We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel in great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with fantastic courtyards, patios and flowering plants. The rooms are very nice and the breakfast area and food were great. To top this off, the location is perfect. Only a few blocks off of the town square so easy walking distance to and from it. A great value, and I highly recommend if you visit the wonderful town of Cusco you stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leroy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    376
    69
    22
    3
See reviews for
240
597
100
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed a total of 3 nights here during our recent trip to Peru. The hotel is very charming and located only a few blocks away from the main square. There are plenty of shops and restaurants within a 5 minute walk. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. Noise was a major issue the first two nights as I had a room located in the front by the reception area. Although ear plugs were provided with the room, they did little to stifle all the noise. If possible ask for a room that is further away from the main entrance, check-in counter, and breakfast area. My only complaint comes from the day that we left. The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle to/from the airport which I confirmed with the staff a few weeks prior to our trip. When we arrived in Cusco we were promptly met at the airport and taken to the hotel free of charge. The day prior to our departure I asked the front desk to arrange the shuttle to take us back to the airport. They ordered a taxi instead, which we didn't realize that we had to pay for until we got dropped off at the airport. I don't understand why a hotel would do that to their guests, and it really dampened the otherwise good stay that we had at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah10005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our company took a trip to Cusco at the end of May. Most of us stayed in the superior double room, which was reasonably priced and very comfortable. The only complaint we have is that the hot water ran out very fast and the WiFi was slower than we anticipated. Checking in was easy and the staff were helpful throughout our stay.
This hotel is in a great location, it’s within walking distance of some attractions. We were able to walk almost everywhere. In order to see the ruins that surround Cusco, we hired a tour guide, which included transportation. If you do not want to hire a tour guide, you can get a taxi for the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank infotechsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

"Rumi Punku" means Stone Door in Quechua. Once you walk through the stone door, you'll find a beautiful courtyard surrounded by multiple levels of terraces covered in ivy and other lively plants. The historical decor, natural light, and stone walls give Rumi Punku the tranquil atmosphere you want after stepping off the bustling streets of Cusco.

The staff was also exceptionally friendly. Naya and Michelle at the front desk took great care of us, and always greeted us with a friendly smile and laughter. They had great restaurant recommendations and offered helpful advice on how to maximize our days and nights in the ancient capital. When we got back late from the bars and clubs, Guido was always there on the night shift to welcome us in.

Rumi Punku is conveniently located a short walk from Plaza Aramas, and up the street from many restaurants and bars that you'll actually want to eat at. Breakfast is also included with your room (the quiche was delicious). Add to all this the great prices for rooms, and it's a no-brainer.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Saanich, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
378 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel on and off for about two weeks. We used it as a base from which to explore the Sacred Valley and hike the Inca Trail.

The hotel is ideally situated within walking distance to the main square (10 minutes) and also to San Blas (5 minutes). There are many restaurants in the area and also several laundries where you can leave your clothes to be washed and folded for pickup later in the day (This is a real plus if you have just returned from hiking the Inca Trail.).

The layout of the hotel is a bit confusing as it is made up from a combination of colonial buildings but there are numerous gardens and small seating areas situated throughout the complex making it an ideal place to relax. Rooms, located over four floors, are comfortable and include fridges and ensuite bathrooms with sink, toilet and shower. Hot water with good pressure is available all day. Beds are very comfortable. Soap, towels and shampoo are supplied daily and the cleaning staff do a very thorough job. Each room also has a TV and a small safe. Wifi is free, fast and available in all rooms.

Buffet breakfast (included) - eggs, bacon, bread, jam, cold meat, cheese, juice, coffee, tea, yoghourt, cereal, is served in a dining area from 5-10am. Tea is available all day.

Staff are very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. Luggage can be left at the hotel for several days at no charge if you are going to make excursions to other towns or hike the Inca Trail. This is a great hotel - well maintained, good location and nice amenities.

Room Tip: We stayed in four different rooms (coming and going over about one month). Each room provided all w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Like most people, Cusco is the acclimatizing place for treks...as it was for our family of 6. We stayed 3 nights, left for 3 (they stored our luggage no charge) and returned back to our original rooms with both clean laundry and luggage waiting for us. It was perfectly located-near great restaurants and ruins Sacsayhuamán. Hotel rooms were very spacious and clean. Breakfast was plentiful and started at 5am for trekkers who are departing. My only comment to visitors is that if you are looking for a quiet locations, this may not be the best choice because of the beautiful open courtyards in the center which the rooms face out to. Very friendly, nice staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for four nights and liked it very much. The breakfast buffet was ample and tasty and the free wireless internet worked well. It's less than a ten-minute walk to the Plaza de Armas. Best of all, the staff work hard to keep everybody happy. The on-site tour company run by Karina is spectacular, offering a wide variety of tours at reasonable prices.

One piece of advice, though: the rooms have windows opening onto courtyards, and the drapes don't always stay closed. For maximum privacy take some binder clips to hold the curtains closed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main courtyard if you're looking for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caesarmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Property: Hotel Rumi Punku
Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing