We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ambience and service”
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #18 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent ambience and service”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My wife and I stayed there both before Machu Picchu and afterward.
Staff friendly and quick to help. Much needed laundry service was done promptly despite short notice and strange times. The atmosphere is fun and relaxing.
Stored luggage and had it in room upon our return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygranddaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    388
    69
    22
    4
See reviews for
248
609
101
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

How lucky were we that they put us in the room looking over both courtyards! Beautiful hotel, wonderful breakfast, comfortable beds. Close to the main square and all the ruins we wanted to go see. Three of us in the room, three beds - still tons of space, felt like we were in a suite and it was just one room. The courtyards are beautiful and there is even a 3rd level balcony to sit out and enjoy the view.

Room Tip: The window in our room were almost floor to ceiling - it was the center of the courtyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarktwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I liked the style of the hotel, room, location, breakfast. It's a very beautiful hotel very close to the main plaza. Staff was helpful, decor of the hotel beautiful and unique, kinda rustic. Really enjoyed the stay and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalija_Ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Once through the Inca doorway, you enter the pretty courtyard. A lovely introduction to a lovely hotel. It's in a street about 5-10 stroll to the Plaza de Armas, and there several good local restaurant in the same street, as well as the well-known Jack's cafe.

The San Blas district is just up a fight of steps or a steep street! The rooms are not huge, but they have everything you need. Ours was on the 2nd (top) floor, and had views across the terracotta rooftops. There's rooftop patios where you can relax, or watch the moon come up. Sacsahuaman was about a kilometre away, but all uphill!

Breakfast is in a colonial-style room with antique artefacts. Very light and clean.

We enjoyed our 4 days here, but a couple of things they could improve - when checking out, some things (eg stamps) could only be paid for in soles, and we wanted to use dollars. It took about 15 minutes to change some dollars at reception, just to hand back the soles to pay a small bill.

But, overall, a great location and a very good little hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were hit really badly by altitude sickness, so didn't see much beyond the hotel for the first 3 days -- not a bad view at all (beautifully decorated with traditional Inca touches). Luckily the hotel has oxygen (free) to hand and lots of coco leaf tea! Don't let that put you off though, Cusco is beautiful and once we'd got over that, we enjoyed our stay, which was in two parts -- before and after a trip to MP. The hotel picked us up from the airport (included in the rate) and waited for 5 hours even though we couldn't contact them while our plane from Lima circled over the airport, couldn't land, went back to Lima, refuelled and then came back again (TACA is really disappointing as they didn't tell us in English what was going on -- I had to figure it out from the 'poquito' amount of Spanish I know, and they didn't provide us with any drinks or food while this was all happening). Rumi Punku upgraded our room on our return from MP, and Karina, their travel agent organised our trip to MP fantastically. The main square is a few minutes walk away and breakfast is included. Lots of laundrettes with service washes on the doorstep and the chemist with altitude sickness pills a two minute walk away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is a nice hotel, close to the main square. Rooms are pleasant and clean. Bathroom is perfect, except that the lights are a bit dull. As in many hotels, it would be good to place some hooks to allow hanging bags, jackets, towes,.. Staff at front desk are helpful, but a smile would be nice... Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We originally booked a room in this hotel for 2 nights. But on our flight from Lima to Cusco, our flight got routed back to Lima due to airport issues in Cusco. Needless to say, we came back and started shuffling our travel plans. I called the Rumi Punku hotel and told them our situation. They were nice enough to cancel our first night reservation and not charge us anything. They were very accommodating and saved us money.

The hotel itself is great and looks very cute. The staff was friendly. The location is great as it is a few blocks away from the main plaza and there's a lot of good restaurants in the area. The breakfast that they server is just okay. The wifi was available throughout the hotel.

Overall a great hotel and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 164 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Property: Hotel Rumi Punku
Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing