We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Los Marqueses
Ranked #50 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Ennis , Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Pros

Friendly Staff
wi-fi in courtyard only
Storage while treking
Nice breakfast
Tea available all day
Comfortable beds
Good Location

Cons

Soundproofing very poor , travelled as part of a trek group sharing rooms with people I did not know very well, ensuite had no soundproofing, en-suites seem to have been an afterthough ; poorly constructed at a later stage ?

There was also no sound proofing between floors


Overall though would recommend is you are not to sensitive to the lack of soundproofing !!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEAWAVES1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    126
    36
    12
    10
See reviews for
79
137
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is charming and centrally located in Cusco. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is bag storage if you are headed off on a trek. Hot breakfast every morning with eggs cooked to order is always a plus with us when we travel. The room is nice, but nothing super special. The pillows left a little to be desired, and a blackout curtain would have been nice for our room. Also, the bathroom had nowhere to place anything. An etagere or shelf would have been nice to have. Great hot shower as well as a hair dryer. Also reasonably priced..

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Krissie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed in both the better area and the regular area over our vacation. The staff is excellent! Breakfast was great! You can't beat the location! My only negative comment (and this appears to be a Peruvian thang), the indoor plumbing appears to be an aftermarket add on in all the Peruvian hotels. It's like they build a little room inside your hotel to house the facilities. But they don't put a roof on it... if you let a foo foo the whole room smells it (not that I do LOL). Like others have said, the better rooms (these are the older section) do have creaky floors. Get over it and enjoy the ambiance!

Room Tip: They are all good, but I don't know if it's worth the extra cost for the "Up Front"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCaptSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed in Marqueses before and after a inkatrail to Machu Picchu with SAS Travel (which is a completely different story – never use them!). When we came to Cusco there was noone at the trainstation to pick us up so we had a discussion at the front desk about who should pay the taxi – that shouldn't be necessary. They had even written down that we should pay $ 90 per night, although it said in my contract $ 80. It was a discussion about this and if it included transfer in and out because of the lowered fee, although that also were in the contract and the front desk guy were pretty hopeless.

The first night we stayed there we got a room on the second floor with i window in the roof which ruined half of the night sleep. The rooms are big but not cozy, and it seems impossible to get a double bed (just two singles beds).There is wifi only in the front desk area and just okay breakfast. The staff is not very helpful and recommended Emperor as a place to eat – NEVER go there, they serve cardboard pizzas, the worst I've ever tasted.

The second night we got the same room with the same annoying window in the ceiling. Fortunately we were getting up with the sun and weren't too bothered with it. Marqueses looks like an old imperial building with huge furniture and big rooms, but you feel like you're in a hostel. The only good thing about our stay is that the meeting point before the inkatrail was at the hotel. But we wont use either SAS or Marqueses next time we're in Cusco, that's for sure!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sverreflem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed here while in Cusco. Very nice place with beautiful courtyard. Breakfast is excellent and really loved their order on the fly omelet. However the biggest complaint is the literally paper thin walls plus the squeaky bamboo (?) floor. We got our decent share of neighbor's amorous loving making moaning and subsequent trips to the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gl0baltr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here in Aug and it is a little gem hotel. Very characteristic with lovely inner court to relax. Rooms were comfortable and staff very friendly and helpful. All in all a great place to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelforfun67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A beautiful place to stay....clean, charming, located near everything.

We especially appreciated the professionalism and friendliness of the staff. I hurt my knee hiking to Machu Pichu, and the hotel staff found a crutch for me to use as my husband and I toured around Cusco our last day.

Every member of the staff was kind and polite. If we are ever lucky enough to come back to Cusco, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tampkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#63 of 162 in Cusco
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
0.1 mi away
Royal Inka I
Royal Inka I
#46 of 162 in Cusco
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
1.2 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
1,435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#17 of 162 in Cusco
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Marqueses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Marqueses

Property: Hotel Los Marqueses
Address: Av Garcilaso 256, Cusco 084, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Marqueses 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Los Marqueses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Marqueses Hotel
Los Marqueses Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing