We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic history combined with modern comforts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic history combined with modern comforts.”
Reviewed 16 July 2010

From the first approach up a narrow, cobblestone lane (not far from the busy main Plaza) you realize that you are surrounded by the history of Cusco and the Inkas. Hotel Rumi Punku provdes a serene blend of warm Peruvian hospitality, Spanish courtyards and flowers, Inkan history and modern comfort. We made the hotel our base as we traveled to other parts of Peru, coming back for 3 visits. The hotel staff is extremely helpful whether the request is for restaurant recommendations, tourist information, calling a taxi to the airport, or getting laundry done. If you want a hotel that provides a delightful setting, personal attention (even in the efficient e-mail communications prior to your arrival), free internet, a breakfast to look forward to and knows you by name (just to name of few of their qualities) look no further than Rumi Punku for your Cusco stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricDurland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    937
    385
    69
    22
    4
See reviews for
247
606
101
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

I really loved the location. Just 5 minutes from the Plaza, down some old incan alley ways. The rooms were on the smallish side. Extremely clean room and bathroom. The breakfast consisted of eggs, breads, juices, bacon and fruits. No complaint here. Everyone was very polite and helpful. BUT it seems that u are able to hear everything that happens in the hotel and the surrounding area. People closing doors at all hours, dogs barking in the neighborhood and yes even roosters crowing at 5 a.m. Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Check with the front desk if you are taking a cab somewhere they will tell you how much you should pay. Then tell the cabby what you are going to pay to get to the particular place. 3-5 soles to most places around the Plaza and 8 soles to Sacsaywaman.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSouliere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

The hotel exceeded my expectations. Location, value, comfort all in one spot.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
folsom, ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Great staff that helped us with our travel plans around the city transportation strike. They held our big luggage for free when we went to Aguas Calientes overnight. The rooms were nice with hot showers but the common areas are the highlight. Great space to meet others, very pretty courtyard, free internet cafe and wireless, deliciosu breakfast. Also had free coca tea leaves that helped us in adjusting to the altitude. We all agreed we felt like we were coming home when we returned from MP. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iurenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I recently went to Cuzco Peru and stayed here. The staff was very friendly, the desk girls always pleasant. Jesus the manager helped us with hiring a driver to take us to see the country side, make reservations to have a peruvian dish of roasted guiney pig, to exchanging currency to transferring our luggage to our last accommodations and just a great guy. The owner to my embarrassment, which I don’t know how to pronounce his name, was very interested in our comfort while our stay and was very accomodating. They only served breakfast which I found this especially good as they are serving breakfast very early until 10:00 am and we would enjoy other restaurants for a true flavor of what Cuzco has to offer. The beds are very comfortable and the business center in the hotel offers 4 computers with internet.I wish I was back in Cuzco, what a beautiful city.


Rnin on mt
Regards,
Gilles

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
234 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We had great 3 night stay at Rumi Punku before and after Inca Trail. It is simply enjoyable nice hotel with excellent location and warm service from caring staff. There were two couples in our party, and all four agree: the best hotel during our Peru trip.
One quick idea: get a bottle of wine in the evening in hotel courtyard, very nice indeed!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We stayed 4 nights at the Rumi Punku hotel. The hotel was beautiful and located in a very nice, safe area. The staff was always helpful and spoke very good English. They have a buisness center for their guests that has 4 computers with Skype set up on all 4 computers. It was very chilly while we were in Cusco however the beds were extreamly comfortable and very warm. The heater also kept the room a little warmer. The hotel has quite a few small garden areas that quests can use to rest and socialize during their stay. Unlike some of the other reviews, we found the hotel VERY quite. Breakfast was amazing, they had eggs, bacon, breads, fruits and some grains and it was offered from 5-10am I believe. We thought that this hotel was an excellent value compared to what $90 usually gets in the US.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maziedaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
1,435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Property: Hotel Rumi Punku
Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing