We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“This property fit the bill in every way.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Pecatonica, Illinois
Level Contributor
357 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“This property fit the bill in every way.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We got to Rumi Punku late at night and were greeted efficiently and given our room. We liked the little touches like bottles of water and a chocolate on our night table. We also liked the business center very much. There were four computers there and it was great to use them to catch up on communication. This hotel is full of contrasts. They have Inca stone doors, yet your room has flat screen TV. The business center is very modern, yet the courtyard reflects the history of Cuzco. Interesting contrasts.

The next morning, when we went to breakfast, we noticed how attractive the breakfast room is. It is a beautiful old room with antiques and gorgeous windows and ceiling. Breakfast was excellent and the eggs were wonderfully prepared. San Blas neighborhood is just a couple blocks (and many stairs) away. We went to San Blas in the morning, then came back and had juice and tea and relaxed in the courtyard.

They very efficiently stored our bags for us after we checked out of our room and before we needed to go to the airport. Electricity was off from 6 AM to noon one day (NOT due to Rumi Punku). They gave us written notice and a phone call to make sure that we knew what was happening. It was much appreciated. This really is a very nice hotel/hostel for the price and has a great location in Cuzco. The office is very responsive, tea is always available, and people can really "settle in" and feel at home. Another big plus is that there is a heater in the room to take off the evening chill. We also liked the stocked drinks in our frig (at a very low price). If I were going to stay again in Cuzco, I would stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, but there are second (and maybe even third) floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    376
    69
    22
    3
See reviews for
239
595
99
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

What we loved about our stay at Hotel Rumi Punku:
Hotel courtyards and rooftops are beautiful and a lovely place to hang out with (several) cups of coca tea.
Great breakfast in a gorgeous room with hot beverages available 24 hours.
Good location and security guard always at the door so felt very safe.
Rooms are small but the very clean with comfortable beds and very nice bathrooms. We always had HOT water for showers.
Karina Zuniga and the rest of the staff were wonderful. Karina quickly responded to all my emails and arranged two tours for us as well as a driver to pick us up at the train station in Poroy. Karina actually came with the driver even thought it was late at night. She is AMAZING!

Only negative: We were under the impression that rides to and from the airport were free but taxi driver made us pay 15 soles for short trip to airport. We should have negotiated price with driver before we left hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at this great little hotel for 3 nights before our Inca Trail trek, and again once we returned to Cusco afterwards. The room was very comfortable, good shower, breakfast was fine, friendly and helpful staff, and it was close to the cathedral, great restaurants and shopping areas. And there is a quaint little courtyard for enjoying a bit of afternoon sun.
The hotel had a locked storage facility (no charge) for the bags we left behind while on the trek (very useful). Another handy little item - a baggage scale to ensure your treking duffel bag is not overweight!
Overall - great hotel, great location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Riley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We had a group of nine people staying at Hotel Rumi Punku before and after our Inca Trail trek. Everyone in our group really enjoyed the hotel. The hotel is beautiful, very charming, full of character, and very well situated - 5 to 10 minute walk to the Plaza de Armas. The shower water was always hot.

The hotel staff is very, very friendly and helpful with dinner recommendations, arranging day trips to the Sacred Valley, and arranging transportation to and from the airport.

The free breakfast is high quality.

We had researched Cusco hotels in-depth and our choice of Hotel Rumi Punku was perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms before and after the trek and both rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is a lovely spot to reside in for a vacation. The location couldn't be better, it is situated close to every major attraction, while seperate from the hustle and bustle of the city center. The staff is extremely helpful. I contracted salmonella while in Cusco (source unknown) and the staff at the hotel jumped to help, even calling a doctor who arrived within the half hour. The only negativity of this place would be the odd noises that occur at every hour of the day and night.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sooner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk - Suffolk
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed for two nights with our girls aged 8 and 10.
The had a large room with three beds. It was all very comfortable.

The hotel is beautiful and in a central location. The staff were very helpful and arranged a days guide for us.

The buffet breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JemimaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Property: Hotel Rumi Punku
Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing