We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #18 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was the best value hotel that we stayed in during our trip. The room we hazard was clean on the third floor. Carrying your luggage up is a bit of a challenge in this altitude but you will be rewarded with a nice view over the courtyard and the city beyond. Breakfast was standard but good.

The best was the sitting area which had an open fireplace, comfortable lounges and good light for reading. We also stayed at the Casa san Blas not far away but this hotel was cheaper and more atmospheric.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter2817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    393
    71
    22
    4
See reviews for
250
616
102
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and a friend recently stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. It was a very charming Peruvian hotel with several courtyards, fountains and climbing flowers and pots of flowers every where. I reserved this hotel as it was close to the main square, many restaurants and shopping. The service at the hotel was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the employee who helped with luggage, getting taxis and other duties. The breakfast was very nice and included, several different kinds of fruit, juices, breads, cheeses and other cold cuts. There was also bacon and you could order any kind of eggs you wanted. The coffee was strong and good. I had worked with a travel agent (the hotel had suggested) to secure train tickets to Macho Piccho, guides, car services and tickets to Macho Piccho. She was wonderful to work with and did an amazing job. She picked us up at the airport and we met with her at the hotel where she gave us all the tickets and information that we needed for our stay. Karina definitely made our trip a lot easier. If you decide to book this hotel and need help with anything, ask for her.
The weather was for the most sunny during the day, but the late afternoons could get a little chilly and when we got back to the hotel in the late afternoons, our rooms were a bit cold. Unfortunately the hotel did not turn on the heat until about 5pm in the afternoon and it would take about an hour to start heating up. That was really the only minus about the hotel. They also have a business room with 6 computers where you can go and check your email and print out boarding passes.
We really enjoyed our stay here and I highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Our rooms faced out to the main courtyard and I never felt that it was noisy and it had a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danishpanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloverdale, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay here, staff were very friendly and all advice for restaurants, attractions etc. were spot on.
When we arrived they had a cup of coco tea waiting for us which was very nice . We stayed with them before and after our Inca trail hike and they stored our luggage safely till we returned. They even had a scale available for us to weigh our bags for our hike.
Good wifi in all rooms, nice center courtyard, and great breakfast every morning.
Very central to all good things in Cusco
I would recommend this hotel without a problem

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Cloverdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here one night as we travelled back to Lima after our tour on the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu. The hotel is centrally located, a short walk from the beautiful main square in Cusco, a very charming city. The rooms are comfortable but basic. The breakfast is adequate and served in a room heated by wood stoves so there's an air of being outdoors or camping, not a bad thing. The hotel is recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveJ187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
605 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Rumi Punku. It's a nice hotel with a pretty courtyard. The view from the 4th floor terrace was lovely. We were picked up from the airport and offered Coca tea on arrival. The room was fine, the only thing was that it could get a little noisy with people going up and down the walkways at night but earplugs are provided.

The hotel kept our suitcases for us while we were hiking and this was appreciated.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the ground floor as this will be very noisy. 3rd floor was good.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at Rumi Punku for four nights prior to our Inca Trail trek and two nights afterwards. What a treat! It's central location made it so easy to walk everywhere: San Blas, Plaza de Armas, shops, restaurants, museums, churches, and Inca ruins. Multiple courtyards on several levels offer excellent places to enjoy the sun and views. On a less-busy street, the hotel offered a quiet oasis to recover from each day's adventure. On the night that music played nearby, the housekeeping staff left earplugs for us, so we still got a good night's sleep. We had two different twin bed rooms, both small, but adequate. Loved the firm bed and heavy comforters, and we always had plenty of hot water for showering. Breakfast each day started with lots of fresh fruit, fresh-squeezed juices, yogurt, cereals, fresh-baked mini croissants, and hot goodies, including a frequent spinach roll. The hotel staff went out of their way to be helpful with arranging for taxis, picking us up at the airport, organizing a Sacred Valley tour, and answering our many questions.

Room Tip: Two rooms on the top floor have panoramic views of Cusco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJL1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfork, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights total and couldn't have been more pleased. We arrived in Cusco and were picked up smilingly at the airport by some of the hotel staff. We spent 4 days acclimatizing to the altitude until we hit the Inca Trail for our 4-day trek to MP. The hotel is very unique and has really beautiful courtyards and terraces (a couple of them have a nice view of downtown Cusco). The location of the hotel was perfect. It was within walking distance of the Playa de Armada (a 5 minute walk). It was pretty quiet considering how close we were to the bustling markets. The breakfast was fabulous - lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, quinoa, breads and cheeses, and eggs (on request). We left our bags at the hotel while we were on our trek and had a room ready for us when we returned. The staff was very nice and friendly. We had our laundry done the day we returned from our trek.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontanaAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 165 in Cusco
1,462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Property: Hotel Rumi Punku
Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing