We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite disappointed after reading all the good reviews”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
new york, ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quite disappointed after reading all the good reviews”
Reviewed 6 June 2010

I was quite disappointed with my stay at Rumi Punku after reading all the good reviews on this forum. First of all, I requested a quiet room months ahead, however, when we arrived we were given the room closest to the lobby. As all the rooms are facing the street and there's almost no noise isolation in the windows, it is quite impossible to get a good night sleep. You can hear people passing by and talking outside. Secondly, there was no hot water, you had to leave it on for 10 minutes, and even then it was slightly warm. It was quite freezing at night as well. Finally, the last night when we had already checked out before leaving early next morning, somebody knocked on our door (after 10pm) when we were already asleep. They requested we pay them 3 soles (!) for a bottle of water that we used (as they couldn't wait till next morning). There were also minor issues with poor toilet flushing, light bulb powered off etc. All in all, I wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olik204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    937
    385
    69
    22
    4
See reviews for
247
606
101
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Only downside is wifi is shocking. Very unreliable- but there is a complementary computer room with 4 pcs.

Good clean option for a stay. Have secure lockup for a few days off to machu so you don't have to take all your travel bags.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

I was very impressed by Rumi Punku. All the staff members were exceptionally helpful, and fluent in English. The breakfast buffet was light but tasty and had good variety. The rooms were very clean and in good condition. The free internet and pick up/drop off from the airport were great bonuses. The staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs both before and after we hiked the Inca Trail - and little touches like restaurant recommendations, storing our luggage for free while we hiked, and carrying our luggage from our room for us when we left early in the morning made a big difference. Rumi Punku gets travelers! The area of town in which the hotel is located is pretty quiet. Before we left for our Inca Trail hike, we stayed on the 3rd floor, and we barely heard other guests. But when we returned after the hike, we were on the 1st floor, which was quite noisy. If you stay at Rumi Punku, asked to be located on one of the upper floors.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessicablue84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Just spent 2 days before and 1 day after trekking. The hotel is in a perfect location - close to everything but super quiet at night. Super clean rooms, incredibly friendly and helpful staff, nice breakfast. We stayed here after spending one night at the sanctuary hotel at machu picchu, and this place was just as nice and clean....for 1/12 of the price!

Can't beat it, really.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candaflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

This charming hotel is quite close to the main attractions. You can see that owner took care to maintain the facilities - hotel room as well as the public areas are nicely decorated. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They also provide hot water and tea and coca leaves all the time so you have access to them to help you with any altitude problem. They provide a nice breakfast with eggs cooked to order.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emydaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Reasonable choice for Cusco. Value is o.k. at about $90 USD, but maybe a little on the high side for Cusco. Some rooms bigger than others. Nice courtyard, very good breakfast, 5 out of 5 for their great service and clean. Doorway does not look that special despite the insistence in advertising that it is a main attraction. Wireless in the room never worked. They do have a business center with internet service but apparently you are supposed to get the wireless in your room. Not me. I'd stay there for quaint courtyards, clean rooms, good service and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegasus_Curler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

This place is a gem. The desk staff was courteous and helpful, the location is superb, and the room comfortable.....shower in our room was to die for! Room had a great little minibar and safe as well as cable TV.

The breakfast was very great with an assortment of fresh fruits, fresh juices, breads, rolls, cheeses and bacon. They will cook up some eggs for you on request.

We stayed for two days on our way to MP and then returned for one evening. They held our bags and would not let us pay the bill until we returned. Trusting!

Don't pass this place up if you are headed to Cucso.

Our only complaint is that early in the morning, unconsiderate customers scream in the courtyard on their way to MP or the airport. I guess they figure they are the only one staying at the hotel?

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoneTropo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
1,435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Property: Hotel Rumi Punku
Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing