We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, gorgeous rooms, great location - loved this hotel”
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #18 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a total of 5 nights either side of a trip to Machu Picchu. The staff were always friendly and happy to help. We had a room on the 3rd floor and 2nd floor during out respective stays. The hotel setting is beautiful with Inca stone work and flowers. There is a lovely sofa area with free tea (including coca tea - useful at this altitude)! Our room was gorgeous - clean and very cosy, great character and lovely artwork on the walls. I would definitely stay again if I returned to Cusco. Breakfast was included, was basic but similar experiences in other parts of Peru, you could request eggs though!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lozz103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here for four days and had an excellent experience. The staff were very helpful and accommodating, and the rooms were comfortable and had heat and hot water. The place was clean and very conveniently located, near many great restaurants and the Plaza des Armas. Breakfast is included and has a lot of options for the price. Overall, this is a great value.

Room Tip: One recommendation is to stay in the back courtyard rather than the front one, which can be a bit no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank genie625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed there for two nights before going trekking and MP.

First of all, the hotel is a 5-10 min walk from Plaza De Armas. So you are able to walk to every part of central Cusco.

We had a nice double room, which was large, good bed, a nice bathroom, basecly the things you need from a hotelroom. But the rooms are not very good insulated, so some noice there are. But on the other hand, it is a very quiet hotel, so did not give us any problems.

The breaksfast in the morning was good, but not the fastest service considering having enough food on the buffet at all times.

Just a reminder, you may pay in Soles or dollar. Their exchange rate for Soles is not good, so pay in Dollars:-)

Considering the price of hotel, it is very good and safe!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Norway-lier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had a mixed trip- business and pleasure. After staying at a $275/night hotel for three nights, we needed to move to a more reasonable place. I figured everything would be a step or three down. However this hotel was Wonderful- so clean, unique, in a great location and friendly.
They stored our bags, got us a cab, had a great take out menu from the place across the street.
It was quiet and peaceful- but close enough to the main plaza. Breakfast in the hotel was very good and the Wifi was fast!
I would go back and recommend this hotel strongly!!

Room Tip: All the rooms were unique and on different levels with private baths- lots of stairs for the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Koko1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Loved this place. We stayed here based on tripadvisor reviews and it did not disappoint. Great location, very close to Plaza des Armas. The rooms are nice and the hotel has a really great courtyard. Staff is super friendly and accommodating. Hot water and heat available make for a comfortable stay during cold nights in Cusco. It is also close to many good restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKurji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel was part of a package that the tour company had arranged. Rooms are very nice and comfortable, spacious, it had complimentary water bottle the first day, it was winter time and the presence of a heater was a plus. Fridge was stocked but I never used it. Breakfast was lovely, fruits, breads, cheese, eggs, coffee, tea and three types of fresh juices. The hotel has nicely decorated, cute and cozy my only complaint was noise, yes the hotel kindly had ear plugs by the bedside but I still could not sleep from the noise by the staff in the reception and the customers banging doors talking loudly. I asked to change my room and they did change it to 104 but to my dismay I could not sleep well either due to the noise coming from customers, people singing loudly in the bathrooms, and management dud nothing about it.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 109 which is closest to entrance and reception....there will be no sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curly003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It may be a little off the beaten path, but we had a great stay here. Everyone was very helpful and friendly (as would be expected at a hotel) and the property was very picturesque. It has a fun feel to it with multiple levels and almost a maze to find some rooms, but they are will signed and it's not that big so you can't get lost.

The rooms can be a little noisy, but they do provide ear plugs (already in the room for you so no need to request). If you are going for the king bed ask for room 402 - it has effectively a private balcony looking out over Cusco and is much larger than the matrimony or double rooms (at least room 210).

There is a money changer just down the street that had good rates when we were there, and there are a couple of small shops nearby to buy large bottles of water for the same price as the small ones in your room. The hotel is not far from Plaza De Armas, the 12 sided stone, and is a great starting place to walk to some of the sites just above Cusco.

And like nearly all hotels in the area, they will hold extra bags for you while you are off trekking or exploring other parts of the country.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 171 in Cusco
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#10 of 171 in Cusco
939 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £61 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing