We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in Cusco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great hotel in Cusco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

I would recommend Rumi Punku as a great place to stay in Cusco. It has a good location, just a few minutes walk from the plaza de Armas and close to many shops, restaurants, etc.
The rooms were warm and comfortable, spotlessly clean with hot showers.
Free internet access and tea all day in the dinning/sitting area. As well as free breakfact with eggs made to order each morning.
The staff were extremely friendly.
Our only problem was we had to move after three days to another hotel which our inca tour operator had booked for us - this was not good!!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mcross82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    928
    378
    69
    22
    3
See reviews for
242
598
100
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milpitas, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

We spent 3 nights before our hike and another 2 nights the following week. Coming back to it was like coming back home!
We (10 of us) truly enjoyed our stay at this wonderful hotel. It was quite a beautiful place to stay. A lovely courtyard in the middle. Big dining room for the wonderful breakfast. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It was a close walk to the Plaza de Armas. I would most definitely recommend the Rumi Punku.

  • Liked — The beauty of this hotel.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank runner1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2008

We stayed at Rumi Punku for a total of 6 nights, the 1st week of June 08 (checking out for our Machu Picchu travel and back in afterwards).
The office staff was always helpful and friendly (especially quiet spoken Jorge). The breakfast was very satisfying and the ladies working the kitchen were very pleasant and always greeted us warmly in the early morning hours, fixing our eggs to order.
Our beds were comfortable, showers with hot water were good, rooms were sufficient with portable electric heaters and with cable TV. There are 2 computers for free internet access in the sitting room just off the breakfast room.
The open air, plant filled atrium and the small upstairs terrace was a nice oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the busy city of Cusco.
It is a 5 min. easy walk to the Plaza de Armas from the Hostel. There are good restaurants along the same street as the Hostel (about a block away), as well as mini markets, pharmacies and drop off laundries. We used the laundry next door a couple of times and they brought our clean clothes back to the Hostel.
The San Blas district is a short walking distance from the Hostel. We enjoyed visiting the many artisans shops and restaurants.

I would definitely recommend Rumi Punku to anyone. (They are expanding to the building next door and adding more rooms. They were completely booked while we were there.)

  • Liked — rooms were great and staff were helpful
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCall, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

My daughter and I used this lovely hotel as our "home base" as we traveled around Peru.
The kind and helpful staff stored our luggage and secured our valuables every time we left for 3-5 days.
When we came back to Cusco we were greeted, here, as friends.
We highly recommend this comfortable and well-positioned hotel to anyone traveling to this part of Peru. It was hard to say "good-bye".

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank teacher-traveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wassenaar, Holland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2008

This is the place to stay while in Cusco!
Very close to the city center. Everything within easy walking distance.

The hotel is really nice. Clean rooms with good facilities and good, clean bathrooms.
The staff is very friendly and helpfull. I was even allowed to use everything in the kitchen to prepare something for my wife (who can avoid stomage problems in Peru??)

Breakfast in a nice room with log-fire (it's cold in the morming).
Sitting area with a few sofa's, free internet and free tea.

On the roof a small, but sunny terrace.

You really miss something nice if you stay somewhere else.
Really recommend it!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank NLHenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2008

Rumi Punku was an outstanding place to stay in Cusco. The cost was reasonable and centrally located. The attendents at the hotel were professional, good spirited and helpful. Rooms are clean and nice. You should enjoy your stay here. .....and the breakfasts were the best of almost all the hostals and hotels we stayed at (probably because the attendents at breakfast were so helpful and wanted you to enjoy.

The only "con" was the internet setup which kept going down and the folks that stayed on them for long time periods. Come on,,,,,,please share :-)

  • Liked — overall good experience
  • Disliked — internet accomodations
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank uppityMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2008

We stayed there at this hostal for 3 nights. My mother, my friend and I we really spent a nice time there. The place was a colonial-like house with an original Cuzco arch as main entrance. Beautiful. People who worked there was always friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable, spacious, and clean. The good thing was that 24 hours a day it was available at the dining room a jar with hot water and we could drink coca tea to avoid the puna effect. This was excellent idea. I highly recommend this hostal.

  • Liked — cleanliness, comfortable room, quiet place, close to main square, friendly staff.
  • Disliked — bad internet connection
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank veropsyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Property: Hotel Rumi Punku
Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing