We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely great Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #18 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely great Hotel!”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The conscientious traveller will find a great home at Rumi Punku.

We were jet lagged coming into Cuzco and were met at the airport by one of the hotel staff, friendly, kind, and English speaking. At the hotel we were given a cup of coco tea and an explanation of how to combat altitude sickness- rest & coco tea eat lightly - for at least 48 hours. The hotel is just like the picures on the internet, a Spanish and Inca blend, very beautiful and picturesque. Alternate routes to our room gives glimpses into a number of intimate courtyards. Our superior room is spacious, very clean and the down duvet keeps you toasty at night. There are signs asking guest to be quiet between 9 at night and 7 in the morning and such this is one of the quietest hotels at night that I have ever stayed in. Very close to the action of the city but our own little oasis.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiskedaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    388
    69
    22
    4
See reviews for
248
610
102
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
272 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed here during Christmas week and highly recommend the location--it's very close to the main square. Check the pictures of the grounds and you'll see that the facilities are beautiful and very clean--the only drawback can be during very cold weather since the room heaters are set on a timer and can take a while to warm up the room.

The courtesy buffet breakfast is more than adequate and good quality. Breads, cereals, yogurt, sausage/bacon are regularly served, and you can order eggs cooked whatever style you like. Refills on coffee and tea start the day off right.

The hotel also has free Internet access. It's not as efficient as some of the faster connections in town but adequate for basic purposes.

Had a great time in Cuzco, and this efficient budget hotel contributed greatly.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moviegeekjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
260 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I normally find Trip Advisor a very reliable source. I have written over 100 good and bad reviews which were all published without any reservations so I know that Trip Advisor is an unbiased source of information when it comes to hotel reviews. That is why I was baffled by the reviews published. For this is a very substandard property on every count.

I booked their 'superior' room. My comments are as follows:

1. The room was incredible tiny. You couldn't even swing a kitten, let alone a cat. There is not even enough room in the 'room' for a stand for a small piece of luggage.

2. The toilette is slighter larger than a small cubicle.

3. Our room was located on a 3rd floor. There was no lift. This is bad enough but when you are at 3,300 metres above sea level (some 13,000 ft) going up and down is a health hazard.

4. The 'safe deposit' box in the room was so tiny that it would not fit an IPAD, let alone a laptop. It is basically useless other than for passport and cash.

5. The property is an old house converted into a hotel but they wanted to cram too many rooms in that space to maximise revenue. As a result the quality of the rooms is very basic, more in line with a small motel for travelling salesmen on a highway than a tourist hotel. It is a two star property at best. There is no room service at all by the way. Although you should use bottled water to brush your teeth in Peru, this hotel would not provide you with any other than for a fee...

6. The price for the 'superior' room was excessive at $130.00 per night. To add insult to injury, if you want to pay by credit card as most people would, the final bill would be higher than that as they would use an exchange rate well above the actual market rate when they convert the price from USD to Soles on your credit card bill. If you still want to stay at this hotel after reading this (and you shouldn't) be smart enough to bring USD in cash to settle the bill.

7. Breakfast is served in a smallish lounge. It is a modest breakfast by Peruvian standards.

8. The location of the hotel is not bad but it is hardly unbeatable. There are many many hotels closer to Plaza de Armas.

Overall, a very disappointing experience. I am baffled by the reviews posted by others which I found misleading at worst or at best written by travellers which are less discerning than most.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My partner and I stayed here in May 2010 before and after our trip to Machu Picchu. Everything about the Rumi Punku was outstanding.
We were picked up from the airport and, on arrival, all the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The hotel itself was a beautiful oasis in Cusco. The two courtyard areas were lovely and there was a very peaceful roof terrace with lovely views across the hills. The room on the second floor was very comfortable and clean.
The hotel was happy to look after our things whilst we were on our overnight trip to MP and, on our return, upgraded us to a lovely large room on the ground floor by the back courtyard – fantastic shower!
The breakfasts were in a lovely dining room and were great with a large variety of options.
The hotel was perfectly situated only a few minutes walk from the Plaza de Armas and the bars, restaurants and sights. We were fortunate to be there during the Inti Raymi festival so there were constant parades and celebrations going on in and around the square.
It is probably fortunate that the Rumi Punku had no bar as we may never have seen anything else of Cusco!
A couple we met whilst in the Galapagos earlier on our trip were staying at one of the 5 star hotels in Cusco and they were extremely jealous when they met us at the Rumi Punku one night. We have also recommended the hotel to one of our friends who stayed there earlier this year and extolled its virtues.
A huge thank you to Jesus, the manager, and all his staff who couldn’t have been more helpful and friendly (and apologies for taking so long to putting up a review!).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cossack-Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
189 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Situated on Choque chaca, a few blocks from plaza de armas, taxis from the far away terrestre bus terminal costs less than 10 Sol. We book through their friendly website and have no surprise during our 3 night stay.

We like :
1 – Recently built, well maintained and well run by polite and efficient staff. Deserve a 4 star rating. Front desk helpful and takes time to.
2 – Wonderful bedding, soft linen and plenty of different pillows to test.
3 – Pretty quiet on the second patio away from the front door and the reception, controllable heating and 24 hour hot water.
4 – Hectic Wifi and ok breakfast buffet from 5 to 10 AM.
5 – Correctly priced at 130 USD, all inclusive, that’s a steal for euro carriers like us.

We did not like :
1 – Darkness in the room once the day is gone and curtains are closed for a bit privacy. There are only 3 lamps in the room and all of them covered by shades.
2 – No kettle but a permanent hot water point in the foyer, where you can help yourself for tea or mate all day long. And safe a bit small.

This happened to us:
1 – Although we stayed 3 nights, shampoos were never refurbished.

Tips :
It costs roughly between 100 and 150 Sol a day to rent a private transportation to tour around, as far as Pisac with some interesting other stops en route. The front desk can arrange this or you can flag down one in the street.
PeruRail and fellow IncaRail have their offices on plaza de armas, and even on high high july season, we experienced no trouble buying our train tickets to Machu Picchu. Just line, choose and pay.

Room Tip: As always, in a patio, ask for highest rooms, or better, ask for as far as possible patio if there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEEPfromPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
210 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We looked at tons of reviews for Cusco and were so glad we choose to stay at the Rumi Punku. The courtyards inside the hotel are full of beautiful gardens. The rooms (we had the chance to stay in three over our stay in Peru) were clean and comfortable. Jesus helped us with so much. When my husband got sick, the hospital he recommended was very helpful. He routinely gave us directions and recommendations that were excellent. The hotel is quiet but close to the plaza. Carina helped us with a Sacred Valley Tour and changing our Machu Picchu arrangements. All the staff was very kind and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I read about Rumi Punku in the Lonely Planet guide and contacted them via email.
Diana was extremely kind and professional in her response without my having committed to a reservation...she also referred me to their tour operator Karina who responded quickly and efficiently. Effortless and extremely pleasant - I decided to stay at the hotel and work with their tour operator.
Once I arrived in Cusco I was greeted at the airport and driven to the hotel.
Karina took her time in explaining excursions and visits in great detail. She was available for any questions; everyone made the experience that more personable.
The staff at the hotel is very efficient and their approach to hospitality is impeccable.
The rooms are clean and spacious.
I would advise anyone to stay at Rumi Punku and work with their travel experts.
Seems to me we have a lot to learn from such a wonderful, cultivated people who make the Peruvian experience a truly memorable one!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shishosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 164 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Property: Hotel Rumi Punku
Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing