We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Great Place!”
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #18 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Such a Great Place!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights before going to Machu Picchu. The rooms were great, the terraces and courtyards were lovely, and the breakfast was wonderful. The location is perfect. We felt very safe walking to the plaza.

There was always hot water, and the heat -which was a little radiator- worked just fine. We were always comfortable.

The staff was amazing. They connected us with a young woman - Karina Zuñiga, who took care of some private service tours for us. One of them was on the way to the train, and when she saw our bag, she told us it was too big and they wouldn't let us on.

Rumi Punku gave us a duffel to use, even though we had officially checked out and were not staying there again. They stored our giant bag securely and when we returned, they retrieved it quickly. I don't know what would have happened if they had not done that for us!

We ended up staying our last night in another hotel which was not half as comfortable. If I had to do it again, we would have stayed with Rumi instead!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKuhlmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    388
    69
    22
    4
See reviews for
248
610
102
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our Inca trail tour operator booked our stay at the Rumi Punku, and when we arrived we were happily surprised with how nice a place it is. All the hallways and courtyards are beautiful and fun to wander around in. The rooms themselves were clean and nicely decorated. While we did the Inca trail the hotel stored our suitcases for us, which we were a little nervous of at first, but they kept them safe and had them ready for us once we checked back in after the trail. Breakfast was good, nothing outstanding but probably the best included breakfast we had of any of the other hotels in Peru.

Over all a lovely experience! Best part was the small courtyards and wandering around.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon and had a very nice stay. We got in late off the train from Machu Picchu but they checked us in quickly and got us a nice room off the back of the hotel. The hotel courtyard is beautiful. I wish we had more time here. We stopped at a small pizza place down the street just because we were exhausted from 2 weeks of traveling. They were closing but were nice enough to make us a pizza real quick so that we could take it back to our room. I wish I remembered the name of their place to review that as well.

Thank you for the nice stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My friend and I arrived in Cuzco in preparation for a 4 day hike to machu picchu. Upon arrival we were given coca leaf tea in order to cope with the higher altitudes while we waited for our room. The room itself was ample size and comfortable. We stayed for 2 nights and left for Machu Picchu early in the morning. I alerted the clerk we were coming back after the hike and we left our luggage at the hotel. After our hike, it was an easy re-checkin and our luggage was already in our hotel room. Overall the service was excellent and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking about hiking Machu PIccchu. Great value for the money.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RRChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at this little hotel near downtown Cusco and were very pleased with the ambiance and the condition of the hotel. Our room was a little small, but comfortable. It is well placed within easy walking distance of all of the tourist attractions including the downtown square and museums, and a lot of good restaurants. Our room had a flat screen TV and a small safe, a nice-sized private bath and a comfortable bed. There was some street noise (as expected in Cusco) but the hotel staff placed earplugs at our bedside that easily resolved that issue. Breakfast was included and was very good. The staff was very pleasant, fluent in english, and helpful. Overall, the best features of this hotel were the low price, the location, and the ambiance. It is a beautiful little historic hotel with open gardens with fountains, open stairways, etc. We would stay there again!

Room Tip: choose a room as far away from the street as possible, and away from the main entrance courtyard/gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkFrederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in September, 3 before Machu Picchu and 1 after. The hotel has a very good location, just a block or two from the San Blas district and the main square (Plaza des Armas). We stayed a double room on the third floor with a private bath. The room was spacious, had a TV, safe, comfortable bed and good views. The room did get a little cold at night. The bath room was also nice and spacious, although it only had a shower (this was disclosed on the website). The hotel put out a very good breakfast every morning. It consisted of breads and rolls, fresh fruit, juices, meat, cheeses and some more. Plus, you could ask the hotel to cook you hot eggs. The breakfast is a highlight and included in the cost. Hotel pickup is also included in the price. We used the hotel pickup and it was very easy. In sum, a very nice hotel and i would stay here again. The negative is that we asked the hotel to make a couple local calls for us and they seemed somewhat annoyed to step in and help.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
758 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We were looked after by Jesus!!
Great hotel, good location, fantastic breakfast, friendly staff, especially Jesus the Manager.
A little mean with the bottled water but generous with the hot drinks.
Free Internet room

Room Tip: Room at the Top; excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 164 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Property: Hotel Rumi Punku
Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing