristobal neighborhood, with its narrow streets and Inca walls, colonial-era balconies and baroque churches. During the Inca period, our street was one of the main avenues of the imperial capital, connecting the center of the city with the great fortress of Saqsaywaman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arqueologo Exclusive Selection Cusco
Arqueologo Exclusive Selection Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing