We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Ranked #41 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
GreenLeadersGold level
Beijing, China
1 review
“Excellent place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Beautiful hotel, clean and big room, delicious breakfast ,very very nice employee. Just stand the palace armas. It's definitely my wise choice!! There is heater in the room,so it's warm. Cocktails of the bar is charming.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fengjie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Arqueologo, Guest Relation at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Mrs Fengjie

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion and thanks for your preference we invite you to visit Cusco again and visit more places that you already had been and we will be happy to have you with us again.

Best Regards

Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    159
    36
    24
    12
See reviews for
87
223
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

After 2 weeks of staying in hostels and trecking I needed some relaxation for my last two nights in Cusco. I treated myself to a loft style suite - room 409 - which was perfect. The bed was very comfortable and there was a lovely view. The staff here are super friendly and helpful and the breakfast which is included is great. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Shockers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Arqueologo, Guest Relation at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion
We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberec Region, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

nice place and nice people. Just arriving did not have a heating on and the second time was no hot water in the bathroom. But they shifted me to one other and everything was good. Nice calm place with cozy design, clean rooms...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ursula7340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Ursula,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments, we are glad that we meet meet your expectations. however let me explain about the hot water and our central system heating.

Concerning these points in february is low season in Peru so we decided to some improvements in the hotel so that's why was the problem with some rooms.

As soon as we knew the problem we moved to another room and we fixed the problem

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely

Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Vadick and Martin make the best drinks in the bar/ lounge. Sit by the fire and enjoy the ambiance or chat up the bartenders for an excellent night staying in the hotel while in Cusco. Also has very nice outdoor spaces and a sunroom with a great view of the city where you can eat your breakfast¡

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Ms Rachel,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to describe the different areas of the hotel and also the service of our staff.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel provides you with everything you need: amazing service,good brakfast, cosy rooms and comfortable beds. You can also leave you're luggage there for the trip to machu piccu... I highly recommend this place! Price is also good.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaboooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Walking to this hotel can be quite far from the main city square in Cusco. However, it's nice and peaceful and the hotel itself is charming and full of character.
The rooms are tastefully designed but at night, it can be a bit noisy. Cusco is one of the most touristy cities in the world so it's to be expected.
The morning breakfast, the bar and the restaurant are good - room service also does great food! The internet connection is good too! Service is good and the staff speak English which is helpful.
There is no swimming pool and the laundry service is very slow. We were promised our clothes in one day but it took two!
However, this is a great hotel and deserves recommendation.
The hotel is in close proximity to Mali, the pre-Colombian museum which is well worth a visit. And the restaurants nearby are also fantastic! Make sure you go in advance owing to flocks of tourists filling up the tables by 8pm!

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet overall but we found staff walking on the wooden floorboards upstairs at night to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nilmadole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel e, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.
I would like to mention that we are located just 2 blocks from the Main Square of the city.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The good: really nice environment with lots of artistic touches. There is a great cozy lobby lounge with a fire and comfortable couches. Breakfast is good. The bathrooms have their own heaters, nice warm showers, and blow driers which are good for chilly Cusco. The 2 rooms we stayed in both had lofts with the bed upstairs and a futon couch on the first level (good for families). The restaurant is really good and reasonable priced. Have dinner here even you don't stay here. The location is good but does require a small climb. Quiet area.

The bad: our first night was absolutely freezing. There are radiators in each room but they were not working. They promote having space heaters and televisions available but neither was the case when we asked. A staff person was sent to check the heater and were told it was okay but the next night was only a little better. We finally moved rooms the 3rd night and found a reasonable room (not warm but not freezing). The rooms require that a key be placed in a slot to activate the power. Once in the room after dark it was tricky to lock the door since the key was needed for lock but that left us in the dark trying to find the keyhole. The light switches are awkwardly placed. You need to fumble around the bathroom on the opposite wall or get out of bed to switch off a light.

Our final disappointment was requesting 2 more nights for our return from the sacred valley and being told we were all set. When we returned, the hotel was full and no one had held a room for us. We found this very unprofessional and a waste of time and taxi fare. They called another hotel but the rate was very high so it was not much help.

Rates in Cusco are higher but for the price, this hotel needs to improve their offerings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank designcunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel e, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments. The commitment of Arqueologo Exclusive Selection Hotel is to give the best to our guests and your overall impressions about your stay in our hotel are very important to us.
Based on our regular’s guest’s comments, their experiences may be different from yours but, however, it is crucial for us to know the reasons why we couldn’t achieve your expectations, so we can take special attention to each one.

Concerning the radiators, during your first nigth at the hotel we had some problems with our heating system at midnight and our technicians took care in the morning and the problem was fixed and also in each room we have an extra blanket to be used. Once you let us know about the problem we gave you all of the facilities to be more confortable your staying with us. that`s why we moved to another room for the next night.

Concerning the key, Once the key was placed in the card holder the eletricity is activated and you find the ligth switches next to your bed , in the bathroon and next to the door.

When you made your check out you told us that you were going to decided stay or not after of your visit to sacred valley because unfortunatly we did not meet your expectations so we did not reserve a room for the day that you returned.

However, we deeply value your comments and sincerely apologize if we didn´t meet your expectations and we hope that you might get back to cusco and We can guaranty you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus, reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers usually rank

Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#7 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#105 of 162 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection

Property: Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Address: Calle Pumacurco 408, Cusco 08000, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cusco
#35 Family Hotel in Cusco
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arqueologo is situated just a five-minute walk from Cusco's Main Square "Plaza de Armas", in the traditional San Cristobal neighborhood, with its narrow streets and Inca walls, colonial-era balconies and baroque churches. During the Inca period, our street was one of the main avenues of the imperial capital, connecting the center of the city with the great fortress of Saqsaywaman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arqueologo Exclusive Selection Cusco
Arqueologo Exclusive Selection Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing