We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel with extreemly helpfull staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Fantastic hotel with extreemly helpfull staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

We were picked up from the airport and taken to the hotel. Despite arriving prior to checkin time we were welcomed and given a hot cup of coco tea to help adjust to the altitude. Breakfast was excellent every morning. Happy to store our bags while we walked the Inca Trail for 4 days free of charge.
Lovely english speaking staff.
Very happy with the service and room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanaSNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    937
    385
    69
    22
    4
See reviews for
247
606
101
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

We stayed at Rumi Punku in Oct before we were headed to Machu Pichu. Beautiful hotel! Good size rooms. Comfy beads and very quite in the evenings. Breakfast was amazing with eggs, bacon or sausage, fruits, pastries and hot beverages! The Inka Cafe down the street had the most amazing food! Great Qinoa soup and chicaron (pork cutlet) sandwiches for an affordable price. Jacks was also good.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottekill, New York, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

Hotel Rumi Punku in Cusco, Peru looked decent on Trip Advisor, but honestly by the time I got around to booking a room there, I wasn't able to spend my usual amount of time comparing the hotel to others.
What a pleasure when we walked though the genuine, but nondescript Incan stone door frame and saw flowers and beauty everywhere! We were immediately handed cups of tea to help alleviate elevation sickness while being greeted by Jesus the manager. He sat us down in the sitting area while our bags were quietly removed to our intended room. He talked us though paperwork and any potential questions. Then he escorted us though hallways and open air areas filled with tropical plants, vased flowers and comfortable seating spaces. When we got to our room, it opened onto one of the fountained, roofless squares, filled with greenery. The room was lovely with comfortable bedding, a vase of flowers, furniture, flatscreen TV and modern bath. It was a good size for the two of us.
We spent 3 days and 4 nights at the Rumi Punku. It was quiet and serene 24/7. We enjoyed the included buffet breakfast with an assortment of fresh squeezed juices and cut up fruit, along with rolls, cheese, meats, cereals, and fresh eggs prepared to your liking. All the staff we met were courteous, helpful and very accommodating.
We would love to return to Cusco. If we do, we will definitely stay again with Jesus and his staff at the Rumi Punku! Thank you all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

The Rumi Punku, is set in a quiet area of Cusco but within easy reach of the main square, San Blas, shops, etc.

We had the opportunity to stay in three different rooms, due to us using it as a base in between trips. We found the rooms to be in good condition, clean and have comfortable beds.

Structurally the hotel is interesting with rooms located over three floors looking in on a series of courtyards and verandas, these are decorated with plans and ornaments with plenty of chairs and tables making this a relaxed and attractive environment .

The hotel also benefits from the addition of a separate internet room, with four computers.

A good quality buffet breakfast is served in an attractive dining area over a very flexible time period.

We found all staff very friendly, courteous and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

The service at our arrival was good, we were offered a coca tea as we filled out the registration forms in the lobby and received a map and directions to the Plaza de Armas.
The hotel grounds are really very nice, with fountains and great decoration.
The room was clean, but rather small; I was surprised by the single sized beds.

I didn't make a lot of research for hotels in Cusco.
After seeing the hotel in the fifth place here and reading some reviews I went for it.
So it was okay for the one night we stayed here, but for a longer stay I would reconsider.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajer0mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

We stayed at Rumi Punku for 3 nights both before and after our Inca Trail Hike. We found the hotel to be beautiful, the breakfast was excellent and the front desk staff was suburb. They have free internet and a beautiful courtyard. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were modern and showers had good pressure. We always wear earplugs when we travel, otherwise there were several dogs barking that you could hear from time to time at night. They also said they would pick us up at the airport and were not there, but came once we called them. However, we would highly recommend this hotel and stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cameronjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South America
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

It's hard to dislike Rumi Punku, or at least the communal areas. The flower-infested courtyards are a delight, as is the high-ceilinged dining room/lounge with its eccentric mix of the colonial, the indigenous and the modern (and a bizarre collection of antiques, ranging from old rifles to old-fashioned typewriters). Most of the staff are efficient, although we found the receptionists rather unfriendly.

So what's not to like? The main disappointment are the rooms, which are small and dark with only a small window overlooking the courtyards - if you want privacy, it's better to keep the curtain shut. And although the hotel is quiet, this is not because of good soundproofing. Rather, everywhere you go, there are harshly-worded signs telling guests to "be quiet". So when you do hear a noise, whether it's a dog barking in the distance, or another guest slamming their door, it feels like they're in the room with you. Irritatingly, the central heating wasn't on much, considering how cold it can get in Cusco. Initially, I objected to paying an extra charge of $20 for us to use the spa - on top of room rates of $90 or $120 - but at least we got it to ourselves.

On the whole, it's a nice hotel, if overpiced for Peru (I've had suites with ocean views and a jacuzzi in the room for less). And this is probably because the hotel managment have kept a decent level of service year after year, so that recommendations in guide books and websites have kept the guests flowing in. And when demand succeeds supply, increase the price. I'm sure there's somewhere just as nice for half the price in Cusco, I haven't seen it in any of the guidebooks.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dungenessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Property: Hotel Rumi Punku
Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing