We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best value, othewise OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MARQUESES Boutique Hotel
Ranked #53 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2010

You should try to bargain if you come to this place independently. Prices don´t seem to be fixed. The hotel is charming, located in an old colonial house. Some rooms don´t have windows, only rooflights. Lobby and breakfast room are very nice but cold (Cusco is a cold place).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
There are newer reviews for MARQUESES Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2010

To give this hotel some credit, I will share some positive things, but please read on, especially if you have mold allergies! My husband and I were excited to return from our 5 day Salkantay Trek and get a good night's rest at Hotel Marqueses. Our hike was put on by SAS Travel, which is connected to/owned by the Hotel Marqueses folks. We had been in the hotel lobby area on a few occasions while we checked in to SAS Travel next door so we caught a glimpse of this old hotel. The courtyard was quaint with a waterfall, cobblestones, surrounding big wooden doors and overlooking balconies. It was right downtown too so the location was within walking distance to the plaza and lots of restaurants. Right before we left for the hike, we put a reservation in so we'd have the room reserved when we got back. Upon arrival at about 8pm, we were exhausted and all we wanted to do was pack up and get some rest before our 7am flight back to Lima. After a somewhat bad experience in Aquas Calientes with the lodging at Hostel Viejaros, which had lots of black mold all over the ceilings in the bathroom, my husband who is VERY sensitive and HIGHLY allergic to mold due to his asthma knew as soon as he walked into the Hotel Marqueses bedroom that it too was filled with mold. We went down to the front desk to let them know and they gave use keys to a different room. Again, upon entering the second room, there was mold throughout again. There was no way he could do another night sleep in a mold infested room as he was already just days away from getting pneumonia from the first night sleeping with the mold. We packed our bags up and went to the front lobby to inform them that we could not stay there. However, this is where the struggle began. They told us that we would still have to pay because we reserved the room. The attendant called the owner to discuss after we demanded and the owner refused to drop the charges. Exhausted, we continued to fight it, he called again and finally after about 15 minutes and explaining how we just spent over $1,000 with SAS Travel, they agreed not to charge us. It was quite an awful and disappointing ordeal to go through with little to no flexibility on account of THEIR maintenance of their building. We ultimately got a taxi and returned to Hotel Sonesta, where we started our trip in Cusco, as we knew this place was clean, free of mold and recently renovated. Highly dissappointed. Wish it worked out better.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laureloo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I stayed at Hotel Marqueses in September and was so impressed with the value and service provided by this hotel. I travel a lot for business and have become accustomed to 5 star accomodations, so was a little leary when I saw how cheap this place was. I was delighted with the location, cleanliness, service and an amazing breakfast - various types of fruit, breads, teas, coffee, made-to-order eggs... all included in the price of the room! The structure is classic with 2 pretty courtyards.
The rooms are average - some in the interior are very dark - and bathrooms are clean but not luxurious. The rooms do come with a heater (which is key when traveling in Peru where there usually is no central heat and nights can get very cold), extra pillows and a fridge where you can keep water and snacks. The beds are not great but comfortable enough for a good night's sleep. The hotel was also quiet, mainly consisting of mature travelers (i.e. not a lot of young, partying backpackers).
Also note that, if you're traveling with SAS, the hotel is right next door and makes it very easy to work with the travel agency. The hotel will store your luggage for several days as you travel to MP and return to Cusco.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJDNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We've stayed at this hotel twice--once in June 2010 with a group of 7 people and again in August 2010 with our son and his girlfriend. The first time we stayed in the Deluxe rooms which were very spacious. The second time we stayed in the Standard rooms which were smaller and darker but still adequate rooms. The hotel is in an excellent location with easy access to the Plaza de Armas, restaurants, shops but without the noise of a location right on the Plaza or Avenida del Sol. The staff was very accommodating and helpful, especially the front desk people who arranged for a car and driver for us to visit Moray and the waiter in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyndija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We traveled with SAS travel fro our hike through the inca trail. I cannot say enough good things. Our guides were attentive, very informative, and most of all safe and fun!! I strongly recommend this company and the hotel prior to starting the hike. The hotel is right next to the SAS travel company.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Marqueses while visiting Cusco and Machu Picchu. I was so pleased with this hotel. Transportation from the airport was complementary. They were there to meet us and took us straight to the hotel. We were greeting right away upon our arrival and served coca tea in the courtyard to help with the altitude adjustment. Then we were taken right to our rooms, and the very friendly porter, Victor, carried all our bags and was a great help. We had just come from a week in the Amazon rainforest, so we needed to do laundry. No problem...we took our laundry down to the front desk at about 4:00 p.m. and it was back by 9:00 p.m. that night. We only spent about 4 soles on this which we considered an absolute steal. There are two computers with high speed Internet that guests can use at no extra charge. Breakfast was included with our stay. There were many cold choices, as well as eggs and toast. If the weather permits, there is a dining area in the courtyard, but we ate in the indoor dining area because it was cold in the mornings. There is bottled water in the courtyard, and if you have a water bottle, you can fill it up for free. We had a deluxe room, and it was roomy enough for the two of us. There was a heater provided, which was great because it got cold at night. The bathroom had a shower and a tub, and plenty of space to move around in. The water was always hot. On our first night the tub wasn't draining well. We informed the front desk staff, and it was fixed right away. The front desk staff was very helpful at all times. They even helped us check in for our departing flight, and they printed our boarding passes the night before we left. Transportation back to the airport was also provided by the hotel. I only had a couple of complaints. One was that the lock on the door for our room wasn't a secure lock. Anyone could have easily broken in. The second was that our room didn't have a window, per se, but it did have skylights. It was just different, I guess. Also, we could hear some noise down in the courtyard through our door, but it wasn't as such that it was highly disruptive. Otherwise, this hotel was a great place to stay, and at our rate of $110 a night, I felt like we definitely got what we paid for and more. I would stay here again, for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cool_teacher590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Hotel Marqueses is a splurge in Cusco but it is worth it. The level of service is incredible and the hotel is gorgeous (in an old casona).

We chose to spend a little extra on this hotel because going from sea level to 11,000 feet is a PITA. People complain about altitude in Denver and that is half the elevation. This city is 2 miles high. Be prepared to rest the first day. Avoid the coca tea (it is a low level of cocaine regardless of what people tell you) because it will mask your symptoms. Instead, get Diamox from your doctor. And for God's sake, don't give your kid Coca leaf tea.

The hotel is in a perfect location and the rooms are clean and comfortable. They also allow you to store your bags when you take a daypack to Machu Picchu (don't bring your luggage if you are staying one night).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Island1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
0.4 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#64 of 170 in Cusco
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cusco
Hilton Garden Inn Cusco
#24 of 170 in Cusco
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 170 in Cusco
1,490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Inka I
Royal Inka I
#36 of 170 in Cusco
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MARQUESES Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MARQUESES Boutique Hotel

Address: Garcilaso Street 256 -Centre | (Near Saint Francis Plaza), Cusco 08000, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £64 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MARQUESES Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your MARQUESES Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Marqueses Hotel
Los Marqueses Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing