We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Elegant"”
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #18 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Sechelt, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"Elegant"”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was a beautiful hotel situated more or less in the center of Cusco. A real easy walk from the main square. As we found throughout Peru, the beauty always seems to be within, as in the inner courtyard. This hotel had very friendly helpful service with a comfortable atmosphere. The rooms were large and spacious and very clean. The king size bed was wonderful! We really appreciated the good WiFi, this was a problem in some of the places we traveled to. They were very helpful to my wife with Cocoa tea. We did not eat at the restaurant being that we were on tour all day. We would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    400
    73
    22
    4
See reviews for
256
630
103
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Rumi was a great place to stay. A bit of luxury between the 4 day hike up machu. Staff were great and upgraded us for free. Rooms very clean with good views over the city. I would recommend hiring a taxi off the street and arranging to go round all the local ruins in the sacred valley. We hired a taxi for the full day and it was 150soles. Good value and cheaper than tang arranged trips.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank craigtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We were picked up at the train station after our 10 hrs journey from Puno and taken by taxi to the hotel. The staff were helpful and courteous. Despite our late evening arrival, they were excellent in arranging a taxi to pick us up early the next day to do a tour of the sacred valley. The rooms here are spacious and very comfortable with nice bathrooms and adequate toiletries. We stayed for 2 nights before leaving for Macchu Piccu and we were able to leave our luggage with them whist we were away. We had booked to go back there for a further night after Macchu Piccu, however even if we weren't staying again, they would still have held the luggage for no charge. The breakfasts start nice and early...4am! Great for those early starts. The breakfast selection was very good and very fresh. The hotel is in the centre and restaurants and shops are all nearby. This is a well run hotel with great accommodation and in an excellent location. Fully recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Ditto to all the exemplary things other reviewers have given Rumi Punku: charm, beauty, location (don't let exterior fool you - history and beauty are within), spacious and bright rooms, wonderful lounge and breakfast room. I want to focus on the service - from picking us up at the airport, to chocolates on our pillows, I've rarely felt so well taken care of and looked after by any establishment. We were there to hike the Inca Trail - for the 3 days we acclimated at Rumi Punku, they gave us invaluable information, kept hot cups of coca tea in our hands, answered every question with excellent information, when we dropped laundry off across the street, they had it brought to our rooms, all with care and smiles. When we left for the trail, they secured our bags, put our electronics in their safe lock-box, and when we returned absolutely shattered at midnight 4 days later, they were brilliant - they had us in the same room, and had already put our left bags on our beds so we wouldn't have to wait to collect them. Oh yes, and amazing hot showers and more chocolates on the pillow.
I must add that we've stayed in places that turned up their noses at hikers - assumptions that hikers are poor tippers (quite the opposite) or just that we look like hell after a day(s) of hiking - has garnered poor treatment from other establishemtns. Not the Rumi Punku staff. We were covered with 4 days of mud, grit, you name it - and we were welcomed and treated like 5 star guests. I give the hotel my highest recommendation. p.s. we were two mature women traveling sans male companions - and we were treated with utmost respect and care.

Room Tip: Second floor has lovely views of gardens below, and removed from any noise of guests that might be e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dinor27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I recently went on a 10 day trip with my wife and mom, the first trip the three of us have taken together. I have been to 73 countries and counting and have experienced the best and the worst when it comes to accomodations. Rumi Punku is right there with the best.

First of all, they were there to pick us up at the airport right on time and dropped us off at the front door about 20 minutes later. The hotel itself is right down the street from Plaza de Armas and the interior is both spotless and stylish. Breakfast was filling and the re was plenty of coca tea 24 hours a day. Rooms were clean and spacious, and the king-sized bed should have come with its own passport.

We stayed there for 2 days and then were off to Machu Picchu, before coming back to the hotel for two more days. Instead of taking our payment when we left, they said we could just take care of it all when we returned. Then, upon return, they gave us two rooms for the price of one, so my wife and I could have some privacy.

Are you getting it by now? This hotel is awesome. Amazing. The staff never failed to be coutreous and informative, and it was as good of a home base as anyone could ask for.

If you are planning to stay in Cuzco this week, month or year, this is the place to stay. Thanks so much for making our trip even better because of the way you do business.

Thanks,
The Ambrosino Family

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

A charming sleeper of a great hotel in cusco. It starts when they pick you up at the airport with a friendly smile. We felt immediately comfortable in this dynamic frontier town. The rooms are clean and all that you need. You enter through an inca door into a cool series of courtyards which are fun to wander in. The common room is much brighter than it looks on their website. The breakfast was terrific. The location is perfect; between the central square and the charming san blas area. It's a short walk to town. Our trekking company picked us up at the hotel and dropped us off there. Like many of the hotels in cusco, they stored our luggage during our trek and had them set up in our new rooms when we returned. Really, I can't imagine a better place to stay in cusco.

Room Tip: The central courtyard can be loud; there are a few rooms there to avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vjplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I am an avid traveler & choose quality over quantity... You would never know from the outside but this hotel is quite a gem! When you walk in you are greeted by a beautiful mini garden, stone pathway, & wooden carved balconies- very much the traditional Peruvian architecture & vibe. This a smaller boutique hotel but non the less is a comfortable, exquisite, & charming establishment. The rooms are small but include all that is needed. They have a mini fridge, complimentary water bottles, wall heaters, clean wooden floors, clean & modern bathrooms with glass shower doors, and beautiful wood accents throughout. Downstairs in the main lodge are there is 24/7 access to a sitting area with a fireplace & hot water station with tea of all kinds and fresh coca (needed for the altitude adjustment and trust me it help tremendously!) in a very rustic feeling room- this area too is quite beautiful and although I prefer modern, this was very cozy & because the grounds are kept so clean and pristine, it was an extremely positive experience.

The staff is helpful in directing/guiding you to where you need to be, calling taxi services, & helping with luggage. They even stored our luggage as we stayed only the first night then left for the Inca Trail hike to Machu Picchu (with the best tour company around, Alpaca Expeditions) returning 4 days later and staying there again. The location is perfect as you are only a block away from the main shopping/city area so you not have the loud nighttime noise but you do have the option to walk anywhere you want to go. One of our favorite restaurants was a few blocks away called, Incanto! Absolutely delicious!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MissD819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 169 in Cusco
1,482 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 169 in Cusco
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#14 of 169 in Cusco
2,998 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.0 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Property: Hotel Rumi Punku
Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing