We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old world charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Ranked #41 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
GreenLeadersGold level
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
169 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“old world charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

this is a lovely old hotel with an interesting history. we gather it is built on Inca ruins. The room was beautiful with doors out to a nice balcony. we stayed here twice but on the secongd occaision they offered us another room that was no where near as nice but we were able to move to the room we stayed in on the first visit. staff are very good and helpful with good english. the hotel is just a short walk from the main square although at this altitude it can leave you a little breathles.The restaurant is very good with excellent food and choice. it is not run by the hotel but a seperate operator. if you want to eat in the garden they will deliver the food to you.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OskarandSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Arqueologo, Director General at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear guest.

Many thanks for sharing this comment. We are glad you have enjoyed our facilities, especially our restaurant. The quite atmosphere of this colonial building is ideal for resting. It has been a pleasure to have you. We look forward to see you soon.

Joel Evrard
General director
Arqueologo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    160
    38
    24
    12
See reviews for
88
224
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinnelon, NJ
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

For a bit less than some of the more 'name' hotels in San Blas (certainly the nicest area to stay in Cusco) this little place has lots of character. It's just a tad off the beaten path in Blas, so you'll huff and puff a bit more when you come up from the Plaza de Armes. Nice staff, good breakfast. We stayed in room 105 on our first two nights (OK, but not great, and the dogs kept us awake) and room 403 on the return (larger and very nice superior room). Like a lot of colonial buildings in the area, the hotel has a lovely courtyard which, sadly for us, was still covered by a canvas that is strung over the courtyard during the rainy season. The rooms have a lot of character, no two are the same. This is a great spot from which to explore Cusco. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltroel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Arqueologo, Director General at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear guest.
We want to thank you for your time to share this comment. We are glad that you liked our hotel location safe and close to the main square, likewise close enough to shops and restaurants. We have improved our service, giving incentives to our staff, so that they can work better. Once more thank you for your opinion, it will help us to follow working and improve our service.

Joel Evrard
General manager
Arqueologo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Arqueologo, despite the rough start. We had signed up for the airport pickup and had confirmed it TWICE (and right before) we left for our trip. When we arrived at the airport no one was there with a sign waiting for us. We were flustered and ended up taking an expensive taxi to the hotel (we had mistakenly bypassed getting picked up by our tour operator because we had confirmed with the hotel and thought they would be reliable). We spoke to someone at the airport who said "AH yes, Hotel Arqueologo never picks up people... they always do this"... so just be forewarned and arrange a pickup service with someone else if you want it!

When we got to the hotel the woman looked at us like she had no clue someone was supposed to pick us up.... we kept pushing her and we ended up getting refunded (in cash) the amount we spent on the taxi.

After all of this, we still enjoyed the hotel. The room was spacious and clean and the location was up a slight hill but still close to everywhere. I would recommend, just not recommend relying on them for the airport pickup!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Arqueologo, Director General at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear guest.
Thank you very much for sharing this comment. We are glad that you liked our hotel location safe and close to the main square, likewise close enough to shops and restaurants. Our hotel offers airport pick up service for $ 10.00, for which you have to provide your flight details. In case of flight changes you will have to report the change, if do not we can not pick it up, because the service is personalized. Once more thank you for your opinion, it will help us to improve our service

Joel Evrard
General manager
Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

The hotel is a decent place to bunk whilst in Cusco. The design is very much Peruvian, with generous space in the room and beds are located on the second floor loft. Sheets are clean and the room & toilet are well maintained. The hotel staff are also friendly and efficient. It is a mere 10 minute stroll to the main square. Take note that there is no television or telephone in the room. The only issue we had was with the low water pressure. There is also free internet service in the reception.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerriChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Arqueologo, Director General at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear guest.

Thank you very much for sharing this comment. Certainly our facilities is set up in a colonial building, with two beautiful courtyards, located close to the main square. Most rooms have no TV, because we are a break hotel, but if you require it, we will be willing to provide one without any charge. We look forward to have you back soon.

Joel Evrard
General director
Arqueologo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

we stayed for 2 nights. we practically had to get down on hands and knees to get some heat in the room. the staff tried to help but apparently th hotel only has one or 2 heaters. small, average room.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MauiViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Arqueologo, Director General at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear guest.
Thank you for writing this opinion. Our rooms have central heating incorporated, if it is not enough is provided an additional electric heater, and an extra blanket. thank you for your opinion, it will help us to improve our service.

Joel Evrard
General manager
Arqueologo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

We loved our stay at the Arqueologo. The rooms are luxurious and modern. Ours felt like a modern but cozy cabin in Colorado. All western amenities! Plasma TV, hair dryer, the BEST bed and linens (like sleeping in a cloud). At sunset, it got a little chilly. A chambermaid would knock our door every evening to close the curtains and turn the heater on. Nice touch. We got a room on the 2nd floor. Spacious! Beautiful wooden floors. Modern bathroom, plenty of hot water, a heater, plush robes, slippers, plenty of closet space and drawers.

Breakfast included. Plenty of fresh fruit (papaya, bananas, apples, cantaloupe), yogurt, cereals, freshly squeezed OJ, "ok" coffee, variety of teas, honey, eggs (any way you want them), ham, "ok" bread, good jams.
Free internet access (1 or 2 computers available in the front desk area). I checked my email every night. There was never any body using the computers.
Location was great. Close enough to the main square (5 min walk) but far away enough from the loud crowds at night.
They also have a secure closet where you can leave your luggage after checkout if needed.
The rate vs value was very good ... specially after staying at another hotel in Cusco. Should have stayed all nights here.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culture-hip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Arqueologo, Director General at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear guest.

Thank you so much for this excellent review. We are really glad that you have enjoyed our rooms, service and location, close to the main square, shops and restaurants. We want to make your staying the best possible. It has been a pleasure to have you here. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Joel Evrard
General director
Arqueologo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
196 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

The pluses for this hotel: Only a few blocks from Plaza de Armas (the main town square), and slightly charming local decor.
The minuses? Clunky amenities. You have to set the hot water heater before getting hot water. No telephone in the room. Not much in terms of service. The breakfast was lousy.
To sum it up, its a tourist-class hotel with no frills. The location and price might make it worthwhile, if you will be out all the time as it wasn't exactly somewhere I wanted to come back to me besides sleeping.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Arqueologo, Director General at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear guest.
Many thanks for your opinion about our hotel. We are glad that you liked our hotel location safe and close to the main square, likewise close enough to shops and restaurants. We already have a more varied buffet breakfast consisting of: a variety of breads, cereals, assorted fruit, juices (pineapple and orange), hot drinks, excellent coffee, 3 types of jams, eggs cooked in front of you in several versions, several types of cheese, ham and olives etc. Thank you for your opinion, it will help us to improve our service.

Joel Evrard
General manager
Arqueologo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#17 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 163 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection

Property: Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Address: Calle Pumacurco 408, Cusco 08000, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cusco
#35 Family Hotel in Cusco
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arqueologo is situated just a five-minute walk from Cusco's Main Square "Plaza de Armas", in the traditional San Cristobal neighborhood, with its narrow streets and Inca walls, colonial-era balconies and baroque churches. During the Inca period, our street was one of the main avenues of the imperial capital, connecting the center of the city with the great fortress of Saqsaywaman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arqueologo Exclusive Selection Cusco
Arqueologo Exclusive Selection Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing