We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven after the inca trail”
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #18 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights after completing the inca trail having ditched our tour op's shoddy choice for us. It was beautiful, charming and peaceful and the staff were lovely - they picked our bags up from the shoddy hotel while we were trekking and they were waiting in our room for us. Rooms are spacious with a beautiful bathroom and fluffy towels and dressing gowns. The court yards are full of flowers and we spent a morning enjoying the spa bath and sauna which are in a sun room on the top floor which you book for private use so you can lock the door and enjoy. It is 15 $ but worth it. Breakfast is a delicious choice of cooked, cereals and fresh fruit and coffee with a real fire burning. If you are doing the trek I would really recommend this as a luxury treat.

Stayed: August 2012
Thank hazel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

This hotel is very nicely located, about a 10 minute walk to the square. The rooms are clean, and relatively spacious. Breakfast was included and was adequate. Eggs made to order, some meats, breads, fruit, etc.
The only complaint that I have is that our rooms overlooked the main courtyard of the hotel, which was quite noisy when people were leaving or coming back to the hotel. I think that if you got a room on one of the side courtyards it would be better.

Room Tip: pick a room off the main courtyard so as to reduce the noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TammyWendell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Very nice hotel in Cusco and only a short walk away from the touristic center "Plaza de Armas".

We were there for one night and the staff informed us about useful things to plan before going to Machu Picchu as soon as we arrived at the hotel. Very well trained staff and a quick solution to every problem. The hotel offered luggage store free of charge.

We had a nice room in the fourth level with an unforgettable view on the city.

Definitely worth a recommendation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citTravel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My family recently visited Cuzco. We didnt want to stay in a fancy international hotel, but wanted a comfortable clean hotel nearby to downtown. Hotel Rumi Punku was just perfect! The hotel rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfast was very tasty, and the lobby and courtyard were beautiful. The location was very convenient to downtown. Perhaps best of all, the hotel has an arrangement with a travel agent who was able to arrange tours for us to the sacred valley and buy entrance tickets (in advance) for Machu Picchu. She was very professional, helpful and nice. I would recommend Rumi Punku to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights and was very pleased. I was given room 302 which had a very large front balcony and then room 402 which is right above 302 and has an even larger courtyard by the room after my trip to Machu Picchu. The service was wonderful and the breakfast really good. The inner courtyard is very peaceful and pretty. The prices are reasonable and the rooms are very clean with hardwood floors and comfortable beds and pillows. This was my second time in Cusco. This hotel is is in a safe area and a very short walk to the main plaza.

Room Tip: Room 302 & 402 are towards the back and very quiet with a front courtyard and nice view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Clean place with very reasonable rates. Bathroom was somewhat dated but there was always hot water with good water pressure (except in the middle of the night when apparently the water gets shut off which the hotel said was due to a drought in the area though friends staying at a hotel around the corner did not experience the same thing). Windows looked out into the (outdoor) hallways so anyone walking by could look into your room unless shades were drawn. Wifi was so so as was the heat though there were plenty of blankets. Appx 5-10 minute walk to Plaza de Armas. I would stay here again though given what appears to be many similarly/reasonably-priced hotel options in Cusco I would also investigate other options before I decided.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpierce64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed in 3 different hotels in Cusco and this was by far the nicest. A great place to relax after the Inca Trail. Great friendly multi lingual staff. Spacious clean rooms with great linen,big beds, many channels on tv, safe and opening onto courtyard. Very safe feel,even at night as doorman at door and you buzz in at night. Great location too,short walk to Plaza de Armas & great little cafe called Jack's Cafe at end of street. We both had a massage,both were devine.Sauna & jacuzzi facilities great too. Safe in room,also good hairdryer. Mini bar also. Free wifi which worked v well and fast in our room,a novelty! Free book exchange though no English books there. Also free use of four speedy computers in their business centre - computers even had headphones for Skype. Everything we wanted, we were delighted with the comfort and relaxation we got here. Would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mccarthy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.0 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,472 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 171 in Cusco
1,499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £65 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing